Amsterdam Six-Day: Mouris – Stroetinga Lead


With one night to go, Jens Mouris & Wim Stroetinga lead the Amsterdam Six-Day by just four points plus a lap

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

See the final night live here on VeloUK – click here

The final day of the 21st Amsterdam Six-Day promises to be extremely exciting. As many as five couples still have a shot at the overall victory. Jens Mouris and Wim Stroetinga are in the best position. They have 208 points and a one/lap advantage over Kenny De Ketele and Gijs Van Hoecke (212 points).

Mouris and Stroetinga were in control during the second Madison of the night. The pair quickly took a lap and was then able to control. In particular, De Ketele and Van Hoecke placed some vicious attacks, but the two Dutchman managed to dismantle every move.

“After we took that lap, we were in control,” said Mouris. Stroetinga knows taking the overall win will be hard. “It’s going to be exciting. Regarding points, the other teams are pretty close.”

No risks
During the first Madison of the night the favourites didn’t take any risks. They kept their powder dry. Melvin Boskamp and Jesper Asselman benefited. Along with Aaron Gate and Luke Roberts, the two young Dutchmen claimed a lap. During the nine intermediate sprints, Boskamp and Asselman collected more points than their two opponents from Down Under and thus won.

Mulder on the right track
Matthijs Büchli triumphed in today’s Keirin. Teun Mulder, however, is in the best position. Thanks to his second place the Dutchman just needs to finish third during the final event to secure the overall victory in the Keirin Masters.

The Sprint Masters battle is wide open. Hugo Haak claimed the victory in the sprint final and rose from the fourth to the first position. He shares the lead with Büchli, who also has 14 points. With a total amount of 16, Jeffrey Hoogland and Nils van ‘t Hoenderdaal also have a chance for the overall win.

General classification after day 5:
1 Mouris Jens – Stroetinga Wim 0 208
2 De Ketele Kenny – Van Hoeke Gijs 1 212
3 Sțpler Nick РHavik Yoeri 1 203
4 Ligthart Pim – Kalz Marcel 1 179
5 Lampater Leif – Kreder Raymond 2 193
6 Marguet Tristan – Hester Marc 4 167
7 Markus Barry – Bartko Robert 6 36
8 Hochmann Jiri – Hacecky Vojtech 9 131
9 Boskamp Melvin – Asselman Jesper 9 110
10 Kreder Wesley – Hoffmann Nolan 11 83
11 Gate Aaron – Roberts, Luke 13 75
12 Caspers Didier – Van Zijl Melvin 17 22
13 East Guy – Holloway Daniel 22 31


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,