Report: Thruxton Summer Circuits 2


George Harper (Felt Colbornes Hargroves Cycles) continued his fine run of form by winning round two of the Thruxton Summer circuits

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tuesday 21st May | by Graham Robins

George Harper (Felt Colbornes Hargroves Cycles) continued his fine run of form by winning round two of the Behind the Bikeshed’s’ Thruxton Summer circuits as the very fast motor racing venue in Hampshire.

On a glorious spring evening George lead from the first lap although he didn’t do it alone. From the first lap he had Anders Christensen (Pedal Heaven RT) for company and these two quickly opened out a 30secs lead over a fluid bunch behind.

Once the lead was established there was a lot of action in the bunch with several riders trying to get across to George and Anders but without any luck Justin Hoy did a good job early on by leading the pack through protecting his young team mates lead. Both Mike Cripps (Banjo Cycles) and Rowan Horner (VC St Raphael) tried to close the gap but the gap was too large and they both slipped back into the bunch.

So at the bell the leaders were clear of the bunch which had now re-grouped by 35secs. As they sprinted towards the line it was George a bike length clear of Anders and Justin Hoy took the sprint for third some 35secs back.

The earlier third fourth cat race was won by Charles Rees (Team Tor 2000) after pulling away at the half distance point and was never challenged to the line. Second was James Cotty (Cannondale Racing) and third was Neil ??? (Cotswold Veldrijden)Cecilia Davis-Hayes (Stan’s No Tubes) continued where she left off at Sunday’s Divisional win by taking the women’s result tonight.

Category 3/4
1. Charles Rees Team Tor 2000
2. James Cotty Cannondale Racing
3. Niel Dunnage Cotswold Veldrijden
4. Jan Labrooy Andover Whls
5. Matt Waters Army Cycling Union
6. Mark Barfield MJS Racing
7. Creighton Varney High Wycombe Cycling Club
8. Michael Ford Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
9. Mike Smith Gillingham and District Wheele.
10. Kelly Brocklehurst
11. Patrick Brown Velo Club Venta
12. Keith Scott Farnborough & Camberley CC
13. Cameron Thompson Andover Whls
14. Darren Chappell Behind The Bikeshed
15. Neil Horner Behind The Bikeshed
16. Andy Hibberd North Hampshire RC
17. Alex Harding Andover Whls
18. Luke Dixon
19. Daniel Stephens JMJ Cycles
20. Edwin Puttock Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
21. David Scott Behind The Bikeshed
22. Chris Hutchings Velo Club Venta
23. Richard Pearman Team Wiggle
24. Philip Wadge
25. James Hawkins Gillingham and District Wheele.
26. Mark Valentine Poole Whls CC
27. Ricky Watson
28. Scott Chappell Behind The Bikeshed
29. Stuart Gardner North Hampshire RC
30. Joe Glabus
31. Peter Tesar Behind The Bikeshed
32. Dr Neil Richardson Ful-On Tri Club
33. Andrew Roberts Cotswold Veldrijden
34. Michael Taylor Behind The Bikeshed
35. Richard Bremner North Hampshire RC
36. Stephen Biddulph Wolverhampton RCC/Bridgtown Cy.
37. Stewart Ward Ful-On Tri Club
38. Mark Gregory
39. Alexander Royle Banjo Cycles
40. Brian Smith North Hampshire RC
41. Paul Gowling
42. Tim Clark Personal Best Cycling Services
43. Adie Kirby Team Tor 2000
44. Jamie Pattison Blackhawk Bikes
45. Matthew Buckley Andover Whls
46. Dan Murphy Army Cycling Union
47. David Lees Behind The Bikeshed

1. Cecilia Davis-Hayes VC St Raphael
2. Harriet Guest Army Cycling Union
3. Nicola Roberts Army Cycling Union
4. Nicola Wheeler Team Wiggle
5. Ruby Baker Behind The Bikeshed
6. Lili McLean Andover Whls
7. Keeley Spate

1. George Harper Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
2. Anders Christensen Pedal Heaven RT
3. Justin Hoy Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
4. Richard Phillips Schofield
5. Tim Elverson Pedal Heaven RT
6. Ian Rees Team Diabetes UK
7. Michael Cripps Banjo Cycles
8. Daniel Guest Army Cycling Union
9. Paul Merryweather Team Diabetes UK
10. Robert Ward Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT
11. Michael Scott Peter Hansford Racing
12. Stuart Thompson Andover Whls
13. Graeme Lackford Team Tor 2000
14. David Billings Motivo RT
15. David Larcombe Pedal Heaven RT
16. Rowan Horner VC St Raphael
17. Trevor Allen
18. Thomas Bowering Swindon Cycles Race Academy
19. Gareth Dickinson Farnborough & Camberley CC
20. Scott Chappell Behind The Bikeshed


U10 Girls
1. Mia Loxley North Hampshire RC
2. Finnuala Horner VC St Raphael

U12 Boys
1 Jay Allen Palmer Park Velo RT
2. Freddie Horner Behind The Bikeshed

U12 Girls
1. Abbie Manley Chapel Tri-Stars Junior Triath.
2. Amy Cantelo Solent Pirates

U14 Boys
1. Elliot Lassiter Swindon RC
2. Connor Geddes Gillingham and District Wheele.
3. James Geddes Gillingham and District Wheele.

U14 Girls
1. Caitlin Peters Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club

U16 Boys
1. Jack Billyard Swindon RC

U8 Boys
1. Marshall Thompson Andover Whls


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,