Vuelta Ciclista Pais Vasco: Martin & Quintana Winners


Stage 6 time trial in Vuelta Ciclista Pais Vasco sees Tony Martin fastest while Nairo Quintana upset Sky’s ambitions by winning the overall

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

 Vuelta Ciclista Pais Vasco: Final stage won by Tony Martin while Movistar’s Nairo Quintana wins overall

Omega Pharma – Quick-Step’s Tony Martin, UCI World Time Trial Champion, won his third ITT of 2013 with victory at the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco Stage 6 time trial on Saturday. Martin won with a time of 35’05” on a 24km course that featured three long climbs and on another day featuring poor weather.

060413 Pais Vasco Stage 6 Tony Martin (c) TimDe Waele

Tony Martin: Photo: OPQS/Tim de Waele

Martin bested Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) by 17″, and Benat Intxausti (Movistar) by 32″. Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) however relegated Team Sky’s Richie Porte and Sergio Henao to the minor places in the GC classification.

Quickstep’s Martin crashed during the first stage but battled through to the final Time Trial for the chance of a victory whilst also working for his teammates during the mountain stages.

“I’m very very happy with this victory,” Tony Martin said. “I was here for the GC but I crashed on the first day and the GC dreams went away because of the pain I had with my wrist. I was really disappointed. I was here to make a good classification.”

“I don’t know If I could have made it until the finish, but the truth is that I was here for a top five. Together with the team, I maintained the focus for this TT. I was riding with pain the entire week but I kept going thinking about this TT. I knew it wasn’t an easy parcour for me with a lot of up and down stretches but I was really committed.”

“This morning it was also snowing and then we had the rain. But when I’m focused I can keep it out of my mind. This morning I went to see the parcour before by car then by bike. I really knew the parcour 100 percent and I have to thank Specialized for their tires. On the wet road they have an unbelievable grip and they really permit me to go full gas, even in the corners and downhill sections without fear.”

“Concerning my wrist, I think things are going better day by day. During next week I will pass other medical checks just to make another evaluation. I also want to wish the team good luck at Paris-Roubaix tomorrow.”

The next appointment for Tony Martin will be the Tour of Romandie.

2013 Pais Vasco Quintana

Movistar’s Nairo Quintana (above) said of his overall win “I’m super happy with the win and with this time trial. I came out much better than I expected. I have been fighting for a win like this since Paris-Nice. I’m feeling very good these days and again today I had such a good feeling that I could take advantage of that”.

“I’ve almost fell on one occasion but on the last downhill, I knew I had room to take it a little easier. It’s my first win in a big race, something wonderful and I am very pleased. I still do not know how far I can get. I’m relatively young and we have to see how everything progresses.”

“I appreciate and I dedicate this victory to my team, my teammates both as assistants, technicians and Eusebio Unzue, for caring, for taking forward in difficult times and always having the confidence in me.”

“This victory is for all of them and for the fans who support us in Colombia and around the world. Know that I and my compatriots are giving good image to the world we are proud.”

1 MARTIN Tony Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 35:05
2 QUINTANA ROJAS Nairo Alexander Movistar Team 0:17
3 INTXAUSTI Benat Movistar Team 0:32
4 PORTE Richie Sky Procycling 0:40
5 SPILAK Simon Katusha Team 0:48
6 PERAUD Jean-christophe AG2R La Mondiale 0:51
7 HENAO MONTOYA Sergio Luis Sky Procycling 0:57
8 BETANCUR GOMEZ Carlos Alberto AG2R La Mondiale 1:05
9 WEENING Pieter Orica GreenEDGE 1:06
10 CONTADOR VELASCO Alberto Team Saxo-Tinkoff 1:07

11 TALANSKY Andrew Garmin – Sharp 1:08

Final Overall
1. QUINTANA ROJAS Nairo Alexander Movistar Team 21:39:35
2. PORTE Richie Sky Procycling 00:23
3. HENAO MONTOYA Sergio Luis Sky Procycling 00:34
4. SPILAK Simon Katusha Team 00:35
5. CONTADOR VELASCO Alberto Team Saxo-Tinkoff 00:54
6. WEENING Pieter Orica GreenEDGE 01:18
7. BETANCUR GOMEZ Carlos Alberto AG2R La Mondiale 01:19
8. INTXAUSTI Benat Movistar Team 01:57
9. POELS Wout Vacansoleil – DCM 02:47
10. GADRET John AG2R La Mondiale 02:56


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK