Report: Reading Track League


Report and Results from Round 2 if the Reading Track League on 22 April at Palmer Park Stadium in Reading

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

by Gordon Sherratt | Photos Guy Swarbrick

Yet another grey evening – with a fairly strong wind for the riders to contend with – also the first outing of the year for the Derny pacers. It was Derny race night for the Senior A riders – as well as the Under 8, Under 10 and Under 12 youths.

Matt Lansley and Josh Mitchell battle it out in the Points Race

The first senior event was a 10 lap Hare and Hounds where the As caught the B riders with a few laps to go. The race ended in a sprint between the A riders with Stephen Bradbury of Cycling Team Tomacc edging out team mate Joe Crolla and Max Brown of Zappi’s.

After the A Derny heats it was the turn of the B riders for a 12 lap points race. Josh Mitchell of Bicester Millennium effectively wrapped it up with a solo break early on which left him on 14 points. Matthew Lansley of Palmer Park Velo fought back and took the final sprint, but finished second on 13 points with team mate Tom Sefton on 10 points.

All the Senior riders were up for the Unknown Distance and the bell went after 4 laps ending with another win for Bradbury from AW Cycles’ Jason Pitt and Oliver Hitchings of Peter Hansford Racing, who comes up from Winchester to ride. There was another win for Mitchell in the Bs from Matthew Lansley.

Max Stedman leads the Senior A Derby Series after Round 1

The Senior A Derny 6 up Final over 15 laps was very close until 2 laps to go when 3 riders dropped back as the pace increased. It was a win for little Max Stedman of AW Cycles from Bradbury who sprinted past his pacer but had to settle for 2nd. Brown was close behind for 3rd.

In the final event, the AW Cycles 20k endurance , all the riders were together for a few laps but as breaks went off the front the field split into two groups with all seven A riders in the first group and three B riders in the second – along with a few more A riders. On the bell lap the field was half down the back straight before a move was made and with a sprint for the line it was yet another win for Bradbury from Stedman and Brown. For the B riders the sprint ended with another win for Under 16 Sefton from fellow youth rider Matthew Lansley and David Ivory of Reading CC in 3rd.

Stephen Bradbury wins the AW Cycles 20k


Senior A

Hare & Hounds
1 Stephen BRADBURY AW Cycles
2 Joe CROLLA AW Cycles
3 Max Brown Zappi’s CC

Unknown Distance
1 Stephen BRADBURY AW Cycles
2 Jason PITT AW Cycles
3 Oliver HITCHINGS Peter Hansford Racing

Derny Final
1 Max STEDMAN AW Cycles
2 Stephen BRADBURY AW Cycles
3 Max BROWN Zappi’s CC

AW Cycles 20K Endurance
1 Stephen BRADBURY AW Cycles
2 Max STEDMAN AW Cycles

Senior B

Points Race
1 Josh MITCHELL – Bicester Millenium
2 Matthew LANSLEY Palmer Park Velo
3 Tom Sephton Velo Park

Unknown Distance
1 Josh MITCHELL – Bicester Millenium
2 Matthew LANSLEY Palmer Park Velo

AW Cycles 20K Endurance
1 Tom Sephton Velo Park
2 Matthew LANSLEY Palmer Park Velo
3 David Ivory Reading CC



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,