Report: Ian Mountain Memorial RR


Joe Moses leads a 1-2 for Sportscover-Bioracer in the Ian Mountain Memorial RR on 2nd June

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Photos by Andy May 


After terrible luck with the weather in previous years, the 4th annual Ian Mountain Memorial road race organised by Andrew Lowrie and the Wakefield Cycling Club, finally provided the conditions which Ian used to love riding in. Glorious sunshine.

Ians race has quickly become a popular event on the calendar and covering a distance of 100km, this years was no exception with a full field of 63 riders on the start line.


After a cagey first few kilometres three riders got away. Team GB Junior Oliver Wood riding for Team Sportscover, Chris Daddy of Squadra RT and Nathan Wilson of Wilsons Wheels RT. They managed to stay away for a lap but were then caught by Ashley Brown & Joe Moses, both of Team Sportscover. Jon Wilkinson of Sportscovers sister team, BBM Revolution Cycling and Duncan Moralee of Strategic Lions Cycling.

Working well together the seven strong break managed to keep the chasing peloton at bay but only by around 45 seconds and the long straights on the circuit meant they never disappeared from view.


By the bell the lead group began to crack and the Peloton quickly started to reel them in. Youth and experience prevailed in the end as Sportscovers young guns Joe Moses and Oliver Wood managed to stay away to take first and second respectively, whilst experienced campaigner Duncan Moralee reserved just enough energy to hold onto third. What followed is what all event organisers dread. A bunch sprint with over 30 riders crossing the line within fractions of seconds! At the time of writing this report the result positions from fourth onwards are only provisional and may well change.


Event organiser Andrew Lowrie and Ians widow, Rae Mountain, would like to thank all the friends and family of Wakefield Cycling Club and the Northfield Hotel, without whom the event could not take place.

Report from Julie Rodman
The sun came out in force today to make it a wonderful event promoted by Andrew Lowrie and Wakefield CC. It was a course being used for the first time today around the Hemsworth bypass. Ten laps of rolling course near South Kirkby and Hemsworth.

From the gun, three riders attacked, Chris Daddy (Squadra RT), Nathan Wilson (Wilson Wheels) and GB junior rider Ollie Wood (Sportscover Bioracer RT). They worked well together and within a lap they had established a 26 second lead which went to 1 minute the following lap.

With all their team mates in the main peloton, no one was prepared to work to fetch them back. On the third lap, four riders went after them; Sportscover-Bioracer’s Joe Moses and Ashley Brown, Duncan Moralee (Strategic Lions) and Johnny Wilkinson (BBM revolution). These riders worked well and with the strong men in the break. making a lead group of seven.

These riders, despite the efforts of the peloton to pull them back, kept a nice steady gap of 37 seconds on a course where there is nowhere to hide out of the way and after the main climb, they could be seen by the bunch as well as on the wide open roads on the bypass.

On the final lap, attacks were being launched from the break for the win with three breaking away, Moses, Wood and Moralee. The rest were trying to hang on for lower placings, however the peloton were gaining on them all the time once the unit had split.

Joe Moses made his bid for glory in the last 2km to take the win from team mate Ollie Wood the loan survivor from the original break away group, followed by the experienced rider of the break, Duncan Moralee.

The the fun started for the experienced judges a fifty one up bunch sprint for fourth onwards. This was won by Danny Langthorpe who had missed the previous moves earlier in the day, from Ben Last (Clay Cross) and Dan Kenna (Squadra RT).

It was good to see Richard Moore (Squadra RT) back in the peloton after his bad crash on the South Yorkshire roads a few weeks ago. It was a superb event put on by Andrew and his team and lovely to see the riders enjoying a drink at the headquarters afterwards complete with the ‘best home made butties in Yorkshire’ the Wakefield CC ladies did the club proud.

This event was a superb tribute to Ian Mountain whose son presented the prizes, he would’ve loved it. Maybe next year a bit of wind to break up the riders for a sprint? It’s not often we ask for that, but it would’ve helped.

RESULT (official)

1. Joe Moses Sportscover/Bioracer
2. Ollie Wood Sportscover/Bioracer
3. Duncan Moralee strategic Lions
4. Danny Lowthorpe Langsett Cycles
5. Ben Last Clay Cross RT
6. Dan Kenna Squadra RT
7. Alex Orrell Turner VS cycles
8. Ged Millward Ilkley CC
9. Mark McClean. Out of the Saddle CC
10. Tim Jackson Clifton CC.
11. Michael Sloanes Sunderland Clarion
12. Paul Bell Peak RC.
13. Dominic Smith Retford CC
14. Will Staverley Dirtwheels
15. Matt Stealt Albarosa RT


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,