Report/Photos: GP of Brabant Cyclo-Cross


Saturday saw the start of the first ever GP of Brabant C2 cyclo-cross race in Den Bosch, Netherlands with Helen Wyman & Nikki Harris Racing

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

From Thomas van Bracht


For a new race of this class, the start list was very impressive, with both world champions: Marianne Vos and Sven Nys participating. The race venue was held at a 17th century fort making for some interesting cyclo-cross terrain. The course was not too difficult with only a few barriers making for some pretty fast racing.

The elite women’s race started off with a minute of silence to honour American cyclist Amy Dombroski who sadly passed away in a traffic accident in Belgium last week. After the first few laps, Marianne Vos attacked and rode away from the main bunch, gaining an incredible lead in the race.

Women’s Race

Behind her, a small group of four riders (Sabrina Stultiens, Nikki Harris, Helen Wyman and Sophie de Boer) formed trying to reduce the lead of Vos and distance their rivals. Marianne Vos proved to be to strong and won with a massive lead. UK European champion Helen Wyman and Dutch Sabrina Stultiens sprinted for second, with Stultiens winning by mere centimetres. British champion Nikki Harris finished 4th.

In the mens race, World Champ Sven Nys was racing against Kevin Pauwels, Tom Meeusen, Rob Peeters and Lars van der Haar among others. Most of the bunch stayed together for the first half of the race until Sven Nys accelerated. Only Phillipp Walslaben, Bart Aernouts and Meeusen were able to follow.

a few laps later Van der Haar and Pauwels managed to join them. The six leaders had to sprint for the victory and Meeusen was the fastest. Nys finished second and Dutch Champion Van der Haar got in third.

Men’s Race Photos

1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank Women Team
2 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Brainwash wielerploeg
3 Helen Wyman (GBr)
4 Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
5 Sophie De Boer (Ned) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
6 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) DNCS/PRO 2012 Cycling Team
7 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
8 Annefleur Kalvenhaar (Ned)
9 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Rabobank Women Team
10 Lana Verberne (Ned) RTC Buitenlust
11 Yara Kastelijn (Ned)
12 Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
13 Esmee Oosterman (Ned)
14 Monique Van De Ree (Ned)
15 Jamie Bierens (Ned)
16 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)
17 Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned)
18 Kim Banga (Ned) WV Zeeuws Vlaanderen
19 Evy Kuijpers (Ned)
20 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Cycling Team Vermeeren

1 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
2 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team
3 Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Rabo – Giant Offroad Team.
4 Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink/ Pro
5 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team
6 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP – Powerplus Cycling Team
7 Corné Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
8 Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Rabo – Giant Offroad Team.
9 Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti
10 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Rabo – Giant Offroad Team.
11 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
12 Eddy Van IJzendoorn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
13 Micki van Empel (Ned) KDL-Crelan Cycling Team
14 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink/ Pro
15 Stan Godrie (Ned) Rabo – Giant Offroad Team.
16 Niels Wubben (Ned) Rabo – Giant Offroad Team.
17 Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
18 Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
19 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
20 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team
21 Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
22 Koen Weijers (Ned)
23 Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
24 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike
25 Mitchell Huenders (Ned) Cycling Team Jo Piels
26 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team
27 Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Rabo – Giant Offroad Team.
28 Jordy Luisman (Ned)
29 Kevin Cant (Bel) Primator Cycling Team
30 Richard Jansen (Ned) Enertherm – BKCP
31 Tim Ariesen (Ned)
32 Harm Van Der Sanden (Ned)
33 Robbie Van Bakel (Ned) WV Schijndel
34 Rik Van IJzendoorn (Ned)
35 Kenneth Hansen (Den)
36 Christoph Ambroziak (Ger)
37 Bjorn Van Der Heijden (Ned)
38 Gosse Van Der Meer (Ned)
39 Sven Kuschla (Ger)
40 Niels Luisman (Ned)
41 Peter Woestenberg (Ned)
42 Dennis Eikelenboom (Ned)
43 Atse Ten Brinke (Ned)
44 Daan Schouten (Ned)
45 Kees Van Noppen (Ned)
46 Sem Huitema (Ned)
47 Mats Lammertink (Ned)
48 Raymond Van De Kruisweg (Ned)
49 Joep Van Gennip (Ned)
50 Jeroen Vegter (Ned)
51 Ruurd-Jan Zwarts (Ned)



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,