Report: National Derny Championships


Katie Archibald & James Holland-Leader crowned National Derny Champions in a thrilling finale to the 2013 season at Newport Velodrome on Sunday night

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Paul Gittings

Archibald added to her growing reputation with a commanding ride in the 15k women’s race, paced to the front by Ian Smith and was never seriously challenged. Behind Archibald, there was a battle-royale for second place between defending champion Hannah Walker, paced by George Gilbert, and multi world masters champion Janet Birkmyre with Graham Bristow.

Walker had been suffering from a virus in the build-up and could not find the legs to come around Birkmyre, who rode clear for a superb and deserved second place. Behind them, Niki Dukes Kovacs in her first race at this level, mixed it early on with the big guns in the 60-lapper and rode to a fine fourth place with Tony Hibbert.

Archibald’s winning time of 16 minutes 42 seconds reflected her stellar form at the moment and she joins an illustrious group of former winners, who include fellow GB team pursuit stars Laura Trott and Dani King, as well as Victoria Pendleton. King, who raced in the supporting programme, was on hand to present the trophy to Archibald, named in honour of John Dennis, who died earlier this year, but did so much to promote derny racing in the UK.

The men’s race, for the Ron Pugsley trophy, developed into a three-way battle between Holland-Leader (Prestige VC), Symon Lewis and Phil Trodden, who had made the long journey south from Scotland with pacer Davie Urquhart.

Lewis (Nuun Sigma Sport London) spent much of the 120 laps at the front with pacer Gilbert with Holland-Leader and Graham Bristow tracking them and Trodden in close attendance. With a dozen laps to go, Holland-Leader made his move, coming around Lewis and surging clear. Trodden could also not respond. He crossed the line a lap up to claim the title for the first time with Lewis and Trodden making up the rest of the podium.

Oliver Hitchings combined with Simon Layfield to finish best of the rest in a fast race in indoor conditions at Newport, the winning time 31 minutes 36 seconds.
The event, promoted by, also featured a string of top class supporting races with King and Jon Mould (Team USN) stretching their legs to good effect ahead of the 2014 season.

King won the women’s scratch and points races, but had to give second best to Archibald in the Keirin final, the Scot showing remarkable powers of recovery after her derny effort and also mixing it with the men in the open points race.

Mould won both men’s scratch races, but was pushed all the way by youngster Tristan Robbins (BH-Solidor-Wamyouth) in the 20-lapper. Robbins won the opening scratch in his group and his points race.

Mould was denied a hat-trick in the men’s keirin final, with the judges awarding the verdict to Max Nethell (County Cycles Racing) in a very tight finish. Walker rounded off the evening by edging outAbbie Dentus in the final event, a 20-lap scratch.

Women’s National Derny Championships – Time 16 minutes 42 seconds
(for the John Dennis Memorial Trophy)
1st: Katie Archibald (Team Thomsons Cycles) – Pacer Ian Smith
2nd Janet Birkmyre (TORQ Performance) – Graham Bristow
3rd: Hannah Walker (Matrix Fitness Racing Academy) – George Gilbert
4th: Niki Dukes-Kovacs (Brixton Cycles) – Tony Hibbert
5th: Adel Tyson-Bloor (Mule Bar Girls/Sigma Sport – Doug Pinkerton
6th: Caroline Harding (VC St Raphael) – Tim Read
7th: Eleanor Jones (VC St Raphael) – Simon Layfield

Men’s National Derny Championships – Time 31 minutes 36 seconds
(For the Ron Pugsley Memorial Trophy)
1st: James Holland-Leader (VC Prestige) – Graham Bristow
2nd Symon Lewis (Nuun YB London) – George Gilbert
3rd: Phil Trodden (City of Edinburgh) – Davie Urquhart
4th: Oliver Hitchings (Peter Hansford Racing – (Simon Layfield)
5th: Jason Streather (VC St Raphael) – Ian Smith
6th: Martyn Harris (Banjo Cycles) – Tony Hibbert
Neil Fraser (Stevenage CC) David Jack (private member)

Open Scratch Race (Group A) – 12 laps
1st: Tristan Robbins (BH-Solidar Wamyouth)
2nd: Stephen Bradbury (Cycling Team Tomacc
3rd: Harrison Fielding (Peter Hansford Racing)
4th: Tony Lock (Nuun Sigma Sport – London)
5th: Robert Stephen (Vicious Velo)
6th: Jason Burrill (Bourne Wheelers)

Open Scratch (Group B) – 12 laps
1st: Jon Mould (Team USN)
2nd: Neil Rutter (Cotswold Veldrijen)
3rd: James Lewis (NFTO)
4th Dani King (Wiggle Honda)
5th: Katie Archibald (Team Thomsons Cycles)
6th: Luke Smith (Bristol South CC)

Women’s Scratch Race (Group A) – 12 laps
1st: Dani King (Wiggle Honda)
2nd Abbie Dentus (Team De Ver)
3rd: Katie Curtis (Cardiff Jif)
4th: Laura Cheeseman (Prestige Velo)
5th: Sasha Quarrington (Zappi Ladies Team)
6th: Hannah Walker (Matrix Fitness Racing Academy)

Men’s Keirin Heat One (First two into final)
1st: Harrison Fielding (Peter Hansford Racing)
2nd: Joshua Mitchell (Bicester Millennium)
3rd: James Lewis (NFTO)

Men’s Keirin Heat Two
1st: Tristan Robbins
2nd: Jon Mould
3rd: Jason Burrill

Men’s Keirin Heat Three
1st: Max Nethell (County Cycles Racing)
2nd Neil Rutter

Men’s Keirin Final
1st: Max Nethell
2nd: Jon Mould
3rd: Neil Rutter

Women’s Keirin Semifinal (First three into final)
1st: Abbie Dentus
2nd Hannah Walker
3rd: Sian Botteley (Squadra Donne)

Women’s Keirin Semifinal (First three into final)
1st: Katie Archibald (Team Thomsons Cycles)
2nd: Dani King (Wiggle Honda)
3rd: Katie Curtis

Women’s Keirin Final
1st: Katie Archibald
2nd Dani King
3rd: Katie Curtis

Open Point Race (Group A) – 16 laps
1st: Tristan Robbins
2nd: Stephen Bradbury
3rd: Mark Stephens (Banjo Cycles)
4th: Harrison Fielding
5th: Tony Lock
6th: Jason Burrill

Open Point’s Race (Group B) – 16 laps
1st: Phil Trodden
2nd: James Lewis
3rd: Katie Archibald
4th: Jon Mould
5th: Matt Rowe (NFTO)
6th: Nigel Stephen (Finchley RT)

Women’s Points Race – 16 laps
1st: Dani King
2nd: Katie Curtis
3rd: Abbie Dentus
4th Hannah Walker
5th: Keira McVitty (Brixton Cycles)
6th: Laura Cheeseman

Open Scratch – 20 laps
1st: Jon Mould
2nd: Tristan Robbins
3rd: Neil Rutter
4th: Stephen Bradbury
5th: Harrison Fielding

Women’s Scratch
1st: Hannah Walker
2nd:Abbie Dentus
3rd: Dani King
4th: Keira McVitty
5th: Elanor Cadzow (Bonita Squadra Corse)


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,