Report/Results: Ciclos Uno ‘Hoggenberg’ Classic


The Ciclos Uno ‘Hoggenberg’ Classic held at the Redbridge Cycling Centre on Sunday 9 June attracted a record ninety four riders in two age related races which was one of the largest fields ever in an LVRC race at Hog Hill.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

thanks to Trevor Maddern, Organiser

The race for Categories ABC&D (40-59yrs) had sixty five on the start line and was held over one hour based on the lower circuit plus five laps but including three laps of the full circuit with the finish at the top of the hill.

During the first forty five minutes of the race there were many attempts by small groups to break clear but all were pulled back. With fifteen minutes remaining of the one hour race Antony Wallis (Ciclos Uno), Mark Daly (Colour Tech) and Martin O’Grady (PMR Toachim House) got clear of the bunch and stayed away until the finish. Antony Wallis took the prime on the bell lap and then once again took the honours outsprinting Mark Daly with Martin O’Grady in third place.

Overall Result Categories ABC&D
1st Antony Wallis Ciclos Uno A
2nd Mark Daly Colour Tech A
3rd Martin O’Grady PMR-Toachim House C
4th Robin Parker East Grinstead C.C. B
5th Trevor Bradbury A W Cycles D
6th Gianluca Capello G.S.Vecchi B
7th Bob Downs Condor Team D
8th Graham Berridge Pearson C.C. C
9th Martin Meades Ciclos Uno B
10th Sean O’Regan PMR-Toachim House A
11th Andy Pollintine Dulwich Paragon A
12th Paul Bird Team Virgin Active B
13th David Farrow Eagle R.C. B
14th Trevor Whittock Lea Valley C.C. C
15th Colin Jinks LVRC Private C
16th Mark Shepherd Banjo Cycles A
17th John Alderman G.S.Vecchi C
18th Jeremy Phillips Dulwich Paragon C
19th Andy Ballentyne Easterly R.C. B
20th Robin Osborne London Dynamo D
21st Ralph Carter London Dynamo C
22nd Mark Simpson Colour Tech C
23rd David Austin LVRC Private A
24th David Crowe Colour Tech C
25th Paul O’Driscoll Swindon R.C. A
26th Murat Ozdenya LVRC Private A
27th Steve Sorba Dulwich Paragon D
28th Adam Lowe Met. C.C. A
29th Martyn Ryan Ford C.C. B
30th Paul Smitherman Colour Tech B
31st Mick Lee Cicely FND D
32nd Jonathon Donald Pearson C.C. B
33rd Peter Arden Victoria C.C. B
34th Steve Maxted Verulam C.C. B
35th Mario Manelli ASL 360 C
36th Tim Pettit Essex Roads C.C. C
37th ?? ??
38th Bryan Holland North Road C.C. A
39th John McVey Chapeau – PBC A
40th Phil Bull Velodefind D
41st Paul Shipway London Phoenix C
42nd Paul Cackett Verulam C.C. D
43rd Kevin Barker Ciclos Uno A
44th Craig Stevens Ciclos Uno C
45th Matt Gallagher Crest C.C.-Brixton Cycles A
46th Bob Malland G.S.Vecchi B
47th Craig Wilson G.S.Vecchi C
48th Michael Rolfe East London Velo C
49th Steve Murrell LVRC Private B
50th Simon Goodwin London Phoenix C
51st Pete Shanney Redbridge C.C. C

Primes: Jim Alderman, David Austin, Antony Wallis

Category ‘A’ (40-44yrs)
1st Antony Wallis
2nd Mark Daly
3rd Sean O’Regan

Category B
1st Robin Parker
2nd Gianluca Capello
3rd Martin Meades
Category ‘C’ (50-54yrs)
1st Martin O’Grady
2nd Graham Berridge
3rd Trevor Whittock

Category D
1st Trevor Bradbury
2nd Bob Downs
3rd Robin Osborne

Category E/F/G/H
Twenty nine riders started the race for categories EFGH (60yrs+) which was held over one hour plus three laps on the lower circuit including two laps of the full circuit and the finish at the top of the hill.

In the first four laps three riders were dropped from the bunch which then stayed together even after the first hill prime taken by Ralph Keeler (Wheels in Wheels). It was not until the second hill prime also taken by Ralph Keeler that the race split up and four more riders went out the back.

After the second prime and forty minutes of racing the race returned to the lower circuit and Paul Allen (VO2) broke clear and was never seen again by the main bunch. Paul powered on to the finish where he had a lead of twenty seconds over the chasing bunch. Ralph Keeler won the sprint for second place with Terry Devine in third place.

Overall Result Categories EFG & H (60yrs+)
1st Paul Allen Vo2 E
2nd Ralph Keeler Wheels in Wheels E
3rd Terry Devine Braintree Velo F
4th Phil Cooper LVRC Private E
5th Colin Mannakee Glendene C.C. F
6th Andy Hicks South Western R.C. F
7th Dave Brown LVRC Private E
8th Charlie Bruce Ciclos Uno E
9th Peter Jones Hillingdon C.C. F
10th Richard Turner Pearson C.C. E
11th Wayne Thomas G.S.Henley E
12th Peter Constable Velo Schils-Interbike E
13th Richard Fraczek Essex Roads C.C. E
14th Phil Stone Thornton R.C. E
15th Barry Jones Cycles Dauphin F
16th Oliver MacPherson Planet Velo E
17th Paul Daniel Medway Velo O/C
18th Chris Glithero North Road C.C. E
19th Steve May LVRC Private E
20th Trevor Mills Ford C.C. F
21st Maurice Bentley LVRC Private E
22nd Adam Luck Lea Valley C.C. O/C
23rd Roly Crayford San Fairy Ann C.C. G
24th Dave Smith G.S.Avanti F
25th Tom McCall Thornton Heath G
26th Stanley Franklin Medway Velo F
27th Chas Wilde Eagle R.C. H

Primes: Ralph Keeler (2)

Category ‘E’ (60-64yrs)
1st Paul Allen
2nd Ralph Keeler
3rd Phil Cooper

Category F
1st Terry Devine
2nd Colin Mannakee
3rd Andy Hicks


Category ‘G’ (70-74yrs)
1st Roly Crayford
2nd Tom McCall

Category H
1st Chas Wilde

Many of the riders were pleased with the different format which used the full circuit for some laps rather than the race being only on the lower flat circuit. This format will be repeated at the Southend Wheelers ‘Over the Hill’ Criteriums Plus on the 18 August with events starting at 9.30a.m (EFGH). and 11.00 a.m. (ABCD)


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,