Report: North Yorkshire Road Race League #4


Nick Rollins of Ilkley CC wins the Clifton CC promotion in round 4 of the North Yorkshire Road Race League

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Julie Rodman….

It was a miserable start with drizzling rain to start tonight’s race. However, it didn’t deter fifty two riders taking to the North Yorkshire roads, south of York. The riders were to complete three laps of a flat but technical course. What made it all the more interesting were inconsiderate drivers parking all over the place in the villages.


Photo: Craig Zadoroznyj ‏

It didn’t stop riders attacking off the front, but with some long straights, they never got more than twelve seconds to start with. On the last lap, a group of three riders riders gained a twenty six second advantage before they were reeled in.

With team work going on in the main peloton, nothing would stick with Clifton, Ilkley, Albarosa and Crosstrax teams bridging gaps. So the judges were poised for for a 52 up sprint finish. There was though a touch of wheels before the village of Thorganby and four riders came down; Andrew Wilson, Ilkley CC coming off worse with cuts and grazes to his shoulder elbow and hip.

The other riders were going full gas through the village for a nice straight bunch sprint. This was led in by Nick Rollins Ilkley CC from Zach Smith Selby CC who had a slight advantage from Lee Gates AlbaRosa CC.

Excellent event from the promoting club who are putting so much into Yorkshire cycling and back out again on Sunday for a day of road races. Richard Taylor certainly did the club proud with his organisational skills and left nothing left to chance, well marshalled and controlled. A big Thanks must go out to Craig and Lizzie who were invaluable with their photos at the finish to gain a full result. not easy in those conditions.

Roll on the next event In the league at Brandsby in a fortnight.

1. Nick Rollins Ilkley CC. 1:15:00
2. Zach Smith Selby CC
3. Lee Gates. AlbaRosa CC @ 3secs
4. Matthew Mannakee Patron.
5. Tim Gill. Ilkley CC
6. David Sowerby. Sowerby Bros CC
7. Craig Armitage. Crosstrax
8. Julian Varley. Harrogate Nova
9. Chay Curtin. BBM Revolution CC
10. John Savage. Clifton CC



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,