Report-Results_Photos! Tour Series – Torquay (Devon)


Ed Clancy pips Dean Downing on the line in Torquay whilst UK Youth win team prize again to move five points clear in Pearl Izumi Tour Series

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The Big Album!

Related Articles:

Interview with Yanto Barker |



Such a close finish to round 5 in Torquay as Ed Clancy and Dean Downing duel it out with the lympic champion getting his second win of the series by inches from Downing.

Live Photos 

Ed Clancy took his second consecutive Pearl Izumi Tour Series win at Round Five in Torquay, pipping Dean Downing after battling through from eight back in the sprint out of the final corner.

Clancy gave Downing further reason to be aggrieved, as he draws level with the Madison Genesis rider as the most successful individual in Pearl Izumi Tour Series history, with both riders on five wins a piece since the unique team based Series was created in 2009.


There was some rain during the day but it was lovely evening by the seaside for the Tour Series 

Downing hit out with 250 metres to go, but the double Olympic Champion pegged him back, taking the lead just feet from the finish line. There was consolation for the Madison Genesis team however, as they finished third behind Team UK Youth on the night to move into second in the standings.

UK Youth stretch their Series lead to five points, with Madison Genesis one ahead of Team Raleigh and Rapha Condor JLT a further two in arrears in fourth.

For the first time in the 2013 Pearl Izumi Tour Series the field remained together throughout the race held on South Devon’s Beautiful Bay. With five laps to go Rapha Condor JLT hit the front and began to wind up the pace with Team UK Youth taking over in their red Pearl Izumi Tour Series leader’s jersey.


This was pretty each it all night – a lined out peloton going to fast for a break to get more than a few metres.

Wilkinson led the sprint out from the final hairpin, but as he began to fade Downing took over, only for Clancy to slide past in the closing metres having battled his way through the pack.

Behind the leading duo, Liam Stones picked up an excellent third for MG Maxifuel, helping them to fourth on the night, with Chris Opie and Wilkinson taking fourth and fifth to help Team UK Youth to team victory.

Clancy also once again took the Costa Express Fastest Lap on the final tour of the Torquay event, while Alexandre Blain retained the IG Sprints jersey, winning the IG Sprint competition in Round Five to end the night seven points clear in the standings.


Team again for UK Youth with Ian Wilkinson, Tobyn Horton, Yanto Barker, Chris Opie and Niklas Gustavsson


Ian ‘Superman’ Wilkinson (UK Youth) flies in to celebrate his team’s win


Ed Clancy gets around the hotdog hairpin at speed followed by Alex Blain (Raleigh)


Alex Blain, crashes with five laps to go, chases stuck in the 12 sprocket and still does enough to top 10 and win the IG Sprints and retain his Golden jersey.


Ed Clancy gets his second win of the 2013 series in Torquay. He now heads to Spain for a UCI Olympic qualifying event for the Omnium after yet another Olympic qualifying rule change by the UCI after pressure from the IOC that will favour rich nations like GB.

The Pearl Izumi Tour Series, Round Five Torquay, Provisional Results

Round Five Torquay, Individual Result

1. Edward Clancy MBE Rapha Condor JLT
2. Dean Downing Madison Genesis
3. Liam Stones MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
4. Chris Opie Team UK Youth
5. Ian Wilkinson Team UK Youth
6. Felix English Rapha Condor JLT
7. Alex Peters Madison Genesis
8. Thomas Scully Team Raleigh
9. Alexandre Blain Team Raleigh
10. William Bjergfelt MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
11. Niklas Gustavsson Team UK Youth
12. Mike Northey Node4 – Giordana Racing
13. Roman Van Uden Node4 – Giordana Racing
14. Dale Appleby Metaltek – Knights of Old Raci
15. James McCallum Rapha Condor JLT
16. Gruffudd Lewis Metaltek – Knights of Old Raci
17. Adam Martin Metaltek – Knights of Old Raci
18. David Lines MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling
19. Richard Lang Team Raleigh
20. Jack Pullar Madison Genesis

Round Five Torquay, Team Result
1) Team UK Youth
2) Rapha Condor JLT
3) Madison Genesis
4) MG Maxifuel
5) Team Raleigh
6) Metaltek – Knights of Old
7) Node4 Giordana Racing
8) Team IG Sigma Sport
9) Spin Rotor – Primal – C-Originals
10) Team Hope Factory Racing

Team Standings, post-Round Five
1) Team UK Youth, 46pts
2) Madison Genesis, 41pts
3) Team Raleigh, 40pts
4) Rapha Condor JLT, 38pts
5) Node4 Giordana Racing, 28pts
6) Metaltek – Knights of Old, 25pts
7) MG Maxifuel, 22pts
8) Team IG Sigma Sport, 15pts
9) Team Hope Factory Racing, 12pts
10) Spin Rotor – Primal – C-Originals, 7pts

IG Sprints winner Round Five Torquay: Alexandre Blain, FRA, Team Raleigh

Costa Express Fastest Lap Torquay: Ed Clancy, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT, 2:15.05

IG Sprints standings, post-Round Five
1) Alexandre Blain, FRA, Team Raleigh, 37pts
2) Kristian House, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT, 30pts
3) Tom Scully, NZL, Team Raleigh, 28pts

Highlights of Round Five in Torquay will be shown on ITV4 at 10pm on Wednesday 29th May, with a repeat at 7.30am on Thursday 30th May. Round Six of the Series takes place in Colchester on Thursday 30th May, with Britain’s top female cyclists also re-joining the fray in second of the five event Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series.



Live Text Updates

The Pearl Izumi Tour Series takes place at the following dates & locations:
1 – Round One Tuesday 14th May Kirkcaldy, Fife

2 – Round Two Thursday 16th May Durham, County Durham

3 -Round Three Tuesday 21st May Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
(includes women’s Johnson Health Tech GP Series)

4 -Round Four Friday 24th May Aberystwyth, Ceredigion

5 -Round Five Tuesday 28th May Torquay, Devon

6 -Round Six Thursday 30th May Colchester, Essex
(includes women’s Johnson Health Tech GP Series)

7 -Round Seven Tuesday 4th June Redditch, Worcestershire
(includes women’s Johnson Health Tech GP Series)

8 -Round Eight Thursday 6th June Canary Wharf, London

9 -Round Nine Tuesday 11th June Woking, Surrey
(includes women’s Johnson Health Tech GP Series)

10 – Round Ten Thursday 13th June Aylsham, Norfolk
(includes women’s Johnson Health Tech GP Series)

Round Eleven Friday 14th June Ipswich, Suffolk

The Teams for 2013 doing all ten rounds are: (click for rider list)
— Rapha Condor JLT,
— Team UK Youth,
— Team Raleigh,
— NODE 4 Giordana Racing,
— MG – Maxifuel Pro Cycling,
— IG Sigma Sport,
— Metaltek – Knights of Old Racing Team,
— Team Hope Factory Racing,
— Madison Genesis,
— Spin Rotor – Primal – Coriginals

Note: each round will have a guest team or two. (click for rider list)

Past winners of this unique competition include Team Halfords Bikehut (2009), Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta (2010), Rapha Condor Sharp (2011) and Endura Racing (2012).

Related Link: A look back at the 2012 Tour Series here


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,