Team News: Netapp-Endura signs Top Irish rider Sam Bennett


German/Scottish team Netapp-Endura will look to their squad from 2013 to continue their succesfull run in 2014 with help from new signings Sam Bennett and Tiago Machado

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

After a very successful year with 24 podium spots, including a Grand Tour stage win, Team NetApp – Endura will make only a few changes in its squad. “We’re betting on continuity” says Ralph Denk, Team NetApp – Endura’s team manager.


Scott Thwaites, part of Netapp-Endura in 2014.

“We had a very successful season in 2013 and we demonstrated our team’s current level of performance most recently at the Vuelta a España. In order to take it to the next level, we can continue working with our top performers – which will prove to be a great advantage for us next year”, says Ralph Denk, Team NetApp – Endura’s team manager.

Thus far, two new riders have been recruited: experienced Portuguese rider Tiago Machado and Irish sprinting talent Sam Bennett. Ralph Denk: “Sam is among the best up-and-coming sprinters in Europe. He proved that in impressive style at the Tour of Britain. He will be a valuable addition to our squad of young sprinters. Tiago is an experienced tour specialist, and we signed him on specifically for the general classification at shorter stage races. In addition, with his climbing skills, he will provide added support for Leo Koenig at the bigger tours.”

NetApp – Endura is keeping the option open of signing on additional riders in the coming weeks. “A lot is happening in the riders market, and there are some exciting options. So we’re still in talks, and we’ll review whether or not to strengthen our team further. But all that is taking place without any pressure because our core team is all set for 2014″, Ralph Denk adds.

The squad for the 2014 season (as of 15 October 2013)
Jan Barta (CZE/28), Cesare Benedetti (ITA/26), Sam Bennett (IRL/22), Iker Camaño (ESP/34), David de la Cruz (ESP/24), Zakkari Dempster (AUS/26), Bartosz Huzarski (POL/32), Blaz Jarc (SLO/25), Leopold König (CZE/25), Tiago Machado (POR/27), Ralf Matzka (GER/24), Jonathan McEvoy (GBR/24), Jose Mendes (POR/28), Erick Rowsell (GBR/23), Andreas Schillinger (GER/30), Daniel Schorn (AUT/24), Michael Schwarzmann (GER/22), Scott Thwaites (GBR/23), Paul Voss (GER/27)


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK