Report: Welwyn Friday Night Track League


Kristian Woolf dominated the A League at the Welwyn Friday Night Track League despite lower than expected numbers in the senior categories

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

23rd August – by Peter Waghorn

Kristian Woolf dominated the A League with four victories – best race of the meeting was the 10 lap ‘team’ Pursuit with two evenly matched teams of 5 riders – McClelland led the Even numbers while Woolf led the Odd numbers.

The lead changed almost every lap and the high speed shed a few riders. With two laps left a sterling turn by Woolf put his team ahead which they held the line – Woolf won with Alan Trolove close up in second spot with Joe Gorman a few metres back in third place.

The B group produced a battle between Ben Smith and Anthony Morris and the two Herts Whs riders – Brian Evans and Tony Marriott – these four collected all the league points on offer bar one

The massive turn out of youth riders – 31 – spread across the three age bands
Youth A -the final 6 lap handicap saw the limit group of three riders working well together and staying clear to the finish for well earned points.
The Youth B group produced some close racing and tight finishes – the final 6 lap handicap again saw the limit riders triumph – the scratch group closed in on the final lap but limit rider Sophie Holmes attacked in the last 200m to take a well deserved win.

The 13 strong Youth C contingent was dominated by Lauren Higham taking the opening scratch race and both 3 lap handicaps from the scratch mark with attacking riding backed up by Sam Asker. In the final 4 lap handicap the scratch group reeled in the leaders in the last 100m but had no energy left to overcome the front group of riders. Jamie Dene won by inches from the seven rider group to finish off a great evening of competitive youth events.

Senior A
10 lap scr – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) John McClelland (Prestige) Martin Ruepp (Iceni)
10 lap – Odds & Evens Pursuit – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Alan Trolove (St Ives) Joe Gorman (Stevenage)
Devil – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Joe Gorman (Stevenage) Alan Trolove (St Ives)
10 mile –Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Martin Ruepp (Iceni) John McClelland (Prestige)

Senior B
10 lap scr – Ben Smith (Welwyn) Tony Marriot (Herts Whs) Julio Davis (Welwyn)
10 lap – Odds & Evens Pursuit – Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell) Ben Smith (Welwyn) Brian Evans (Herts Whs)
10 lap points – Ben Smith (Welwyn) Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell) Tony Marriott (Herts Whs)

Youth A
8 lap Scr – Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Connor Woodford (Willesden) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn)
Devil – Connor Woodford (Willesden) Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn)
Points – Jordan Mooney (Welwyn) Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Carl Jolly (Hillingdon)
8 lap H’cap – Cai Davies (Welwyn) Bradley Clarke (Green Arrow) Josh Wilkins (Rockingham F)

Youth B
5 lap Scr – Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon) Will Raymond (Welwyn) Harriett Mellor (Hillingdon)
Devil – Will Raymond (Welwyn) Michael Parry (Welwyn) Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon)
Points – Michael Parry (Welwyn) Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon) Toby Miles (Welwyn)
6 Lap H’Cap – Sophie Holmes (Inverse Com) Emily Sinclair (Welwyn) Harriet Mellor (Hillingdon)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scr – Lauren Higham (Welwyn) Sam Asker (West Suffolk) Christian Manzi (Welwyn)
3 lap H’Cap A– Lauren Higham (Welwyn) Sam Asker (west Suffolk) Sophie Saberton (St Ives)
3 lap H’Cap B – Lauren Higham (Welwyn) Sophie saberton (St Ives) Sam Asker (West Suffolk)
4 lap H’cap – Jamie Dene (Welwyn) Milly Knight (Lee Valley) Sophie Saberton (St Ives)

Peter Waghorn


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,