Report/Results: Imperial Winter Series 2013/2014


Jake Martin attacks early and laps the field before going clear again to win solo and repeat his win of the previous week in the third round of the Imperial Winter Series at Hillingdon.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Race 3 Saturday 21st December 2013

After the relative calm weather over the last 2 weeks Saturday was a return to typical Winter series conditions – rain and a strong head wind up the finishing straight. If your race strategy involved hanging in the group then you were probably going to be found out!

The 4th cats resolved to ride well again and their race was mostly attritional with a few early hard laps thinning out the field with the wind doing the rest. Imperial’s Richard Llewellyn looked strong but it was going to be near impossible to break away with any effect. The sprint was well fought out with the win taken by Tim Lynch (Velo Club Dulwich College) with Tim O’Rourke (Twickenham CC) and Richard Llewellyn (Imperial Racing Team) in third.

James Spackman (London Dynamo) wins the Imperial Cycles random prize (28th place) and can look forward to his bike seeing in the New Year in fine fettle!

It seemed unlikely that Jake Martin (Pedal Heaven RT) could repeat his win of the previous weekend and certainly not in the same fashion. However, this he did with a show of power that decimated the field in the first few laps, going on to lap everyone including the strong group of riders who had persisted and eased away from the peloton.

This latter break was initiated by a returning Alexander King (GPM10 Cycling) and gradually formed into a group including Phil Holloway (Southend Wheelers), series contender Vince Halpern (Handsling Racing), Josh Jones (Cambridge Uni CC), Stuart Hayes (Imperial Racing Team) and Lawrence Carpenter (Catford Equipe Banks). Whilst Martin steadily pulled away this group cemented their lead with only Carpenter able to break away in the remaining laps to finish on his own in a solid 2nd place.

Halpern won from the group to take 3rd by a hair from King and gain some good points overall with Jerzy Kuzminski (High Wycombe) in 5th. The top three places in the 3rds all came from this group with Ralph De Kanter (Norwood Paragon) taking maximum points and 6th overall closely followed by James Bradley (Twickenham CC) and another 3rd for Imperial Racing Team with Stuart Hayes thoroughly enjoying a race that he could compete in.

Merry Christmas from the Imperial team.

Next race Saturday 28th December
then Wednesday 1st January [New Years Day]
Full race programme and information at

E 1 2 cat race
Place No. Club Cat Series points
1st Jake Martin Pedal Heaven RT E 200
2nd Lawrence Carpenter Catford Equipe Banks 1 190
3rd Vincent Halpern Handsling racing 1 180
4th Alexander King GPM10 Cycling 2 170
5th Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe 2 160
6th Josh Jones Cambridge University CC 2 130
7th Phil Holloway southend wheelers 2 110
8th Lee Desborough St Ives CC 2 100
9th Jamie Caldwell Starley-Primal E 90
10th Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 2 80
11th Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC 2 70
12th Declan Higgins VC St Raphael 2 60
13th Jacob Nicholson Medway Velo 2
14th Tyler Lemmon Medway Velo 2

3rd cat race
Place No. Club Cat Series points
1st Ralph de Kanter Norwood Paragon CC 3 150
2nd James Bradley Twickenham CC 3 140
3rd Stuart Hayes Imperial Racing Team 3 120
4th Jordan Mooney Welwyn Wheelers 3 50
5th Ewan Tuohy Catford CC Equipe Banks 3 40
6th Laurence Manning Thames Velo 3 30
7th Tom Sefton Palmer Park Velo RT A+disp 20
8th Duncan Rimmer Morden CRC 3 10
9th ralph keeler Cambridge CC 3
10th Chris Yates East Grinstead CC 3
11th Neil J Fraser Stevenage cc 3
12th James Archibald GS Henley 3
13th Robin Basford Wyndymilla 3
14th Dan Moseley Prestige Velo Club 3
15th Sebastian Kroll Stevenage CC 3
16th alvaro alves da cunha Unattached 3
17th Mario Manelfi Blazing Saddles 3
18th Sean Sumner St Ives CC 3
19th James Leach Imperial Racing Team 3
20th Neil Heffernan Inverse – Cycling Components RT 3
21st Damien Lodge Vedett Racing Team 3

4th cat race
Place No. Club Cat
1st Tim Lynch Velo Club Dulwich College 4
2nd Tim O’Rourke Twickenham CC 4
3rd Richard Llewellyn Imperial Racing Team 4
4th Robert Seeley Brixton CC 4
5th Andy Taylor London Dynamo 4
6th Henry Charrington London Dynamo 4
7th Robin Mould Velosport CC 4
8th Adam Thompson Reading CC 4
9th Steve Morgan Twickenham CC 4
10th Chris Tomsett Southampton University RC 4
11th Nick Davis Kingston Whls CC 4
12th Jon Saunders Charlotteville CC 4
13th Ben Skelton London Dynamo 4
14th Daren Austin Twickenham CC 4
15th Roy Wouters London Dynamo 4
16th Jesse Baines Unattached 4
17th Hisayo Kaneko Boom Cycle CC 4
18th John Bull London Dynamo 4
19th Clark Anderson Thames Velo 4
20th Ewan Evans Dorking CC 4
21st Tim Childs Westerley CC 4
22nd Roland Fejfar London Dynamo 4
23rd Akis Kollaros London Dynamo 4
24th Robert Mosley Thames Velo 4
25th Harry Bunnell Kingston Wheelers 4
26th Andy Brown Thames Velo 4
27th Samuel Andrew Kingston Whls CC 4
28th James Spackman London Dynamo 4
29th Christophe De Belder VC10 4
30th Robert Abbey Hemel Hempstead CC 4
31st Mark Stock Farnborough & Camberley CC 4
31st Jorge Alberzoni London Dynamo 4
31st Harriet Hollis Unattached 4w
31st Andrew Goulding Hounslow & District Wlrs 4
31st Darrelle Parker Boom Cycle CC 4
31st Arnav Kapur VCDC 4
31st Tom Herbert Kingston Wheelers 4
31st Max Sahota Newmarket cycling & triathlon club 4
31st Huw Dymond Reading. CC 4

Overall Series Points
1st Vincent Halpern Handsling racing 520
2nd Jake Martin Pedal Heaven RT 400
3rd Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 380
4th Josh Jones Cambridge University CC 320
5th James Norris High Wycombe CC 310
6th Sam Humpheson Look mum no hands! 300
7th Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe 270
8th Phil Holloway southend wheelers 240
9th Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven RT 210
10th Ben Sumner Beeline Bikes RT 200
11th Lawrence Carpenter Catford Equipe Banks 190
12th Dominic Clegg Redhill CC 180
13th Alexander King GPM10 Cycling 170
14th Ralph de Kanter Norwood Paragon CC 150
14th Joshua Mitchell Bicester Millenium 150
14th Adam Capes Finchley Racing Team 150
17th Tyler Lemmon Medway Velo 140
17th James Bradley Twickenham CC 140
19th Simon Barnes London Dynamo 130
20th James Freeman Dulwich Paragon CC 130




Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,