Report: Ciclos Unio Spring Criterium Series


The second event in the Ciclos Uno Spring Criterium Series was held at the Redbridge Cycling Centre (Hog Hill) on Sunday 5th May and there was a grand total of eighty six riders on the start line for the two age related races.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Event 2 Sunday 5th May

Fifty seven riders started the first race for Category ABC&D (40-59yrs) run over one hour plus five laps of the lower circuit. After just 10 minutes of racing regular Hog Hill and Dunton winner Antony Wallis broke clear with Bob Downs (Condor) and Andrew Bates (Colour-Tech).

The three gradually increased their lead but it was not long before Andrew Bates lost contact leaving Antony Wallis and Bob Downs to power on and not to be seen by the main bunch again until they lapped them. Wallis and Downs were soon to get clear of the bunch again and for a while maintained a lead of ten seconds.

However, in the final laps Andrew Bates and Mick Lee (Private) jumped across from the bunch and caught the leaders and although a lap down stayed with them until the finish but allowing them to pass in the final metres to contest the sprint. Antony Wallis ( Category ‘A’) again took the honours with Bob Downs (‘D’Category) fourteen years his senior in second place.


Categories A/B/C//D Overall
1st Antony Wallis Ciclos Uno A
2nd Bob Downs Condor Team D

At one lap
3rd Andrew Bates Colour-Tech B
4th Mick Lee LVRC Private D

Bunch at 1 lap
5th Lee Rowe Finchley R.T. B
6th Kieran Dineen Amersham B
7th Martin Meades Ciclos Uno B
8th Robin Parker East Grinstead C.C. B
9th Russell Ford Glade C.C. B
10th Steve Wharton Finchley R.T. C
11th Edgar Medellin Finchley R.T. C
12th David Farrow Eagle R.C. B
13th David Crowe Colour-Tech C
14th Costa Pierides Finchley R.T. C
15th Julian Cunnington Rapha Condor C
16th Mark Allen Finchley R.T. A
17th Mick Bath API-Metrow C
18th Steve Barnsley G.S.Vecchi D
19th Savash Anibal LVRC Private B
20th Mark Simpson Colour-Tech C
21st Jim Conway Met. Police C.C. C
22nd Colin Smith West Kent R.C. C
23rd David Austin LVRC Private A
24th Tim Pettit Essex Roads C.C. C
25th Trevor Whittock Lea Valley C.C. C
26th Adam Lowe Met.Police C.C. A
27th Chris Edwards 4T Plus Velo Club D
28th Andy Eckton Eagle R.C. A
29th Martyn Ryan Ford C.C. B
30th Steve Murrell LVRC Private A
31st Sean Bolton Eagle R.C. C
32nd Nick Rossman Finchley R.T. B
33rd Peter Arden Victoria/Ciclos Uno B
34th Andy Ballentine Easterley R.C. B
35th Carlito Rendora Eagle R.C. C
36th Paul Shipway London Phoenix C.C. C
37th Nigel Stevens Finchley R.T. C
38th Trevor Phillips LVRC Private B
39th Tony Wilkins API-Metrow D
40th Eric Paillet North Road C.C. A
41st James Amy Caesarean C.C. A
42nd John McDowall North Road C.C. B
43rd N. Muir Ciclos Uno A
44th Matt Gallagher Crest C.C./Brixton A
45th Murat Ozdenya LVRC Private A
46th David Triggs Colchester B
47th Richard Whitworth Dulwich Paragon B
48th Barry Neal Ciclos Uno B

Primes: David Farrow, Antony Wallis, Kieran Dineen, Bob Downs, Robin Parker

Category ‘A’
1st Antony Wallis
2nd Mark Allen
3rd David Austin `

Category B
1st Andrew Bates
2nd Lee Rowe
3rd Kieren Dineen

Category ‘C’
1st Steve Wharton
2nd Edgar Medellin
3rd David Crowe

Category ‘D’
1st Bob Downs
2nd Mick Lee
3rd Steve Barnsley

Category E/F/G/H
In the Category EFG&H (60yrs plus) race there were twenty nine starters. The race was run over one hour plus three laps of the lower circuit. Throughout the race Ralph Keeler (Wheel in Wheels) was very active with long spells off the front of the bunch and in the process taking three of the four primes.

In the final laps seven riders led the race with the remainder of the main bunch split into two groups one at five seconds and the other at 30 seconds. In the final gallop it was former professional Geoff Wiles (Abellio SFA) that took the honours from Ralph Keeler with Dave Brown (Private) in third place.

Categories EF&G Overall
1st Geoff Wiles Abellio-SFA F
2st Ralph Keeler Wheels in Wheels E
3rd Dave Brown LVRC Private E
4th Dick Naylor Abellio-SFA F
5th Pete Constable Velo Schils/Interbike E
6th Colin Mannakee Glendene C.C. F
7th Oliver MacPherson Planet Velo E
8th Richard Fraczek Essex Roads C.C. E
9th Charlie Bruce Ciclos Uno E
10th Peter Jones Hillingdon C.C. F
11th Dave Smith G.S.Avanti F
12th John Duckworth Kingsnorth Int. F
13th Paul Fairman San Fairy Ann C.C. O.O.C.
14th Chris Glitheroe North Road C.C. E
15th Phil Cooper LVRC Private E
16th Bob Evans Lewes Wanderers F
17th Trevor Mills Ford C.C. F
18th Ray Ricks Velo Schils/Interbike E
19th Dave Whybrow Southend Wheelers G
20th Brian Dacey De Laune C.C. G
21st Trevor Trett Kingsnorth Int. F
22nd Simon Parchment Welwyn Wheelers O.O.C
23rd Roy Godbeer Southend Wheelers H

Primes: Ralph Keeler (3), Dave Brown,

Category ‘E’
1st Ralph Keeler
2nd Dave Brown
3rd Peter Constable

Category ‘G’
1st Dave Whybrow
2nd Brian Dacey

Category ‘F’
1st 73 Geoff Wiles
2nd 86 Dick Naylor
3rd Colin Mannakee

Category ‘H’
1st Roy Godbeer
The next and final event in the series will be held on Sunday 12 May starting at 10.00 a.m.
Fred Little, Organiser


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,