News: Alexander Wetterhall wins the Ronde van Drenthe


Endura sponsored team rider Alexander Wetterhall secured the first win of the season for Team NetApp – Endura in the Dutch race Ronde van Drenthe.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The 26-year-old Swede broke away from a leading group more than 30 kilometers before the finish and rode solo to his victory as if it were a time trial. Team colleagues Markus Eichler and Andreas Schillinger filled the other two places on the podium for NetApp – Endura.

“That was probably the perfect race for us. It was awesome – I’ve rarely experienced anything like it. The whole team was extremely good. The boys were always out in front and they stamped their seal on the race. The solo ride from Alex in typical classic weather is of course fantastic. It doesn’t get any better,” said a delighted Jens Heppner, Sport Director of Team NetApp – Endura after the race.

2013 Alex Wetterhall Drenthe2

Team NetApp-Endura/Roth 

“I still haven’t realized that I won. I am so happy and of course I am pleased that we filled all spots on the podium as a Team”, says race winner Alexander Wetterhall.

In pouring rain and at temperatures around freezing, the 196-kilometer race was held in the Dutch region of Drenthe. More than 30 kilometers before the finish Wetterhall broke away from the 12-man leading group and extended his lead to up to 50 seconds.”

“Team colleague Eichler routinely countered the attacks of the pursuers in the chasing group. Schillinger, who had actually already fallen back, fought his way forward again and closed up on the chasers around Eichler just before the finish. Wetterhall held his lead of 46 seconds across the finish line and his team colleagues sprinted onto the podium.
1 WETTERHALL Alexander Team NetApp – Endura 4:56:47
2 EICHLER Markus Team NetApp – Endura 0:46
3 SCHILLINGER Andreas Team NetApp – Endura
4 KREDER Wesley Vacansoleil – DCM
5 VAN POPPEL Danny Vacansoleil – DCM 0:49
6 REINDERS Elmar Metec Continental Cyclingteam 1:03
7 COLBRELLI Sonny Bardiani Valvole – CSF Inox 1:21
8 SENTJENS Roy Cycling Team de Rijke-Shanks
9 LAMMERTINK Maurits Vacansoleil – DCM
10 AAEN JORGENSEN Jonas Team Saxo-Tinkoff 1:24

25 BRAMMEIER Matthew Champion System Pro Cycling Team


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,