Report: Phil Corley Cycles Day at the Races


Ed Clemens (Spirit RT) won the feature race of the day at Milton Keynes National Bowl on a day that saw nearly 250 competitors

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Gordon Wiseman Report/Photos – Saturday 30 March


Ed Clemens (Spirit RT) topped the race dominating performance winning from a group of seven riders that included his Spirit RT team-mates Mark Baines and Chris Dredge on a day at the Milton Keynes National Bowl that saw nearly 250 competitors – and a group of equally hardy marshals and helpers – brave the bitterly cold conditions.

With the Elite riders refusing the organisers ‘kind’ offer the extend their race if they wanted to put in additional competitive miles, within the opening lap the winning move formed and immediately opened a gap of some 10 seconds that was never threatened.

With that septet quickly pulling nout of sight it wasn’t long before a chasing group of about half a dozen riders also broke free from the peloton that included Roy Chamberlain (Team Corley Cycles) who must have clocked up more miles around the MK Bowl than any other competitor racing on the day.


“We didn’t plan to break up the race so early” explained the 19 year old Clemens after the race, “but once we’d got the early lead we knew that Spirit had the responsibility to keep pushing the move forward.”

After about 45 minutes racing the leaders started to lap the field and Clemens took that chance to attack on his own. “Again, it wasn’t something I planned but as we turned right out of the back of the circuit behind the stage I looked over my shoulder and realised I’d opened a gap and from there I just pulled away”.

And that was the lead he then kept to the chequered flag. But after he’d crossed the finishing line another Team Corley rider, Jonny Shuster, made sure that it wasn’t a complete Spirit domination as he won the sprint for second place by the narrowest of margins over Mark Baines, Tim Allen (Clay Cross RT) and the quick finishing Jakes Hales (IG Sigma Sport).


Women – 25 miles
1. Clare Leaver (Zappi’s Ladies Team)
2. Anna Reid (Zappi’s Ladies Team)
3. Maxine Filby (
4. Grace Garner (RST-Trigon RT)
5. Sian Cahill (Zappi’s Ladies Team)

Elite/1st/2nd Cat – 30 miles
1. Ed Clemens (Spirit RT)
2. Jonny Shuster (Team Corley Cycles)
3. Mark Baines (Spirit RT)
4. Tim Allen (Clay Cross RT)
5. Jakes Hales (IG Sigma Sport)
6. William Goulbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing)
7. Chris Dredge (Spirit RT)
8. Roy Chamberlain (Team Corley Cycles)
9. Mike Wragg (Arbis Colbert Cycles)
10. Stephen Colbert (Arbis Colbert Cycles)

4th Cat. – 20 miles
1. Felix Loftus (Zappi’s)
2. Adrian Cox (Twenty3c)
3. Rob Jones (Club Corley Cycles)
4. Steve James (High Wycombe CC)
5. Chris Bates (Beeston CC)

3rd/4th Cat. – 25 miles
1. Luke Morgan (CC Luton)
2. Jeremy Honor (Twenty3c)
3. Paul Carr (Club Corley Cycles)
4. Mark Botteley (Bourne Wheelers)
5. Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell)

Under 8 – 3 miles
1. Ruben Snelson (Team MK)
2. Evie Fereday (Rugby Tri)
3. Eleanor Fereday (Rugby Tri)

Under 10 – 7 miles
1. Jude Chamberlain (Team MK)
2. Molli Keenor (Team MK)
3. Emily Moon (Team MK)

Under 12 -10 miles
1. Alexi Edwards (Welwyn Wheelers)
2. Jake Norton (Spalding CC)
3. Kieran Morris (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)

Under 14 – 12 miles
1. Rivon Round (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
2. Matt Ellis (Spalding CC)
3. Adam Bottley (Bourne Wheelers)
1st Girl
Madeleine Gammons (Bourne Wheelers)

Under 16 – 12 miles
1. Ollie Bates (Welwyn Wheelers)
2. Tom Yiangou (Neon Velo)
3. Zinzan Heap (Team MK)
1st Girl
Elizabeth Shirley (Team MK)




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,