Report/Result/Photos: Glendene Summer Classic Road Race


Harold Evans was the clear winner of the Glendene Road Race over 89 miles on the Great Saling course last Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

From Simon at Action Images


Attacking from his three breakaway companions on the last lap of nine, Harold won by 40 seconds with Hugo Humphreys (Leeds Uni Gryphyons CC) wining the sprint for second from Wojciech Sziachta ( and William Pratt (Aprire Bicycles).

The race started at a fast pace which forced an early split in the peloton with a group of nine riders going clear on the first lap, followed by a second group of five before the main bunch. The front two groups joined together on the second lap and opened up a lead of 1:20 on the peloton, before there was a further split and a group of seven managed to bridge across to the leaders. The leading group continued to extend their lead, and with five laps to go it was at 2:30 on the line.


The race winning move of four went clear on the sixth lap, while behind the remains of the leading group were caught by the peloton. A counter attack by Adam French (Rapha Condor CC), Alex Camier (Pedal Heaven RT), Rhys Howells (, Mike Debney (London Dynamo) and Andrew Hastings (Finchley RT) managed to separate themselves from the peleton by the next time around, followed by Lloyd Chapman (Glendene CC/Ridley/Oce) and Colin Parry (Spin Rota Primal C-Originals), and then the remains of the bunch.

The various groups remained unchanged at the bell, and the growing crowd of spectators settled down for the expected sprint finish, however Evans had other ideas and moved clear from his three companions. At the finish, he had time to enjoy his victory before Humphreys had the strength to lead out and win the sprint for second from Sziachta and Pratt.

The next riders into view were Chapman and Parry, with Chapman wining the sprint for fifth having caught and passed the group of five containing French, Camier, Howells, Debney and Hastings. It was a further ten seconds before Adam French won the sprint for seventh, followed by Camier, Howells, Debney and Hastings.


MORE PHOTOS: Further photos can be found here:

1st Harold Evans Aprire Bicyles 3:16:18
2nd Hugo Humphreys Leeds Uni Gryphyons CC @ 40 Secs
3rd Wojciech Sziachta st
4th William Pratt Aprire Bicycles st
5th Lloyd Chapman Glendene CC/Ridley/Oce @ 2:27
6th Colin Parry Spin Rota/ Primal C-Originals st
7th Adam French Rapha Condor CC @ 2:37
8th Alex Camier Pedal Heaven RT st
9th Rhys Howells st
10th Mike Debney London Dynamo @ 2:42
11th Andrew Hastings Finchley RT st
12th Malcolm Davies Aprire Bicyles @ 5:12
13th Billy Whenman Zannata CT st
14th Dante Carpenter Pedal Heaven RT st
15th Nick Wilkinson Aprire Bicyles st
16th Malcolm Smith St Ives CC st
17th Jason White PM st
18th Jake Martin Pedal Heaven RT @ 6:22
19th Tom Neale Spalding CC st
20th Stephen Swindley PMR @ 6:24
21st Tom Fitzpatrick Kingsnorth International st
22nd Josh Green Glendene CC/Ridley/Oce st
23rd Peter Wagner Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves st
24th Dan Young Glendene CC/Ridley/Oce st
25th John McClelland Prestige VC st
26th Chris Snook Madison Genesis st
27th Robert Ward Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves @ 12:02



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,