Result/Report: Bottrill seals RTTC National TT Series


Matt Bottrill wins the final round of the RTTC National Time Trial Series with another course record. Julia Shaw fastest in the womens

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Great Season for Bottrill 4 national titles, 7 National medals and 28 wins

Saturday afternoon saw the final round of the season long RTTC National time trial series took place in the small village of Middleton, Northamptonshire. The senior men covered a distance of 28.7 miles with a course record of 1:01:19, set by multi National champion and Commonwealth Games medalist Stuart Dangerfield of 1:01:19.

The circuit started on the climb of Bringhurst and took in the villages of Medbourne, another steep ascent of Ashly, before the finish in Middleton. With three laps of the technical and very hilly circuit, it was going to be a hard afternoons racing. With warm weather and just a slight wind it would be a perfect time to try and break the record of Dangerfield’s.

The Men’s race got underway with the seeded riders at 2 minute intervals and the early indication that its was a tough circuit was set by former junior competition 25 mile record holder Alexander Royle (Banjo Cycles) 1:04:20.

Then came another youngster Josh Teasdale (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp Rt), third in last months British circuit championship, and after returning from a season racing in the Belgium, Teasdale did not disappoint with a very rapid 1:01:20, just 1 second of the course record!

Next riders on the road were Dean Robson (Somerset RC) and (Scott Walker (Mg Decor/Team Carbon bikes) with Matthew Bottrill ( the last rider to start.

Racing his Giant Trinity SL advanced and aboard his 8.9 smart Enve clincher wheels, Bottrill selected his lowest gear of 44×23, for the starting effort, controlling the power for the ascent of Bringhurst at around 470 watts. Bottrill was soon flying, and setting about the task in hand.

Going through the finishing straight, it was clear he was flying with Walker just 500 meters in front and the catch was made at 9 miles and an opening 10 mile lap of 20:30, it was clear Dangerfield’s record was under threat. Lap 2 and Bottrill, had over taken Robson.

Then a sign from Matt’s helper Peter Lavine, that he was up on Teasdale, it was all about breaking the record now. Adopting his best aero position and hitting the hills hard, Bottrill was slicing through the air and in self destruct mode for the final race of 2013, Bottrill stopped the clock in an incredible 58:29, smashing Dangerfield’s record by breathtaking 2:50!


Asked to sum his ride up Bottrill replied “I’m made up with today’s effort. Once I did the first lap, I knew I was flying , but to break a record by that much, is something really special. I just want to thank everybody that has given me much the season, family, friends and sponsors.

For believing in me and giving me the support, help and guidance it takes to race at this level. A really special thanks goes to Pete Lavine. He’e been to every race with me this year and seen all the up’s and downs through my career. With out him, there’s no way I could achieve what I have”.

Note: Based on a report from Matt who takes the trouble to talk about his races on a regular basis. 



1 Matthew Bottrill 00:58:29
2 Josh Teasdale In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp R T 01:01:20
3 Scott Walker M G Décor / Team Carbon Bikes 01:04:02
4 Jimmy Wright Preston Wheelers 01:04:11
5 Alexander Royle Banjo Cycles 01:04:20
6 Dean Robson Somerset Road Club 01:05:28
7 Adam Fisher St. Ives Cycling Club 01:09:32

Veterans (Actual)
1 Steve Berry Team Swift 00:40:45
2 Geoff Platts M G Décor / Team Carbon Bikes 00:41:54
3 Phil Rayner Welland Valley Cycling Club (A) 00:42:35
4 Ian Dalton Cherry Valley Racing Team 00:42:35
5 Mark Sanders Mid Devon Cycling Club 00:43:32
6 Simon Pitchford Fenland Clarion Cycling Club (A) 00:43:44
7 Nick Green Stratford Cycling Club 00:43:53
8 Michiel Vaal Rockingham Forest Wheelerrs (A) 00:44:44
9 Christopher Storer South Pennine Road Club 00:44:58
10 Rob Brewer Cherry Valley Racing Team 00:45:20
11 Troy Garrity Rockingham Forest Wheelers (A) 00:45:47
12 Peter Anderson Kingston Wheelers Cycling Club 00:45:55
13 Peter Lavine Coalville Wheelers Cycling Club 00:46:04
14 John Francis High Wycombe Cycling Club 00:47:46
15 Graham Green M G Décor / Team Carbon Bikes 00:49:02
16 Jon Clarke Lincoln Wheelers Cycling Club 00:49:43
17 John Woodburn Velo Club Meudon 00:49:46
18 James McKenzie Cycle Club Ashwell 00:49:52
19 Shaun Teasdale In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp R T 00:52:14
20 Trevor Parrish A5 Rangers Cycling Club (A) 00:52:37
21 David Saunders Kings Cliffe Flyers (A) 00:53:55
22 Rob Bennett Ratae Road Club 00:54:35
23 Michael Wood Kettering Cycling Club (A) 00:56:30
24 Bob Brabbins Bishops Stortford Cycling Club 00:58:27
25 Keith Gelder A5 Rangers Cycling Club (A) 00:59:20
26 Anthony Hutton Welland Valley Cycling Club (A) 01:02:10
27 Kevin Smith Rockingham Forest Wheelers (A) 01:03:33

1 Julia Shaw 00:44:02
2 Rebecca Slack Look Mum No Hands 00:45:00
3 Andrea Parish Camel Valley Cycling & Triathlon 00:48:59
4 Linda Hubbard Welland Valley Cycling Club (A) 00:50:53
5 Karen Brooks Lincoln Wheelers Cycling Club 00:52:00
6 Kathy Platts M G Décor / Team Carbon Bikes 00:54:06
7 Gillian Reynolds Willesden Cycling Club 00:54:18
8 Laura Owen M G Décor / Team Carbon Bikes 00:58:57

1 Jake Coward Rapha Condor CC 43:05

1 Colin Lynch Macclesfield Wheelers 00:46:06
2 Rik Waddon PARA T Paracycling Team 00:44:51
3 Craig Green Fenland Clarion Cycling Club 00:46:59
4 Nicholas Fairfield City Road Club (Hull) 00:47:40
5 Ryan Gray Team Battle Back 00:49:08


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,