News: Vermote beats Brammeier to the finish in Desselgem Koerse


Julien Vermote holds off the challenge of the Brits in Desselgem Koerse; Brammeier, McNally & Fenn top 5!

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

In the race, according to a press release from Omega Pharma Quickstep, there riders were involved in all the action which helped Vermote get into position for the victory. There was a breakaway of 12 riders with Quickstep’s Bert Grabsch, Vermote and Britain’s Andy Fenn. At 6 laps to go (about 50km remaining), there was further split in the pack and only seven riders remained ahead.

On the last lap, Vermote saw his chance and he attacked. His move led to just four remaining in front including two Brits. Finally, at 500m to go, even Andy Fenn came back to try and contest the finish with other riders making it three from Britain in the lead.

However, the sprint was already launched by the leaders and they stayed away from the chasers. Vermote’s aggression, and his power in the final, resulted in his victory.

“It’s always nice to win,” Vermote said. “I am not one of the fastest in the peloton but after a hard race like today I can always do something good. I always wanted to win this race. I showed I was in good shape at the Brussels Classics with the long breakaway, and I was also super motivated because the race is really my home race. I live not even 10km from the finish line. So, it was kind of special for me.”

“Also, this victory is nice for our sponsors because the start and the finish is not far from many of them. It is a pleasure to win in front of our sponsors that put a big effort and energy into our team.”

Vermote looks next to the Tour of Britain on Sunday. “I really would like to make the best out of my condition,” Vermote said. “I want to help the team win races and why not, if there is a chance, to take my chances at Tour of Britain as well.

Liverpool’s Brammeier meanwhile said on Twitter, “Getting closer! Beaten by a better man with better hair so I can’t complain!”

1. Vermote Julien Omega Pharma-Quickstep
2. Brammeier Matt Champion System Pro Cycling Team
3. Helven Sander Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise
4. Mcnally Mark An Post – Chainreaction
5. Fenn Andrew Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team
6. Polazzi Fabio Wallonie-Bruxelles
7. Theuns Edward Vl Technics – Abutriek Cycling Team
8. Eeckhout Niko An Post – Chainreaction
9. Bertholet Quentin Wallonie-Bruxelles
10. Rickaert Jonas Ovyta-Eijssen-Acrog Cycling Team
11. Goddaert Kristof Iam Cycling
12. Vanbilsen Kenneth Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise
13. Maes Nikolas Omega Pharma-Quickstep
14. Vingerling Michaél Team 3m
15. Vanlerberghe Bert Ventilair – Steria
16. Legley Matthias Cycling Team Soenens-Construkt Glas
17. Vermote Alphonse An Post – Chainreaction
18. Scheirlinckx Staf Accent.Jobs-Wanty
19. Jans Roy Accent.Jobs-Wanty
20. Sleurs Christophe Vl Technics – Abutriek Cycling Team
21. Barbe Koen Crelan-Euphony
22. Baestaens Vincent Crelan-Euphony
23. Callebaut Kevin Team Cibel/Aliplast
24. Mertens Tim Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise
25. Bruyneel Giel Cycling Team Vermeeren – Ruwomat
26. Maes Alexander Cycling Team Soenens-Construkt Glas
27. Yserbyt Jesper Ksv Deerlijk-Gaverzicht-Matexi
28. Vekeman Maxime T.Palm РP̫le Continental Wallon
29. Van Acker Kevin Vl Technics – Abutriek Cycling Team
30. De Ketele Kenny Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise
31. Vanneste Evert Vl Technics – Abutriek Cycling Team
32. Bosmans Tom Vl Technics – Abutriek Cycling Team
33. Van Craen Toshoni T.Palm РP̫le Continental Wallon
34. Rotty Glenn Vl Technics – Abutriek Cycling Team
35. Vandeputte Nicolas Ksv Deerlijk-Gaverzicht-Matexi
36. Ringheim Jo Kogstad Team People4you – Unaas Cycling
37. Vanhoutteghem Cedric Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckh
38. Deleu Robbe Ksv Deerlijk-Gaverzicht-Matexi
39. Vanbesien Thomas Lotto Belisol U23
40. Deweer Jochen Vl Technics – Abutriek Cycling Team
41. Vandromme Evert Ventilair – Steria
42. Ludvigsson Fredrik Team People4you – Unaas Cycling
43. Maniusis Martynas Doltcini Flanders
44. Tanis Quentin Colba – Superano Ham
45. Claes Frans Crelan-Euphony
46. Trusov Nikolay Cyclingteam De Rijke – Shanks
47. Cornu Dominique Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise
48. Gate Aaron An Post


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,