Results: Circuit Race League


Luke Perkin and Henry Hunter winners at the Circuit Race League at Salt Ayre

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

E/1/2 race 1 hour + 5 laps

It was action all the way in the Elite race with Matt Cronshaw (IG Sigma Sport), Dillon Byrne (Maxgear), Julian Pearson (Teamwallis) and Fabian Brennan (Velocity WD40) forming the first break in the opening laps. When this was pulled back there were several more moves until eventually Dillon went again with James Gullen (Team Hope Racing), Henry Hunter (Teamwallis) and Stuart Reid (Wheelbase).

This hard working group, 2 of whom had team-mates policing the chase, eventually lapped the bunch. Steve Abbott (Teamwallis) and Shaun Pearson (Ribble Valley CRC) then separated themselves from the bunch for a few laps but were brought back to the fold. Henry Hunter then attacked alone from the leaders and held a small advantage in the closing laps for a fine lone win from Dillon Byrne, Stuart Reid and James Gullen.

Meanwhile Steve Abbot was away again and hung on for 5th with just Fabian Brennan for company whilst Julian Pearson rounded off an excellent evening for Teamwallis by taking the sprint for 7th.

1. Henry Hunter Teamwallis
2. Dillon Byrne Maxgear
3. Stuart Reid Wheelbase
4. James Gullen Team Hope Racing
5. Steve Abbott Teamwallis
6. Fabian Brennan Velocity WD40
7. Julian Pearson Teamwallis
8. James Claydon Bill Nickson
9. James Dunlop Biketreks RT
10. Steve Clarke Wheelbase
11. Jordan Rigby Teamwallis
12. Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC
13. Neil Robinson Lune RCC
14. Neil Hamilton BC PM
15. John Dodgin Biketreks RT
18 riders in total

3/4/W race 40mins + 3 laps
The bunch stayed largely in tact throughout the 40 minute 3/4/W race so it was a large bunch that contested the sprint with a nervous last lap and some taking to the grass as a result but Luke Perkin (Project De-watering) came home the clear winner from Duncan Smith (

The race for first female was contested in the middle of the speeding bunch with Jess Atkinson (Team 22) just getting over the line ahead of Zoe Armstrong (Scott Contessa).

1. Luke Perkin Project De-watering
2. ` Duncan Smith
3. Matt Lythgoe Ribble Valley CRC
4. Chris Vaughan
5. Anthony Windle Dave Hinde RT
6. Steve Wilson Barrow Central Whls
7. Jon Green Kuota
8. Robert Armstrong Epic Cycles RT
9. Stuart Blackburn Lancs Fire Racing
10. Paolo Brucciani Lune RCC
11. Andrew Whalley BC PM
12. Mark Brennan Lancaster CC
13. Jess Atkinson Team 22
14. Adrian Hamilton Lancaster CC
15. Matt Hoyle Wheelbase
16. Zoe Armstrong Scott Contessa
17. Simon Mulholland
18. Matthew Williams-Jones Sheffield Uni
19. John McCombe BC PM
20. Ben Harrison Lune RCC
21. Joe Baldwin Salt Ayre Cog Set
22. Paul Andrews Lancaster CC
23. Phil Peake Lune RCC
24. Chris Lyon Preston CC
25. Jack Wilson Project De-watering
26. Geoff Mates
27. Joe Westwood Cycle Sport Pendle
28. Paul Stables Lancon
29. Paul Troughton Wheelbase
30. Louise Murray Ribble Valley CRC
31. Russ Flynn BC PM

At 1 lap
Alex Reed Salt Ayre Cog Set
Gary Date Inverse
35 riders in total

Thanks to for sponsorship, Tony Sweeney and Geoff Newcombe for Commisairing, Kay Atkinson for running the sign-on and result desk (and being organiser for the evening whilst Nev Pearson did Assistant Commisaire), Dennis for doing the lap board, flags and bell and to Biketreks RT for providing the marshals.

Nev Pearson, Salt Ayre Cycling Association


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,