Amsterdam Six Day: Ligthart in pole-position for Amsterdam repeat


Last year’s winner Pim Ligthart went to work during the fourth day of Amsterdam Six Day this evening and finished the night leading the event

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

By finishing second in the final Madison the Dutchman, winner of last year’s event and his German partner Marcel Kalz claimed the overall lead. The duo holds a one-lap advantage over the rest of the field.

“The last couple of days we kept coming closer and closer,” said Ligthart. “Now we finally have the lead and that’s a good position to be in. We still have plenty of work to do, though. The Belgians are still a threat. They nearly have 200 points and can easily pass us with the corresponding bonus lap.”

The Belgians
Ligthart referred to Kenny De Ketele and Gijs Van Hoecke, who have 188 points in their bag. Ligthart and Kalz have only 134. Jens Mouris and Wim Stroetinga won in the final Madison. In the final fifteen minutes, the Dutch duo took control by taking a lap on the others. After that, they controlled and Stroetinga finished the trick by outsprinting Kalz.

The favourites decided to save their powers during the first Madison of the evening. It gave Nolan Hoffmann and Wesley Kreder the opportunity to take the kisses and the flowers. The South African-Dutch duo escaped with Czechs Jiri Hochmann and Vojtech Hacecky and topped them in the sprint.

Keirin & Sprint Masters
Hugo Haak had a bad day in the Keirin Masters – a separate part of the sprint tournament. Thanks to finishing sixth and last, the Dutchman lost his lead to Teun Mulder. Mulder now has a three-point lead over Hague, who still sits second overall. The win, however, went to Jeffrey Hoogland. The fight for the Sprint Masters title is still very much open. Nils van ‘t Hoenderdaal won the sprint and moved into the lead with Matthijs Büchli.

General classification after day 4:

Pl Nr Teams Rnd Pnt
1 1 Ligthart Pim – Kalz Marcel 0 134
2 4 De Ketele Kenny – Van Hoeke Gijs 1 188
3 5 Sțpler Nick РHavik Yoeri 1 170
4 6 Lampater Leif – Kreder Raymond 1 168
5 3 Mouris Jens – Stroetinga Wim 1 148
6 8 Marguet Tristan – Hester Marc 2 145
7 7 Markus Barry – Bartko Robert 4 24
8 12 Hochmann Jiri – Hacecky Vojtech 7 107
9 10 Kreder Wesley – Hoffmann Nolan 8 61
10 9 Boskamp Melvin – Asselman Jesper 9 80
11 2 Gate Aaron – Roberts, Luke 11 54
12 13 Caspers Didier – Van Zijl Melvin 14 21
13 11 East Guy – Holloway Daniel 19 20


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,