Report: Seacroft Wheelers Spring Road Race


Report from the Seacroft Wheelers Spring Road Race 2/3/4 Regional A road race won by Richard Moore

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

A field of 60 riders departed the Jubilee Hall in bright sunny, but cold conditions to tackle 11 laps of the Bishops Wood circuit totaling 59 miles. The race was active from the first lap but the deciding break came on just lap 2.

Ten riders broke clear of the bunch and soon forged a 40 second advantage. Sensing this was a winning move another 3 riders broke clear of the main peloton to give chase and were soon joined by another 3 riders making 6 riders in the chasing group.

However, these 6 riders were outnumbered by the 10 strong break and never made contact. The break was soon up to over 1 minute 40 seconds and the winner would come from these 10.

Richard Moore

In the closing laps the chasers were just 40 seconds behind but this surge came too late. Up front Richard Moore, Squadra RT broke clear with Dean Parkes, Clay Cross RT and Moore finished ahead of Parkes to win comfortably. Further back Dominic Smith, Retford & District Wheelers rounded off the podium places.

Ashley Brown, Team Sportscover broke clear of the chasers and claimed 10th place with Chris Daddy, Squadra RT and Joe Moses in 11th and 12th. Giles Pidcock, Chevin Trek outsprinted David Morris, Harrogate Nova CC for 13th.

Philip Howell, Peak RC, who was dropped from the original break claimed the final point finishing 15th. The defeated peloton finished nearly 4 minutes behind to complete a great afternoon of racing organised by Ian Hirst of Seacroft Wheelers.

1. Richard Moore Squadra RT 2nd, 59 miles in 2 hours 17 minutes, 38 secs
2. Dean Parkes Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
3. Dominic Smith Retford & District Wheelers 2nd
4. Peter Fielding-Smith Wilsons Wheels RT 3rd
5. Simon Maudsley Dirtwheels Cycles 2nd
6. Stephen Gibson Peak Road Club 3rd
7. Connor Swift Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo J2nd
8. James Allen Langsett Cycles 2nd
9. Tom van Rossum Rock Racing Team UK 3rd
10. Ashley Brown Team Sportscover 2nd @ 1.22
11. Christopher Daddy Squadra RT 2nd
12. Joseph Moses Team Sportscover 2nd
13. Giles Pidcock Chevin Trek 2nd @ 1.46
14. David Morris Harrogate Nova CC 2nd
15. Philip Holwell Peak Road Club 3rd @ 2.47


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,