Report: Out of the Saddle Spring RR 1


More success for UK Youth as James Lowsley-Williams wins the Out of the Saddle Spring Road Race (1)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Out of the Saddle Spring Road Race 1 (Thanks Marc Etches)


55 riders departed the Ruddle Centre in bright but breezy conditions to tackle 8 laps of the rolling Braithwell circuit. The event was organised by Steve Ellis and his team of helpers from Out of the Saddle Cycling Club.

Attacks came as soon as the race started with Team UK Youth riders, Greg Mansell and James Lowsley-Williams driving the pace and stringing out the bunch and causing no less than 13 riders to be dropped on just the first lap. Once the riders settled down the first rider to break clear was Clay Cross RT rider, Dean Parkes.

Parkes battled against the wind and soon had an advantage of 20 seconds but as he was on his own this soon disolved and was swallowed up by the eager bunch. With 5 laps completed and after a several attempts from many riders to break clear, Lowsley-Williams of Team UK Youth eventually forged out an advantage with local evergreen rider, Rob Watkinson of Doncaster Wheelers and original escapee Dean Parkes.

This trio worked well together and quickly established a lead of 30 seconds. Further back the bunch split into two and then the front group stopped working allowing the bunch to be as one once more. With this going on behind the three leaders worked out a unassailable lead of just over 2 minutes. Over the next 2 laps the leaders held the main peloton at 1 minute and 30 seconds and going into the bell lap the winner would come from one of these three riders.

Lowsley-Williams, pushed on with Watkinson and distanced Parkes with half a lap to go. Lowsley-Williams then showed his winning talent by riding away from Watkinson with just over 2K to go to finish the 50 miles solo to claim a well deserved victory. Both Watkinson and Parkes held onto their advantage and finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Further back Stuart Percival, GMC Fire Services, Edd Pickard, Beeston RC and Greg Mansell all broke clear of the fragmenting bunch to claim 4th, 5th and 6th. The remaining sprint for 7th place was won by Giles Pidock, Chevin Trek beating Ashley Proctor, Bike Box Alan / Whiston Velo and Lee Allen, Beeston RC with Holme Valley Wheelers rider Lee Brown rounding off the top 10.


1. James Lowsley-Williams, Team UK Youth, 50 miles in 1.57.24 seconds
2. Rob Watkinson, Doncaster Wheelers
3. Dean Parkes, Clay Cross RT @ 31 seconds
4. Stuart Percival, GMC Fire Services @ 1.01
5. Edd Pickard, Beeston RC
6. Greg Mansell, Team UK Youth
7. Giles Pidcock, Chevin Trek @ 1.36
8. Ashley Proctor, Bike Box Alan / Whiston Velo
9. Lee Allen, Beeston RC
10. Lee Brown, Holme Valley Wheelers
11. Steven Guymer, Clay Cross RT
12. Paul Allen, Dinnington RC
13. Ryan Davis, Bike Box Alan / Whiston Velo
14. Tristian Emptage, Chevin Trek
15. Peter Barusevicus, Dirtwheels Cycles



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,