News: Final Championship Prep for Bottrill in Melton Olympic 10


Matt Bottrill on a new Giant TT bike finishes preparation for National 10 with victory in the Melton Olympic 10 mile time trial

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

On a cold but dry Saturday afternoon, a selection of Britain’s best time trialists took part in Melton Olympic’s 10 mile time, held at six hills in Leicestershire. The course involved sections of dual-carriageway and the hardest one came from the Six-hills hotel to the Shoby cross roads. With five sharp corners to negotiate, it would be an ideal simulation of next weekend’s National 10 mile championship.


The selection of riders taking part included some of the finest UK tester’s and the standard had been set high with Matthew Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) being the first rider to break the 21 minute barrier in a time of 20.50, proving the high winds would not be the best of conditions for those taking part. A few moments later, the in-form Terry Wright Cycles rider, Brett Harwood lowered this to 20.45.

Next came Adam Gascoigne (Team Pedal Power) and like Bottrill was also riding the latest Giant Trinity time trial bike and he covered the course in a rapid 20.37 to add another great performance to his growing list.

Final rider on the road was Matthew Bottrill, riding a new bike fropm sponsor Giant, Bottrill came in full preparation mode for next weekend’s National 10 Championship. Going through the championship motions of preparing for the race, Bottrill put his bike and ability to the test. Riding to a schedule set by coach and sponsor Bob Tobin (, Bottrill was soon hitting speeds of over 28 mph into the block headwind.

Coming on to the technical section of the course, Bottrill gave the new bike a real test and was flying around the technical section and corners. The final section of the course was a tailwind and hitting an average speed of 34 mph, Bottrill stopped the clock in 19.27 for the 10 miles.

It was a convincing win and his fastest time ever ridden on the course. Bottrill commented afterwards “I’m really happy with that. This week as been the training from hell, but I feel I’m stronger than I’ve ever been and the new bike is just incredible. I can’t thank everybody enough for supplying me with the bike. I’m really looking forward to next weekend’s Championship and know going into the race I could not have done any more, so lets see what happens ”

1 Matt Bottrill 00:19:27 S 35
2 Adam Gascoigne Pedal Power Loughborough 00:20:37 S 27
3 Brett Harwood Terry Wright Cycles RC 00:20:45 S 35
4 Matt Sinclair Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT 00:20:50 S 34
5 James Perkins Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles 00:20:53 S 35
6 Chris Pike MG Decor – Team Carbon Bikes 00:21:31 V 41
7 Geoff Platts MG Decor – Team Carbon Bikes 00:21:34 V 58
8 Robert Gray Pedal Power Loughborough 00:21:53 V 41
9 Jason Swann Lutterworth Cycle Centre RC 00:22:03 S 39
10 Ben Wimpory PMR@Toachim House 00:22:06 S 20
11 Charlie Lowndes MG Decor – Team Carbon Bikes 00:22:21 J 17
12 Sean Vincent Team Zenith – Buzz Cycles 00:22:25 V 43
13 Stephen Howgill Leicestershire RC 00:22:30 V 49
14 Gareth Pymm Coalville Wheelers CC 00:22:32 S 30
15 Michael Wills Hinckley CRC 00:22:53 V 54
16 Dean Tacey Leicestershire RC 00:23:01 V 44
17 Peter Lavine Coalville Wheelers CC 00:23:11 V 58
18 Jason Rozee Mapperley CC 00:23:14 V 42
19 Michiel Vaal Rockingham Forest Wheelers 00:23:49 V 51
20 Andy Warby Leicester Forest CC 00:23:56 S 21
20 Christopher Sprott Leicester Forest CC 00:23:56 S 37
22 Curtis Warner Charnwood Tri Club 00:24:04 V 40
23 Richard Gamble Hinckley CRC 00:24:07 S 37
24 Ryan Ballard Coalville Wheelers CC 00:24:21 S 21
25 David Smith Sleaford Wheelers CC 00:24:42 V 61
26 Mervyn Sperry Leicestershire RC 00:24:54 V 58
27 Neil Holden Ratae RC 00:25:10 V 41
28 Nev Bray Coalville Wheelers CC 00:25:19 V 67
29 Jonathan Beere Witham Wheelers 00:25:26 S 35
29 Simon Price Para-T Cycling Team 00:25:26 V 43
31 Martin Lister Witham Wheelers 00:25:49 V 60
32 Brian Wills Hinckley CRC 00:25:59 V 64
33 Brian Peto VC Long Eaton 00:26:03 V 66
34 John Dixon Team Eschelon Rotor 00:26:07 V 74
35 Kathy Smith Sleaford Wheelers CC 00:26:20 LV 59
36 Mat Richardson Leicester Forest CC 00:26:33 V 41
37 Anthony Hardenberg Witham Wheelers 00:26:35 V 62
37 Terry Horsburgh Ratae RC 00:26:35 V 65
39 Lara Thornhill Witham Wheelers 00:26:37 L 27
40 David Herd Witham Wheelers 00:27:08 V 65
41 Paul Fairey Witham Wheelers 00:27:11 V 53
42 David York Ratae RC 00:27:12 V 60
43 Kathy Platts MG Decor – Team Carbon Bikes 00:27:18 LV 44
44 James Green Leicester Forest CC 00:27:45 S 35
45 Chris Wilcox Ratae RC 00:28:05 V 40
46 Robert Bennett Ratae RC 00:28:32 V 66
47 Matthew Finch Leicester Forest CC 00:28:47 V 41
48 Tom Bailey Kettering CC 00:29:56 V 75
49 Roger Bentley Ratae RC 00:32:55 V 77


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,