Report: Wooly Mamil Race Series Event 1 (of 4)


Molly Weaver, William Holyman & Simon Cox just some of the winners at the Stourport Sports Village 18th January for race one of the Wooly Mamil Race Series

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Our thanks to Richard Smith 

Saturday 18th January saw the spirit of madness that encouraged organisers Mamil Cycling to put on a series of winter circuit races matched fully by the dogged determination of riders to pole up and test themselves in this punishing (very) early season event.

A thankfully mild and bright day greeted the riders at the Stourport circuit and, after a solid couple of weeks of rain, a welcome 3 hours dry window meant the venue lent itself ably to bike racing rather than slalom canoeing.

Womens race

2014 Molly Weaver

Molly Weaver winning. Photo: Dave Perry

A quality field of 18 women riders were on the start line to contest the first race of the day. Within the first few minutes two riders Molly Weaver and Elite mountain biker Maxine Filby, had established a useful break and were working well together and holding the chasing pack of riders at bay. The speed of the bunch saw some unable to hold the pace with the combined power of the five riders from the Boom Cycle Team keeping the gap to the two leaders in manageable proportions.

An unfortunate slip by Maxine saw Molly isolated on her own at the front of the race. Filby recovered quickly to join the pack containing the Boom Cycle girls who ably demonstrated the power of team work to chase the leader down. With the pack together on the last lap, Weaver showed her strength by taking the sprint to win a high quality race.

1- Molly Weaver Epic Scott
2- Eleanor Jones VC St Raphael.
3- Parys Edwards Boom CC
4- Darelle Parker Boom CC
5- Hisayo Kaneko Boom CC
6- Paula Rutherford Boom CC
7- Maxine Filby Trek Bicycle
8- Michelle Askey Lichfield CC
9- Sarah Odell Boom CC
10- Elisa McDonagh

U14/u16 Boys and Girls
Even with some the local young riders away on British Cycling’s Regional School of Racing duty, a strong field, including u14 national circuit racing champion Lewis Askey, (Lichfield CC) contested the second race of the day.

With aggressive racing right from the gun the riders quickly established their own groups to work in, some showing excellent early season form with others battling the cold conditions still in their winter training phase.

Lots of close aggressive racing was in evidence from both the girls and boys with an excellent ding dong of attacks and counter attacks from a group contain Askey and Matty Lewis and Will Manfield from the Wolverhampton Wheelers.

Sadly, Askey punctured on the last but one of the five laps and, unable to take a lap out, left Ben Healy from Halesowen CC to take a well deserved win from Lewis in second and Manfield in third for honours in the Youth B Boys category

Louis Killworth (Welland Valley CC) won Youth A Boys from Robert Ward of Bourne Wheelers and Joe Geehan Redditch Road in second and third positions respectively.

Alice Law (WWCC)took the Youth A Girls win from Isla Rush (Wyndymilla) and the Youth B Girls race was won by Hollie Owens (WWCC) from Chloe Williamson (Malvern CS) and Lorna Sharples (HACC)

Youth A boys
1 – Louis Killworth Welland Valley CC
2- Robert Ward – Bourne Wheelers
3 – Joe Geehan Redditch Road

Youth B Boys
1- Ben Healy – HACC
2- Matthew Lewis – WWCC
3- Will Manfield – WWCC

Youth A Girls
1- Alice Law WWCC
2- Isla Rush Wyndymilla

Youth B Girls
1- Hollie Owens WWCC
2- Chloe Williamson Malvern CS
3- Lorna Sharples HACC

20 hardy souls lined up for the third event of the day. Soon after the gun a break of seven riders established, and then progressed, a useful gap to the chasing field. The break, containing a number of wise older heads and some youthful exuberance, worked well together and it was encouraging to see the group also felt sufficiently comfortable with each other to freely express their views about who wasn’t doing their fair share of the work.

Both the debate, and the race, continued with Simon Cox of NTFO making a solo break and holding off the six remaining riders for a number of laps. After finally succumbing to the chasing pack, Cox’s strength managed to hold off the leg speed of James Ireson (WWCC) to take a fine win with George Richardson in third.

1- Simon Cox NFTO
2- James Ireson WWCC
3- George Richardson
4- Will Scott Bonito SC
5- Chris Allcott Fred’s
6- Ben Manfield WWCC
7- Genadys Tilgalis PCC
8- Justin Belcher Banbury Star
9- Daniel Harris Stourbridge CC
10- James Ellmore MSW

4th Cat/Women’s race
As part of the organisers (Mamil Cycling) commitment to grass roots and women’s racing, any woman rider who had paid their £6 entry fee to the first race got free entry in to the last race of the day with many of them, including the whole of the Boom Cycle Team, taking advantage of the opportunity.

So, with the weather holding out, an excellent field of 40 riders contested the last race of the day. It was great to see some first time riders taking advantage of chance to test themselves with some closely fought high quality racing.

A good spirited race saw William Holyman of Birmingham University CC take the win from James Middleton (Media Velo) and Stuart White of Beacon Road CC in second and third respectively.

1- William Holyman Bham uni CC
2- James Middleton Media Velo
3- Stuart White Beacon Roads CC
4- David Arthur Bristol RC
5- Mark Thomas Worcester St Johns CC
6- Chris Hall Lichfield CC
7- Harry Thomas
8- Darren Glaze Stourbridge Velo
9- Andrew Turner NFTO
10- Darren Fearns Worcester St Johns CC

A great day’s racing with 3 more events too come in the series on the next three Saturdays at Stourport with entry available on line and on the line, space permitting.



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,