Report/Result: Junior National Series


Harry Shacketon wins the Peter Buckley Junior National Series RR event, the Tom Simpson Memorial in South Yorkshire on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Julie Rodman!

The sunshine for an excellently organised race at Harworth was well marshalled and well controlled for safety by the NEG riders as sixty eight riders young riders took to the start line for sixteen laps of a revised course of 3.6 miles finishing up the hill before the memorial to the late great Tom Simpson at the headquarters.

The race stayed together for the first three laps before a move was made by Frazer Martin (Scotland), James Scott (Sportscover-Bioracer) and Mark Stewart (Team ASL 360) and they managed to claw open a gap of 20 seconds before being reeled in by the peloton.

The following lap three more riders broke away to be fetched back after 15 seconds in the front. On a course with good visibility, no one was able to get away. As we turned onto the main A614 Bawtry road, two riders were disqualified, Jake Cowen (bike treks) and Callum Ferguson (Halesowen ACC) for crossing the white line.

Other riders tried in vain each lap to get away in groups of two and three but to no avail only gaining a maximum of 15-19seconds. Harry Franklin was also DQ’d for crossing the white line, the third of ten to be penalised in the race.

On lap nine, James King (Sportscover-Bioracer) broke clear and gained a 10sec advantage which then stretched out to 25 seconds before he was joined by Jake Kelly (Isle of Man), Andy Leigh (Velo City), Tim Wilcock (Tyne side Vagabonds). On this lap, we had an unfortunate crash with Christian Braybrooke (Velocity WD40) and Ben Chapman (Team Chorley cycles), after a touch of wheels. Ben was soon up however Christian was taken to the hospital with rib injuries. We wish him a speedy recovery (update - Christian is out of hospital only bruised ribs no broken bones).

The break was caught again before a further five riders jumped off the front however only gaining seven seconds. It was all back together for the final lap. A very good & decisive move by Elliott Pike (Lichfield CC) and Harry Shackleton (Team Elite) was then made. They gained a gap of 26 seconds as they hit the final mile and a half to the finish line.

The climb to the finish is deceptive and Elliott lost contact for Harry to continue on for the win, with the bunch coming in for the rest of the places giving the judges some difficult work to sort them out.

Fantastic race organised by Dave Marsh and his team, a special thanks must go out to Alan Lawrie the NEG out rider who policed the accident spot to allow the safe passage of all riders to continue the race.

1. Harry Shacketon, Team Elite Paul Bethell Electrical 2.14.56
2. James King, Team Sportscover Bioracer. 2.15.09
3. Tom Arnstein, Team ASL360
4. Jake Kelly, Isle of Man
5. Jacob Kelly, Lichfield CC
6. Own James
7. Henry Hunter, Team wallis
8. Oliver Maxwell, Forme bikes UK
9. Dan Gardner, Team ASL 360
10. Alex Orrell Turner, VS Cycles
11. Andy Leigh, Velocity WD40
12. Jacob Scott, Team Sportscover Bioracer
13. Aidan Quinn, Scotland
14. Levi Moody, Pedalsport CC
15. Leon Mazzone, Team Isle of Man
16. Peter Cocker, Forme Bikes UK
17. Edward Palfreeman, Arbis Colbert Cycles RT
18. Tristan Robbins, Cardiff JIF
19. Luke Mellon, Hetton Hawks
20. Oliver Payton, Cycle Sport Pendle


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,