Report/Results: Circuit Race Series


Henry Hunter wins the final event of the 2013 Salt Ayre Circuit Race Series on Tuesday night

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The final event of the Salt Ayre Series for 2013 saw the E/1/2 and 3/4/W races on the circuit together all doing 1 hour plus 5 laps. The 40 rider field made for a good attacking race with several of the 3rd cat riders staying with the E/1/2 bunch.

After an early break was pulled back, another went almost immediately with Ashley Clitheroe (Cycle Sport Pendle), Jordan Rigby (Teamwallis) and Richard Hepworth (Node 4) being notable for getting in both moves. Three more riders then bridged to the break of eight and it was clearly too big and the bunch pulled them back with James Gullen (Hope Racing) being instrumental in forcing the pace up.

After a group of 3rd cats who hadn’t survived the early fast pace were lapped, it was a big bunch who went into the 5-to-go all together. Just as a bunch sprint looked likely, Henry Hunter (Teamwallis) took off alone for a fine solo victory. Tim Lawson (Wheelbase) managed to bridge to him on the last lap but couldn’t then match Henry’s pace down the finishing straight.

Chris Nicholson (SRPC RT) led in the sprint for 3rd. In a good evening for the local Salt Ayre Cog Set, John Didsbury was best youth finisher in 9th, Adam Hall won the 3rd cat race and Ryan Coulton finished in the bunch. Eve Dixon (Maxgear) was 7th in the 3rd cat race and best female.

Thanks to for sponsorship, Tony Sweeney and Geoff Newcombe for Commisairing, Kay Atkinson doing the sign-on desk and organiser for the evening whilst Nev Pearson completed Commisaire training, to Dennis for doing the lap board, flags and bell and to Herbalife/Leisure Lakes for providing the marshals.

Nev Pearson

E/1/23/4/W race 60mins + 5 laps

1st Henry Hunter Teamwallis
2nd Tim Lawson Wheelbase
3rd Chris Nicholson SRPC RT
4th Dillon Byrne Maxgear
5th Richard Hepworth Node 4
6th Julian Pearson Teamwallis
7th James Dunlop Biketreks
8th Matt Holmes Team Raleigh
9th John Didsbury Salt Ayre Cog Set
10th Sam Dobson BC PM
11th Adam Hall Salt Ayre Cog Set
12th James Gullen Hope Racing
13th Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC
14th Jordan Rigby Teamwallis
15th Steve Abbott Teamwallis
16th Ashley Clitheroe Cycle Sport Pendle
17th Duncan Smith
18th Steve Wilson Barrow Central Whls
19th Stuart Reid Wheelbase
20th Ryan Coulton Salt Ayre Cog Set
21st John Dodgin Biketreks
22nd Thomas Gibson Kent Valley RC
23rd Eve Dixon Maxgear
24th Alex Foster Motivo RT
25th Sam Jackson
26th George Nolan Clitheroe BC

At 1 lap
27th David Rathbone Cleveleys RC
28th Neil Hamilton BC PM
29th Joe Baldwin Salt Ayre Cog Set
30th Joe Westwood Cycle Sport Pendle



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,