Result/Report: Rutland CC Tumby’s Road Race


Robert Watkinson of Doncaster Wheelers winner of Rutland CC’s Tumby’s Road Race on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tumby’s Road Race (report from Ian Hirst – thanks!)
A field of 60 riders took to the start line for this Regional A Rutland CC promotion on a short course based on the older Harworth/Blyth circuit, now no longer usable due to the commercial and residential developments in recent years having necessitated traffic lights. This version uses the same basic triangular route of Blyth Rd and A614, but completing the circuit using Snape Lane instead of Scrooby Rd.

Snape Lane was the one significant climb on the circuit and this, repeated 18 times and combined with the wind on the day gradually wore down the will of those who challenged the three near race-long escapees.

That key break formed on lap 3 and comprised Rob Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers), Levi Moody (RST Racing) and John Cooper (Wolverhampton Wheelers). By lap 4 their advantage was 23s.

With the three all sharing the work – Moody on junior gearing contributing equally despite a strong tailwind in parts – that lead grew steadily to 1.54 at the start of lap 8 with 26 miles covered in the first hour.

At this point a group of 5 escaped the bunch and closed the gap to 1.02 by the left turn at Blyth onto the A614. That group contained 4 riders who would gain points at the finish – Wilkinson (BBM), McLean (Out of the Saddle), Baillie (Langsett Cycles) and Jepson (Beeston RC) – plus Marshall (Aire Valley RT).

But 1.02 was as close as it got, despite 7 more escaping the bunch and joining the 5 chasers on lap 10.

Despite the leaders tiring and slowing, the 12 chasers continued losing ground, but when the gap grew to 1.50 on lap 12, four riders pulled away from the weakening chase – Baillie and McLean being joined by Swift (Bike Box Alan) and Moore (Squadra RT). The depleted bunch had lost their impetus by this point with their deficit steadily growing to 5.15 with 2 hours of racing and 52 miles covered.

Making the left turn into Snape Lane and the start of the bell lap, Watkinson attacked and quickly gained 200m, Moody reacted and gave chase, but Cooper had nothing left in the tank.

That order remained for the full final lap, though Watkinson did pay for his effort with the gap closing to around 5s when they crossed the line. The organization of this Rutland CC promotion was excellent, Steve and Louise Ellis being supported by a large number of willing and able volunteers and the prizewinners were rewarded with a healthy prize list, benefitting from the generosity of the event sponsors.

RESULT (Thanks Ian)

1 Robert Watkinson – Doncaster Wheelers
2 Levi Moody – RST Racing
3 John Cooper – Wolverhampton Wheelers
4 Connor Swift – Bike Box Alan
5 James Baillie – Lansett Cycles RT
6 Richard Moore – Squadra RT
7 Marc McLean – Out Of The Saddle
8 Andrew Sedgewick – Langsett Cycles RT
9 James Thompson – Langsett Cycles RT
10 Nick Jepson – Beeston RC
11 John Wilkinson – BBM Revolution
12 Jacob Trotter – Squadra RT
13 Paul Bell – Peak RC
14 Benjamin Harvey – Rutland CC
15 Lee Desborough – St Ives CC



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,