Report/Results: York-Sport Partnership event 3


Seonaid Thompson & Peter Barusevicus winners at week 3 of the York-Sport Partnership circuit races where there was the best turn out yet on Tuesday night

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

York Sport Cycle Circuit, Lakeside Way, York, YO10 5FG

Julie Rodman reports

What a glorious evening for a bike race! Hot air balloons released from the historic Knavesmire up high above the racing to get a better view! They weren’t disappointed. Fifty three riders in total for the event, with thirteen women having a go, many of them novices and they certainly left with smiles on their faces,

The ladies race was handicapped with experienced crit riders Brit Tate and Iona Sewell GB cycles going off scratch and seven newcomers off first. You can never tell how anyone one will settle into racing on their for the first time. Two ladies who went from the gun were Vicky Clark and Seonaid Thompson (Albarosa CC) and they proved to be too strong for the rest.

They powered their way around the course and while the back markers tried their hardest to catch them, the front duo working well together proved to be a formidable team going on to lap the field. With the remaining riders racing for third place, the leaders certainly won’t be getting that big a margin again. Seonaid going on to win the sprint in her first race from Vicky Clark.

The men lined up with forty taking to the start line. The best attendance yet!
As soon as the whistle was blown, it started into the first corner thick and fast, with all the riders strung out down the back straight. First attacks came on lap three with four riders breaking clear, Jamie Sharp (Team Hope), Peter Barusevicus (Dirtwheels), Richard Baldwin (Bike Box) and Simon West (Cycle sense), realising that this could be a dangerous group to go away.


Peter Barusevicus – Photo Nicky Hartle 

Giles Pidcock (Chevin Cycles) catapulted himself out of the main peloton on the back straight to join them. They worked well together and gained a 22 second advantage. The weather took its toll on the wheels and two riders came off due to rolled tubs form melted tub glue which shows we are not used to 29 degrees races here. This caught a few riders out and took their customary lap out to regroup.

Simon West lost contact with the group and found himself in no mans land for ten laps whilst the four leaders carried on working well. Barusevicus then attacked and put day light between him and the other riders, going on to lap most of the field showing what a talented rider he is.

With two laps to go, Jamie Sharp retired leaving two to sprint for second place. Meanwhile, the bunch were getting ready for their last lap with three going clear of danger, lead by Cam Brooks, Dan Webster and Neil Hendry.

Peter Barusevicus took the well deserved win from experienced bunch sprinter Giles Pidcock and Richard Baldwin. Followed by breakaway riders Cam Brooks (Clifton CC), Dan Webster (Albarosa CC) and Neil Hendry (Dirtwheels). Simon West after his heroic move in the break hung on for 8th place.

It was a fantastic nights racing and everyone except the crash victims went home smiling. Next weeks it the turn of the fourth cats for fifty minutes and the ladies.



1. Seonaid Thompson Albarosa CC
2. Vicky Clark. Albarosa CC
3. Brit Tate. GB cycles
4. Iona Sewell. GB Cycles
5. Annabel Sill. Clay cross RT
6. Victoria Hood. We Love Mountains
7. Jess Taylor. University of York CC
8. Emily Thomas. Albarosa CC
9. Lindsey Atkinson Wright Calfer clarion
10. Rachel Stanton Albarosa CC

2/3/4 Result
1. Peter Barusevicus. Dirt wheels RT
2. Giles Pidcock. Chevin Cycles
3. Richard Baldwin. Bike Box Alan
4. Cam Brookes. Clifton CC
5. Dan Webster. Albarosa RT
6. Neil Hendry. Dirt wheels RT
7. Andrew Wooler. Dirt wheels RT
8. Simon West. Cycle sense
9. Tom Hebditch. Dirt wheels RT
10. Craig Jarrett. Harrogate nova RC


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,