Report & Photos: Peter Chisman Memorial Road Race


Peter Williams won the tough memorial to former Milk Race winner (1963) Peter Chisman in the North East in a 1-2 for IG Sigma Sport

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Williams and teammate Matt Cronshaw got themselves into a break driven along by the MG Maxifuel team including Magnus Backstedt and after reducing the numbers in the break whereby IG SigmaSport had two of the five, Williams countered an attack by his teammate Cronshaw to solo to the victory. Cronshaw was second making it two second places in two races on the weekend.


Solo win for Peter Williams in the Peter Chisman Memorial Road Race


First time through of the nine laps and James Moss (IG Sigma Sport) attacks into a corner.


Bad luck for Tom last with a puncture attended to by Andy Swain of the Metalek team. This is on the first lap.


Steve Lampier and Magnus Backstedt try and force a break to go clear the second time through


A break goes clear on lap three led by the riders from Metaltek and Madison Genesis


Another lap and THE break was clear with MG Maxifuel having the numbers if the move which meant the onus was on them to drive it and this they did, opening up a gap of four minutes.


Seasoned campaigner Alistair Kay chasing with another rider for a few laps before being caught by the peleton.


A lap later and Paris-Roubaix winner (ie, legend!) Magnus Backstedt gives the break the thumbs up


Having missed the move, Steve Lampier of Node4-Giordana put numbers on the front including Olympic Champion Steven Burke (second in line) who had won a time trial the day before.


Ominously  Matt Cronshaw and Peter Williams are having a chat at the back of the break whilst MG Maxifuel are driving it along at the front with four laps still to go.


A strong chase by Node 4 Giordana led here by Andy Magnier saw the gap come down to just over a minute at one stage.


Two laps to go and the leaders were down to five riders, L-R, David McGowan, Will Bjergfelt, Matt Cronshaw (leading) and Peter Williams.


Behind, with the gaps closing up, there were attacks aplenty in what was left of the break ….


… and the peloton.


No one could catch the leaders though and after Cronshaw had attacked and been closed down, Peter Williams countered and that was it, race over for the other teams.


Matt Cronshaw wins the sprint for second from Will Bjergfelt.


1. Peter Williams, IG Sigma Sport
2. Matt Cronshaw, IG Sigma Sport
3. Will Bjergfelt, MG Maxifuel
4. David McGowan, Metaltek-Knights of Old
5. Declan Byrne
6. Magnus Backstedt, MG Maxifuel
7. Tom Bustard, Herbalife
8. Jamie Caldwell MG Maxifuel
9. Peter Murdoch
10. Adam Martin
11. Alex Peters, Madison Genesis
12. Steven Burke, Node 4 Giordana
13. Alistair Kay, Herbalife
14. Dean Downing, Madison Gensis
15. Steven Lampier, Node 4 Giordana
16. Tom Stewart, Sportscover Bioracer
17. Will Haynes
18. Dave Shackleton
19. Davie Lines MG Maxifuel
20. T Timothy

LIVE PHOTOS (internet permitting)

LIVE TEXT UPDATES! * internet permitting in the area


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,