Results ELV Winter Series (11th Jan)


Jason Fitchew and Gunther Zechmann  winners at the East London velo winter series race on January 11

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Graham Galvin

A big field of over 40 4th category riders lined up for the first senior race of the year at Redbridge Cycle Circuit, the East London Velo Winter Series. A bright sunny day was balanced out by a stiff, cold breeze blowing riders in the face as they scaled the Hoggenberg on each lap.

The conditions soon told with the selections being made from the back on each lap, thinning the field significantly as the hour long race progressed.  In the end just 10 riders remained in what was left of the bunch, neatly divvying up the points between them.  Cleverly, Jason Fitchew (Ford CC) took a chance and jumped early forging a gap at the foot of the Hoggenberg as other riders hesitated. Straining every sinew, Jason held off a fast closing bunch with Chris Thomas winning the kick from Pete Dyson (both unattached).

4ths (45 minutes + 5 laps)
1 Jason Fitchew  Ford CC
2 Chris Thomas  Private Member
3 Pete Dyson  Private Member
4 Andrew Holmes VC Revolution
5 Christopher Hezelgrave   CC Hackney
6 Jamie Batten  De Laune
7 Rob Milton  Hackney GT
8 Tom Haines  ELV
9 Francis Fox   London Dynamo
10 John Bull  London Dynamo
11 Mitchell Blain  London Dynamo
12 Laurence King  Welwyn Wheelers
13 K Willers Run & Ride
14 Tony Collins  Athlong Sport
15 D Ross  Team Fig
16 C Ross  Team Fig
17 Graham Rudd Day Licence
18 Chris Gore   Beckenham Rugby Cyclists
19 John Sellars  Private Member
20 Arnav Kapur  Dulwich Paragon
21 William Brassington  Dulwich Paragon
22 Peter Dalton  london Dynamo

2/3 Race
An even larger field of 52 riders were at the start line for the higher category race which featured a number of attacks. The first serious break featured Roger Maidment (East London Velo), Johnnie Blackman (BRC) and Gunther Zechmann (London Phoenix) – the latter having punctured and had rejoined but with Junior gears.  Blackman dropped back, leaving the other two to forge on, keeping an advantage for a number of laps until succumbing to the chasing pack.

Almost immediately Wayne Crombie and Sam Humpheson forced the pace up the Hoggenberg, detaching themselves but being re absorbed after a lap or so. Will Haytor (London Dynamo) was the next to chance his arm, gaining an advantage on the bunch with the irrepressible Gunther Zachmann twiddling across the gap. These two soon formed a solid pact, with a lead of over 30 seconds at the bunch at one point.

With three to go a couple of riders didn’t want to wait for the sprint, with only Joel Natale (Dulwich Paragon) managing to fully escape the clutches of the Peleton. Meanwhile, Zachmann confirmed his status as strongest rider in the race, putting a dig in as the bell rang and detaching Haytor.

Rounding the final corner up to the finish it was the lone figure of Zachmann who took the chequered flag, with Natale powering past the fading Haytor just in sight of the line as he held on to third with a rampant bunch snapping at his heels.

2/3 (1 hour + 5 laps)
1 Gunther Zechmann   London Phoenix
2 Joel Natale  Dulwich
3 Will Hayter   London Dynamo
4 Luke Merrilees Wyndymilla
5 Colin Bailey North Road CC
6 Jack Finch  PMR
7 Rhys Keepence  Dulwich
8 James Freeman  Dulwich
9 Patrick Martin  Wyndymilla
10 Iain Palmer  Twickenham
11 Adam Capes  Finchley
12 Frank Rowlins  North Road CC
13 Sam Homphenson   LMNH
14 Simon Bromley   London Dynamo
15 Daniel Maynard Welwyn Wheelers
16 Charles Pearson  Private Member
17 Michael Williams  Dulwich
18 Wayne Van Ry  Big Foot
19 Kieran Direer Amersham
20 Stuart Clapp  Vicious Velo
21 Oliver Craig   London Dynamo
22 Chris Herring  ELV
23 Steve James High Wycombe CC
24 Jordan Mooney Welwyn Wheelers
25 Richard Price  London Phoenix
26 Leo Lerner  VO2 Development Team
27 Phil Hargreaves VC Norwich
28 Matt Bridges Strada Sport
29 Wayne Crombie ELV
30 Will Hunt   Norwood Paragon
31 Josh Maynard Welwyn Wheelers
32 Craig Joy  PMR
33 Mark Hale  VC Revolution
34 Duncan Rimmer  Morden CRC
35 David Webborn  London Dynamo
36 Charles Batho  Dulwich
37  Roger Maidment  ELV
38 Ian Goodey  PMR



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,