Report: Great Finale for Dirtwheels summer evening criteriums


Julie Rodman writes… What a lovely friendly atmosphere at the last of the Dirtwheels summer evening criteriums at the York Sport circuit (Yorkshire).

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The sun shone, the hot air balloons were about in abundance and the riders turned up to a lovely dry evening of racing, some trying to get end of season points to move up a category or to hold on to their existing ones.

The first race up was a W/3/4 event with 37 riders taking to the start line. The pace was fast and furious when Richard Sharp (Clifton CC) took it on himself to be a human powered derny around the course at the front.

With a lot of riders strung out on the back straight, a few moves tried to go away however it was soon chased down and the judges were getting themselves ready for a bunch sprint finish. Even adding two primes into the race didn’t break up the bunch with the first one going to Tim Farrow from the promoting club Dirtwheels and the second to Joe Wilkinson Albrosa CC.

The bell was rung and the riders started to position themselves at the front for a mad gallop to the line. The strong man of the evening delivered with a win, Richard Sharp followed by Josh Cutler (RST Racing Team) and Nicholas Latimer (Rutland CC), with a blanket finish for the next four riders.

Next up as the light was fading and the floodlights were turned on was the 2/3/4 riders with thirty riders taking to the start line. The first lap saw an attack from Elliott Pike (Lichfield CC) who had a tour of York to find the venue so adrenaline must have been high, along with Josh Ferguson of Team Wheelguru.

This move lasted a few laps before the riders decided enough was enough. The first prime was won by the promoting clubs ‘Polish Pete’ as he’s affectionately called, Pete Barusevicus, a couple of laps after this sprint, the first main move of the night was established with Pete, Nathan Wilson (Wilson Wheels), Duncan Moralee (Strategic Lions), Matt Bulmer (Dirtwheels), Andy Parr (Moda RT), and David Morris (Harrogate Nova).

Pete Barusevicus won the second prime as well. This group stayed clear with a gap of 15 seconds to the chasing bunch from which a few tried to come over and bridge the gap but to no avail. Then three riders broke clear, Nathan, Pete and Matt, these were to work well together and we had effectively three groups on the circuit.

The sprint came down to a superb run in to the line with Pete Barusevicus gaining the win from Nathan Wilson by a wheel followed over the line by Matt Bulmer.

It has been a superb summer of Tuesday night racing and with floodlights making it a nocturne feel about it all. The next event is on the 24th September promoted by Chevin Cycles unless other clubs would like to have a go at doing an evenings racing on there. It is certainly a worthy circuit and great work by Nicky and Neil to organise the last two events. Their riders certainly did them proud on the night.

You even have Costa Coffee at the Yorksport centre what more could you ask for?

Category 3/4
1 Richard Sharp Clifton CC
2 Josh Cutler RST
3 Nicholas Latimer Rutland CC
4 Stewart Gormley Team Swift
5 Daniel Boultby Langdale Lightweights
6 Craig Armitage Crosstrax
7 James Dyson 3RT
8 Zach Smith Selby CC
9 Toby Holmes Otley CC
10 Daniel Stotcher 3RT

Results 2/3/4
1 Pete Barusevius Dirtwheels RT
2 Nathan Wilson Wilsons Wheels
3 Matt Bulmer Dirtwheels RT
4 Duncan Moralee Strategic Lions
5 Andy Parr Moda RT
6 David Morris Harrogate Nova
7 Elliott Pike Lichfield CC
8 Pete Fielding Smith Wilson Wheels
9 Russ Ellis Dirtwheels RT
10 Dave Micklethwaite 3RT


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,