Report/ Result: BBM Revolution CC Spring Road Race


Ashley Proctor wins the BBM Revolution CC Spring Road Race in East Yorkshire on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Julie Rodman for the following …

BBM revolution organised the first Yorkshire road race of the season on the Pollington course, a new course which on a very windy day like today saw the riders exposed to it with only sharp steep motorway bridges to break up the field.

Little did the organiser know that the weather would be so awful over the weekend and it was touch and go with 24 hours to go. The event started with a minus 4 degree windchill factor and more layers were being added by the riders.

A field of 49 starters took to the start line with all reserves getting a ride. There were a couple of digs off the front by riders on the first lap and this formed into a break of 7 riders which was soon fetched back by the second lap before another 7 were to make the decisive move.

They included Ashley Proctor, Connor Swift (Bix and Matthew Bulmer Dirtwheels in the move, along with his team mates Peter Barasevious & Simon Maudsley, Dominic Smith Retford CC, David Johnson ( and these seven worked well together to establish a lead of 1min 56 at one point.

2013_BBMRCC Spring Road Race

Photo: Craig Zadoroznyj – See a gallery of photos by clicking here

With 4 laps to go they lost Johnson and Maudsley with the driving force certainly coming from the Bike lads and Dirtwheels riders. This gap slowly came down to 1 minute 8 seconds with other teams on the last two laps picking up the pressure in the chase as they had missed the move.

Sensing the lead was dropping, the pace picked up and the group lost another rider with Dominic Smith followed a lap later by Peter Barasevious. Ashley Proctor went on to win the event with Team mate Connor Swift taking second and Matthew Bulmer a well deserved third, this was followed by the main chasing group of 16 riders with Julian Grommett in his new club colours of Squadra racing team winning the sprint finish for 4th position.

The top 14 riders were all 2nd cats with the first 3rd cat being 15th place Peter Fielding Smith, best 4th cat was Richard Douthwaite in 22nd position. We had 33 finishers.

It was an excellent event organised by a new organiser and his team of helpers did him proud. Villagers came out to cheer the riders on in arctic conditions. Sunshine next time please guys!

Full Result
1. Ashley Proctor Bike Box .com
2. Conor Swift Bike
3. Matthew Bulmer Dirtwheels RT
4. Julian Grommett Squadra RT
5. Danny Lowthorpe Langsett Cycles
6. Giles Pidock Chevin Cycles
7. Chris Daddy Squadra RT
8. Alex Orrell Turner VS Cycles
9. Simon Maudsley Dirtwheels RT
10 David Johnson
11. David Morris Harrogate Nova
12. Steve Thompson Clay Cross RT
13. Richard Moore Squadra RT
14. James Allen Langsett CC
15. Peter Fielding Smith Wilsons Wheels

16. Thomas Walsh Team Leagfrog
17. Jordan Hargreaves Team Hope Factory
18. Stuart Percival GB fire service
19. Peter Barusevicus Dirtwheels Cycles
20. Karl Downes Active/CPCycles RT
21. Stephen Coates We Love Mountains RT
22. Richard Douthwaite Clifton CC
23. Thomas Sutton We Love Mountains RT
24. Mike Salkeld Crosstrax
25. Daniel Shoreman Crosstrax
26. Simon Guller Chevin Cycles
27. Jacob Trotter Squadra RT
28. James Thompson Langsett Cycles RT
29. Mark Walker Hull Thursday RC
30. Ivan Boyes Team Cystic Fibrosis
31. Andrew Facheny City RC hull
32. Christopher Thompson VS Cycles
33. Cameron Brooks Clifton CC


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,