Results/Report: Apres Last Blast 2


Jon Puleston, Rob Brice and Ian Robins winners at the Apres Last Blast 2 at Preston Park in Brighton on Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Category 2/3/4 – Robins Smashes and Grabs!

Skirmishes from the off made for entertaining viewing before a decisive break from guess who – the ever fresh and aggressive Graeme Crow. This was the signal for Jonathan Harris to get across with Brighton Mitre’s Ian Robins hot on his wheels.

Robins looking increasingly strong, proved he also has a maturing race head on his broad shoulders by making sure he was in this weeks decisive break. Sharing the workload with the other two – lapping the peloton and then finishing the job in style, leading out from 200 and pulling clear by 5 lengths… bravo sir.

3rd Cats
3rdzzzz – not today! An early break from Rob Brice looked ill timed after dangling out on his own – waiting for someone to get across but the usual pack mentality prevailed taking it in turns to eek him back. Then Brian Hennessey took it on showing he can attack rather than counter with another lone 10 minute dig before being pulled back.

The sprinters lined up but Neons John Paul pulled the trigger with two to go with his battery running out before the second coming of Rob Brice taking it on from 300 and making it stick to the finish…..nice. Well done to Brian who played to his strengths today taking it on and earning his second Cat. later in the day.

Vets & Masters
Cold, wet, windy ahh British racing … some were in their second race of the day ( hats how you get fit) and one won – with only three digs not the usual 15 – Mr On /Off Switch Graeme Crow taking it from Redhills Sean Mcauliffe and Brian Hennessey. Tom Portsmouth took the sprint from tough as nails Caitlin Peters who hung on to second from Portsmouths Waren Giles.

A family Affair saw sisters Ella and Kerys Baker ride the upsurge of girls cycling in a first – second tussle.


1.Ella Baker Team Darenth
2.Kerys Baker Team Darenth
1.Tom Portsmouth Charlotteville
2.Caitlyn Peters Fareham Wheelers CC
3.Waren Giles Portsmouth Northend
4.James Trim Chelmer CC

1.Jon Puleston Jones Dulwich Paragon
2.James Bower PM
3.Matt Bulmer Dulwich Paragon
4.Richard Giles PM
5.Paul Humphries Dulwich Paragon
6.Richard Jones Abelliio SFA Racing
7.Simon Dowling Brighton Mitre
8.Stuart Lynn Dulwich Paragon
9.Ian Portsmouth Charlotteville CC
10.Adam Thomas Blazing Saddles Cycles
11.Graeme Watson Army Cycling Union
12.Jake Hill Team PCC
13.Tim Johnston SFA Racing
14.Aiman Somouidi Peckham CC
DNF Geoff Eyre Walker VC Jubilee
DNF Susan Freeburn WindyMilla
DNF Denis Keene Army Cycling Union

1.Rob Brice In-Gear
2.Oliver Jedrej Dulwich Paragon
3.Sam Daies Abergavenny RC
4.Harry Loader MDCC
5.Jed Williamson Brighton Mitre
6.Shaun Williamson Abelliio SFA Racing
7.Morgan Lewis Brighton Mitre
8.Adam Daniel Dulwich
9.Trevor Deeble Hastings & St Leonards
10.Brian Hennessey Redhill CC
11.Paul Giles PNESS
12.John Shillingford PM
13.Sebastion Finch VO2 Cycling
14.Alan Lester In-Gear

15.Jonty Tacon Brighton Mitre
16.Daniel Fagg Brighton Mitre
17.John-Paul Brophy Neon-Velo

1.Ian Robins Brighton Mitre
2.Graeme Crow Twickenham CC
3.Jonahan Harris GS Avanti
4.Matt Bone I-Team CC
5.Frank Kilsby Hargroves CC
6.Jonahan Maher Dulwich
7.Andrew Carter PNECC
8.Scot Bullivant Rock& Road Cycles
9.Harry Loader MDCC
10.Ian Leeding Norwood Paragon
11.Paul Butler In-Gear
12.SAm Davies Abergavenny RC
DNF Sebastion Finch VO2 Cycling

Vets/Masters C Plus
1.Graeme Crow Twickenham CC
2.Sean Mcauliffe Redhill CC
3.Brian Hennessey Redhill CC
4.Adam Thomas Blazing Saddles Cycles
5.Ian Leeding Norwood Paragon
DNF Luke Farren Brighton Mitre



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,