Report/Results: Day 3 of Scottish track Championships


The third day of the Scottish Cycling National Track Championships was action packed filled with Team Sprints, Points races and Omnium’s.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

First up to the line were the Women’s Team Sprint competitors. After a first round of qualifying Time Trails, team mates Alison Chisholm and Eleanor Richardson (Edinburgh RC) lead the way with a time of 36.590, with City of Edinburgh RC’s Jennifer Davis and Emma Baird in second clocking a time of 36.64, meaning they would go head to head for gold. Unfortunately Team Thomson’s Cycles, Lyndsey Carson and Sarah Mitchell were disqualified in the qualification Time Trial, meaning that The Racers and Walkers Cycling Club would battle it out for bronze.

In the men’s qualification Time Trial City of Edinburgh RC trio Callum Skinner, John Paul and Bruce Croall clocked a time of 46.131 putting them in the gold medal race with Glasgow Life Track Cycling Team members Kenny Ayre, Jonathan Biggin and Delhi Commonwealth Games athlete Chris Pritchard.

With just five hundredths of a second between the two teams vying for the women’s gold medal in the qualifying Time Trial you could feel the tension building in the air. City of Edinburgh got off to a bad start with Davis having a mechanical problem prompting a restart. From the outset it was a close race, 40 year old World Master’s 500m Time Trial Champion Alison Chisholm lead out yesterday’s Scottish 500m TT Champion Eleanor Richardson whilst Baird took man one position ahead of Jenny Davis in man two. Finally, after a nail biting finish, the pair from Edinburgh RC took the win ahead of double Scottish Champion Baird and team mate Davis with a time of 35.84. The bronze medal went to Lulu Bartlett and Rebecca Dornan of The Racers.

Speaking after the race double Scottish Champion Eleanor Richardson said: “I am really happy to be standing on the podium with Ali as she has really supported me throughout this year, it was a really hard ride after the last three days of racing but I am so glad we got the win.”

In the Final of the Men’s Team Sprint, after a tough weekend of racing, we saw City of Edinburgh RC take a comfortable win ahead of Glasgow Life Cycling Team leaving them to settle of Silver, with Skinner, Paul and Croall clocking a time of 46.131. Jamie Alexander, Graeme McBride and Jonathan Mitchell – the B team of Glasgow Life Cycling Team claimed the bronze medal.

Speaking to Scottish Cycling Commonwealth Games hopeful John Paul said: “We have been riding together since around 2008 but didn’t manage to train together before today’s race, so we are delighted to win a championship title. It was a great way to finish off a solid weekend of racing.”

The cycling stars of the future also took to the track today in the Youth C Boys Omnium where Discovery Junior CC rider Alfred George took the victory ahead of Jack Cruden (Glasgow Riderz) and Oran McConville (East Kilbride Road Club). In the Youth C Girls Omnium Abby Stewart (Glasgow Riderz) took the championship title just ahead of team mate Anna Shackley. In the Youth B Boys Omnuim it was a clean sweep for the Glasgow Riderz, Lewis Stewart taking gold, Alex MacRae taking silver and Innes Johnston taking bronze. With Rhona Callander (Stirling Bike Club) taking the Youth B Girls title.

In the Junior Women’s 500m TT 18 year old Kate Mccullough Young (City of Edinburgh RC) denied Flora Gillies (Team ASL360) the championship title with a winning time of 40.051. Louise Borthwick (Edinburgh RC) took the bronze medal.

It was all go in the Points Races with Youth A Boy Rhys Donnelly (Glasgow Riderz) and Youth A Girl Emma Borthwick (Edinburgh RC) claiming gold. Mark Stewart took yet another gold by claiming the Junior Men’s title and Emma Borthwick took the Junior Women’s Scottish Championship title.

The fourth and final day of the Scottish Cycling National Track Championships will take place on Sunday 27th October, again at the Sir Chris Hoy velodrome. This will see our Endurance riders take to the track to compete in the Kilo, 2km Pursuit, 3k Pursuit and 4k Pursuit.

Tickets are still available for what promises to be a fun filled, action packed event.

Junior Women’s 500 m TT
1. Kate Mccullough Young, City of Edinburgh RC
2. Flora Gillies, Team ASL360
3. Louise Borthwick, Edinburgh RC

Women Team Sprint
1. Alison Chisholm & Eleanor Richardson, Edinburgh RC
2. Emma Baird & Jennifer Davis, City of Edinburgh RC
3. Lulu Bartlett & Rebecca Dornan, The Racers

Men’s Team Sprint
1. Bruce Croall, John Paul & Callum Skinner, City of Edinburgh RC
2. Kenny Ayre, Jonathan Biggins & Chris Pritchard, Glasgow Life Track Cycling Team
3. Jamie Alexander, Graeme McBride & Jonathan Mitchell, Glasgow Life Track Cycling Team

Youth A Boys PR
1. Rhys Donnelly, Glasgow Riderz
2. Andy Brown, Stirling Bike Club
3. Lewis Mulholland, Johnstone Wheelers CC

Youth A Girls PR
1. Emma Borthwick, Edinburgh RC
2. Hannah McDade
3. Rosa Martin, Ribble Valley Juniors

Junior Women PR
1. Louise Borthwick, Edinburgh RC

Junior Men PR
1. Mark Stewart, Team ASL 360
2. Tom Arnstein, Team ASL 360
3. Finn Harrod, Discovery Junior CC

Youth C Girls Omnium
1. Abby Stewart, Glasgow Riderz
2. Anna Shackley, Glasgow Riderz
1. Eva Barnet, Edinburgh RC

Youth C Boys Omnium
1. Alfred George, Discovery Junior CC
2. Jack Cruden, Glasgow Riderz
3. Oran McConville, East Kilbride Road Club

Youth B Girls Omnium
1. Rhona Callander, Stirling Bike Club
2. Ellie Park, Glasgow Riderz
3. Amber King, Perth Untied CC

Youth B Boys Omnium
1. Lewis Stewart, Glasgow Riderz
2. Alexander MacRae, Glasgow Riderz
3. Innes Johnston, Glasgow Riderz

The final day of the Scottish National Track Championships will take place on 27th October at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, Glasgow. Tickets: Sunday 27th, £10/£3 concession.



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,