Report: Ciclos Uno Spring Criteriums


Report and results from the first of the Ciclos Uno Spring Criteriums for veterans on Sunday 31st March at Redbridge Cycle Centre

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Fred Little, Organiser

The first event in the Ciclos Uno Spring Criterium Series of three events was held at the Redbridge Cycling Centre on Sunday 31 March and there were a total of sixty riders on the start line for the two age related races.

Forty four riders started the first race for Category ABC&D (40-59yrs) run over one hour plus five laps of the lower circuit. Mark Daly (Colourtec) took the first prime after twenty minutes and not long after regular Hog Hill and Dunton winner Antony Wallis now riding for Ciclos Uno took up where he left off last year and broke clear with Andrew Bates (Colourtec) and David Palmer (MG Maxifuel).

David Palmer dropped off after ten minutes and Wallis and Bates powered on each taking a prime in the process. Antony Wallis eventually dropped Andrew Bates and went on to lap most of the field and at the finish had gained a lead of thirty seconds over chasers Andrew Bates second place and David Palmer in third place.


Categories A/B/C/&/D Overall
1st Antony Wallis Ciclos Uno A
2nd Andrew Bates Colourtec R.T. B
3rd David Palmer M.G.Maxifuel A
4th David Farrow Eagle R.C. B
5th Rich Edwards C.C.Luton B
6th Lee Desborough St Ives C.C. A
7th Bob Downs Condor D
8th Mark Daly Colourtec R.T. A
9th Barry Neal Ciclos Uno B
10th Lee Rowe Finchley R.T. B
11th Jason Edwards G.B. Mstina A
12th Martin Meads Ciclos Uno B
13th Alan Galloway C.C.Luton B
14th Mick Bath A P I –Metro C
15th Trevor Whittock Lea Valley C.C. C
16th Julian Cunnington Rapha Condor C
17th Carlito Rendora Eagle R.C. C
18th Martyn Ryan Ford C.C. B
19th Patrick Schils VeloSchils/Interbike D
20th Andy Hill LVRC Private B
21st Andrew Macey Ashford Wheelers C
22nd Matt Gallagher Crest C.C. A
23rd Dougie Fox Crawley Wheelers D
24th Dave Crowe Colourtec R.T. C
25th Johnathan Donald Pearson C.C. B
26th Steve Maxted Verulam C.C. B
27th Des Gayler Kenton R.C. B
28th Steve Wharton Finchley R.T. C
29th Steve Murrell LVRC Private A
30th Russell Tribley Chelmer C.C. A

Category ‘A’ Category ‘B’
1st Antony Wallis 1st 28 Andrew Bates
2nd David Palmer 2nd 38 David Farrow
3rd Lee Desborough 3rd 24 Rich Edwards

Category ‘C’ Category ‘D’
1st Mick Bath 1st 3 Bob Downs
2nd Trevor Whittock 2nd 12 Patrick Schils
3rd Julian Cunnington 3rd 26 Dougie Fox

Primes: Mark Daly, Antony Wallis, Andrew Bates

Category E/F/G/H
In the Category EFG&H (60yrs plus) race there were sixteen starters. The race was run over one hour plus three laps of the lower circuit. Terry Devine nopw riding for Braintree Velo took the first prime after ten minutes.

After thirty minutes Ralph Keeler (Wheels in Wheels) easily took the second prime and then stayed clear of the bunch and then gradually increased his lead with no serious attempt by the bunch to chase him down. At the finish Ralph had a lead of forty seconds over the bunch with Terry Devine (Braintree) winning the bunch sprint for second place with Wayne Thomas (G.S.Henley) in third place.

Categories E/F/G Overall
1st Ralph Keeler Wheels in Wheels E
2nd Terry Devine Braintree Velo F
3rd Wayne Thomas G.S.Henley E
4th Phil Cooper LVRC Private E
5th Peter Jones Hillingdon C.C. F
6th Charlie Bruce Ciclos Uno E
7th Peter Constable Velo Schils/Interbike E
8th Ray Ricks Velo Schils/Interbike E
9th Steve May LVRC Private E
10th Chris Glitheroe North Road C.C. E
11th Dave Smith G.S.Avanti F
12th Dave Dickie Finchley R.T. E
13th Trevor Mills Ford C.C. F
14th John Leitch Redhill C.C. F
15th Dave Whybrow Southend Wheelers F
16th Roy Godbeer Southend Wheelers H

Category ‘E’ Category ‘F’
1st Ralph Keeler 1st 75 Terry Devine
2nd Wayne Thomas 2nd 64 Peter Jones
3rd Phil Cooper 3rd 69 Dave Smith

Category ‘H’
1st Roy Godbeer

Primes: Terry Devine, Ralph Keeler, Phil Cooper (Bunch)

The next events in the series will be held on Sundays 5 & 12 May starting at 10.00 a.m.



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK