Eneco Tour Stage 5: Chavanel Wins the Time Trial


Sylvain Chavanel wins the time trial to move into 2nd overall whilst Lars Boom continues to lead. Wiggins 5th.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Omega Pharma – Quick-Step’s Sylvain Chavanel, in his French TT Champion skinsuit, won the 13.2km Eneco Tour Stage 5 ITT on Friday by 4 seconds. Chavanel also moved to 2nd on GC, just four seconds behind current leader Lars Boom (Belkin ProCycling).


Chavanel finished with a time of 16’04”, besting both Tom Dumoulin (Argos-Shimano) and Jesse Sergent (Radioshack-Leopard) by four seconds.

“My objective was to try to win,” Chavanel said. “There were a lot of good time trialists here, but honestly I was stressed waiting for Lars Boom at the finish line, but fortunately everything went well. This is my third TT win after Driedaagse van de Panne and the National Championship so I’m really happy, even more because the level of the competitors was really high.”

“For me the parcour was perfect — really technical with a lot of corners. After the recon this morning, I understood that I could win, so I stayed focused on the race and I made it.”

“Now I’m second in the GC,” Chavanel continued. “I said since the beginning that in the first stages it would have been important to not lose any seconds. I managed to stay always in the front, I did a good time trial, and now I’m looking forward to the next two stages.”

“I’m in good condition and I really would like to do well in this race where I was already second twice; 2012 and 2009. But we also have Stybar in good GC position, after his victory in Stage 3 and a good performance in the ITT today. We also have Niki Terpstra, who knows this race really well. We have a good collective and because of that we can also play tactically.”


Race leader Lars Boom said of his time trial, “I gave everything I had,” said Boom, who acknowledged he made errors. “I’m pleased with the first part of my ride, but in the second section, I lost a lot of time. But that’s how it is, I know couldn’t have gone any faster.”

On Saturday and Sunday the peloton faces two hard stages in Belgium. Boom knows the stakes. “Last year I wasn’t in the lead after the TT and I still managed to win the overall. It’s different now because I have to defend the jersey, but tomorrow is a new day and I’ll do my utmost best,” Boom said. “Nevertheless, it’s always good to have the jersey already.”


Lars Boom. Photo: Thomas van Bracht: PelotonPhotos.com

Bradley Wiggins (Sky) was the 14th rider out of the start house and quickly set the best time at 16:13 on the short 13.2km course from Sittard to Geleen. His time held strong until Sergent put up a stellar ride at 16:08, knocking Wiggins out of the hot seat by a five second gain.

The Team Sky rider ending the day nine seconds back on stage winner Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step). Ian Stannard also put in a strong ride on the day to further his general classification aspirations, moving up to 10th overall. 18th on the stage – 28 seconds down on the Frenchman – saw the Brit continue his improvements on the time trial bike.


Bradley Wiggins. Photo: Thomas van Bracht: PelotonPhotos.com


Ian Stannard. Photo: Thomas van Bracht: PelotonPhotos.com

Stage 5
1 CHAVANEL Sylvain Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 16:04
2 DUMOULIN Tom Team Argos – Shimano 00:04
3 SERGENT Jesse RadioShack – Leopard @ st
4 LANGEVELD Sebastian Orica GreenEDGE 00:06
5 WIGGINS Bradley Sky Procycling 00:09
6 PHINNEY Taylor BMC Racing Team 00:11
7 GUSEV Vladimir Katusha Team 00:14
8 WESTRA Lieuwe Vacansoleil – DCM 00:17
9 GRIVKO Andriy Astana Pro Team 00:18
10 BOOM Lars Belkin Pro Cycling Team 00:20
11 KELDERMAN Wilco Belkin Pro Cycling Team 00:23
12 DURBRIDGE Luke Orica GreenEDGE @ st
13 TERPSTRA Niki Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:24
14 BENNATI Daniele Team Saxo-Tinkoff @ st
15 WEENING Pieter Orica GreenEDGE 00:26
16 JUNGELS Bob RadioShack – Leopard 00:28
17 BOARO Manuele Team Saxo-Tinkoff @ st
18 STANNARD Ian Sky Procycling @ st
19 PORSEV Alexander Katusha Team 00:29
20 GILBERT Philippe BMC Racing Team 00:31


Taylor Phinney. Photo: Thomas van Bracht: PelotonPhotos.com

1 BOOM Lars Belkin Pro Cycling Team 16:22:39
2 CHAVANEL Sylvain Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:04
3 DUMOULIN Tom Team Argos – Shimano 00:08
4 PHINNEY Taylor BMC Racing Team @ st
5 LANGEVELD Sebastian Orica GreenEDGE 00:10
6 GILBERT Philippe BMC Racing Team 00:18
7 GRIVKO Andriy Astana Pro Team 00:23
8 STYBAR Zdenek Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:24
9 GUSEV Vladimir Katusha Team 00:25
10 STANNARD Ian Sky Procycling 00:26
11 KELDERMAN Wilco Belkin Pro Cycling Team 00:27
12 PORSEV Alexander Katusha Team @ st
13 FARRAR Tyler Garmin – Sharp 00:29
14 GREIPEL Andre Lotto Belisol Team 00:30
15 WEENING Pieter Orica GreenEDGE @ st
16 TERPSTRA Niki Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:35
17 BAKELANTS Jan RadioShack – Leopard 00:37
18 IMPEY Daryl Orica GreenEDGE @ st
19 SERGENT Jesse RadioShack – Leopard 00:38
20 LADAGNOUS Matthieu Equipe Cycliste FDJ.fr 00:47


Movistar at play…  Photo: Thomas van Bracht: PelotonPhotos.com

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,