Result: Welsh CA 100


Jon Wynn of Northover VT is fastest with a 3:39:23 for the Welsh CA 100 mile time trial on Sunday (August 11)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Some stunning rides were done throughout the field on the South Wales R100/8 course. A day that started out promising with warm sunshine clouded over and got cooler by mid morning and more breezy before the sun made a welcome although intermittent return as the first riders headed for the finish.

A slightly lower entry than usual was further reduced by 11 non starters nevertheless there were some riders with fast times on paper prepared to do battle. The course covering mostly the A40 Abergavenny to Monmouth road uses large parts of the National 50 course held earlier this year but based on three 30 mile laps of 80% dual carriageway.

Neither of last year’s champions were defending their titles so new champions were expected. Rumours at the HQ were that Jon Wynn Northover VT was ‘up for it’ – and so it was found to be true just 3.39.23 later: a ride which also saw him get the fastest vet on Standard.

In-form Rob Townsend, Team Swift has already had a win at both 50 and a 12 hr this year but without a 100 time in the last three seasons started on an unseeded 59 mark just one minute in front of Wynn and gave him a bit of a fright early on when unofficial times showed a slender lead.

His good form held for his palmares to now show a 3.43.13 to his name; good enough for second place. Just outside the top 3 was Pembrokeshire Velo flying junior Dan Colman who crashed through the four hour barrier for the first time with a sensational 3.49.18.

Backed with father Paul’s 4.02.12 and Mark Jones 23 minute improvement of 4.47.42 their time of 12.39.12 was good enough for the team award.

Penny Gardiner, Clevedon & District was very happy with her championship winning ride of 4.29.15; an almost ten minute improvement on her previous best.

1 Jon Wynn Northover VT 3:39:23
2 Rob Townsend Team Swift 3:43:13
3 Paul Gamlin Avonlea/Treasure RT 3:44:27
4 Dan Colman Pembrokeshire Velo 3:49:18
5 Bevan Humphreys RT 3:50:29
6 Earl Smith Cycle Coaching Wales RT 3:55:44
7 Paul Colman Pembrokeshire Velo 4:02:12
8 Ian Turner North Road CC 4:03:32
9 Tim Jay Somer Valley CC 4:04:46
10 David Brice Bynea CC 4:08:44
11 Daniel McParland Manchester Tri Club 4:09:07
12 Anthony Cowdry Porth & District CC 4:09:22
13 Alex Haines Hereford & Dist Whs CC 4:10:08
14 Michael Amery VC Sevale (Malvern) 4:15:14
15 Toby Hopper Cardiff Ajax CC 4:22:12
16 Justin Ford CC Blaenau Gwent 4:24:55
17 Simon Geary Hereford & Dist Whs CC 4:25:05
18 Adam Taylor Royal Forest of Dean CC 4:25:08
19 Andrew Curley Beacon Roads CC 4:25:22
20 Gary Flower Acme Whs (Rhondda) CC 4:28:21
21 Andrew Sparks Hereford & Dist Whs CC 4:29:16
22 Graham Barker Rockingham CC 4:29:23
23 Penny Gardiner Clevedon & District RC 4:29:25
24 Steve Inglefield St. Austell Whs 4:31:03
25 Sarah Lloyd-Stephens Hereford & Dist Whs CC 4:31:04
26 Graham Smith Severn RC 4:33:37
27 Heather Greening Keswick Bikes 4:37:11
28 Stan Mills Yorkshire Road Club 4:38:13
29 Cliff Voller Newbury RC 4:38:21
30 Richard Turpin Wellington Wheelers 4:38:56
31 Mark Jones Pembrokeshire Velo 4:47:42
32 Fenella Brown Redditch Road & Path CC 4:51:02
33 Chris Mison North Hampshire RC 4:54:05
34 Peter Wilson Bath CC 4:56:26
35 Ross Bentley-Davies Didcot Phoenix CC 5:01:49
36 Tanis Hand Leamington C & AC 5:04:39
37 Dave Unsworth Hereford & Dist Whs CC 5:16:59


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,