Report/Results: Brooks Cycles Track League


May 23 – Rain threatened throughout the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Stadium, Newcastle under Lyme however a full program was contested by a good quality field of riders.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The highlight of the night was the 10 mile scratch race where an extremely fast pace was held throughout the event with the A Class riders pushing the pace. There were a number of attacks however no one was able to get a sizable lead until with 3 laps to go Matthew Walls and Alex Braybrooke ( Velocity WD40) saw an opportunity to make a move. They stayed away to take the top two positions from a fast moving bunch which was headed by Joel Partington ( Sportcity Velo) who nearly caught the two escapee’s. The time for the event was a rapid 20 mins 34 seconds.

The other A Class events were won by Will Thomas (Velocity WD40) in the 10 lap scratch and Joe Evans ( Hargroves Cycles) the devil. The team pursuit was won by Andy Leigh, Christian Braybrooke, Jack Escritt and Matt Walls all Velocity WD40.

In the B Class events Andrew Scott ( Lyme RC) backed up his excellent win in the 500m handicap league by winning 8 lap scratch. Joe Pattison ( Lyme RC) took the devil and the points race with George Edwards ( Lyme RC) winning the 10 mile scratch.

The youth events saw some excellent racing with some very close finishes which tested the judges. Bradley Hill ( Lyme RC) had a great night in holding on from his handicap mark to win the 6 lap event. Aleshia Mellor (Newcastle RC 2001) won the opening 1000m handicap and Liam Zwetschnikow ( Lyme RC)won the devil.

The freewheelers events saw a smaller field than normal which was mostly down to the bad weather however the 20 riders who attended put in some fine performances with the top points scorers in each league being

Group 1 Sam Hall and Ambrose Morris
Group 2 Jordan Nixon and Natasha Sandbach
Group 3 Izaak Curtis and ChloeShepherd

Freewheelers Results

Group 1

Race 1
1st Alastair Kennington Lyme RC
2nd Bradley Heath Lyme RC
3rd Brandon McMillan Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Holly Mulroy Congleton CC
2nd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
3rd Sam Hutchins Newcastle Tri Club

Race 3
1st Sam Hall Lyme RC
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Sam Hutchins

Race 4
1st Sam Hall
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Sam Hutchins

Group 2

Race 1
1st Jordan Nixon Lyme RC
2nd Harry Horn Lyme RC
3rd Jack Scott Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Natasha Sandbach Lyme RC
2nd Evie Davis Lyme RC
3rd Jack Scott

Race 3
1st Natasha Sandbach
2nd Jack Scott
3rd Jordan Nixon

Race 4
1st Jordan Nixon
2nd Harry Horn
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Group 3

Race 1
1st Izaak Curtis Lyme RC
2nd Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC
3rd Gracie Walters Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Chloe Shepherd
2nd Izaak Curtis
3rd Olly Davis Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Chloe Shepherd
2nd Izaak Curtis
3rd Nicholas Sandbach

Race 4
1st Izaak Curtis
2nd Chloe Shepherd
3rd Owen Shepherd


Youth Block Handicap
1st Aleshia Mellor Newcastle RC 2001
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd James Brayford Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 Lap Scratch
1st Will Thomas Velocity WD40
2nd Jack Escritt Velocity WD40
3rd James Risk Sportcity Velo

Neil Potter 500m handicap League
1st Andy Scott Lyme RC
2nd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Andy Scott
2nd Joe Pattison Lyme RC
3rd Paige Millward Squadra Donne

Youth Devil
1st Liam Zwetschnikow
2nd James Brayford
3rd James Duncalf Lyme RC

A Class Endurance Team Pursuit
1st Christian Braybrooke Velocity WD40
Andy Leigh Velocity WD40
Jack Escritt
Matthew Walls Velocity WD40

A Class Sprinters Team Sprint
1st Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
Barney Swinnerton
Thomas Rotherham

B Class Devil
1st Joe Pattison
2nd Andy Scott
3rd Joe Swinnerton

Youth Team Sprint
1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
Liam Zwetschnikow
James Nolan Eastlands Velo
Alister Kennington
Joel Ackers Eastlands Velo

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Joe Evans Hargroves Cycles RT
2nd Will Thomas
3rd Jack Escritt

B Class Points Race
1st Joe Pattison
2nd Andy Scott
3rd George Edwards Lyme RC

Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Phil Houlton

Youth 6 Lap Scratch
1st Bradley Hill
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC

10 Mile Scratch
1st Matthew Walls
2nd Alex Braybrooke Velocity WD40
3rd Joel Partington Sportcity Velo

B Riders
1st George Edwards
2nd Steve Hall Lyme RC
3rd Phil Braybrooke Manchester Wheelers

Time 20 mins 34 seconds



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,