Report/Results: Wooly Mamil Winter Series, Stourport


Parys Edwards , Adam   Lewis & Stuart White winners at round 2 of the Wooly Mamil Winter Series at Stourport on January 25th

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

REPORTS – thanks to Richard Smith!

Women’s race
They say the sun shines on the righteous and righteousness abounded for women riders on the line for another miraculously dry Saturday sandwich between a rainy Friday and a filthy Sunday.

Wooly Mamil Rd 2 womens

Following their spectacular display of team riding last week, the Boom Cycle Team added to their numbers with a sixth rider and were on the attack from the gun.

Elite mountain biker Maxine Fliby (Trek Coventry) showed strongly at the front of the race with her early break marked by the Boom girls. An unfortunate real wheel puncture led to Boom’s Sarah Odell retiring early from the race but she more than made up for her absence with vocal encouragement from the sidelines!

The race came together for the final five laps with Parys Edwards (Boom) taking a fine sprint win from her team mate Hisayo Keneko. In third, showing great strength to overcome the combined force of some strong team riding from Boom, was the ever classy Maxine Filby.

In what was a thoroughly enjoyable race to watch, much appreciated by the knowledgeable circuit side supporters, special mention must go to Catherine Coley (Ludlow CC) and Ottilie Quince (Luton CC). Finishing 6th and 10 respectively, it was both riders first tilt at circuit racing with Quince, the current World Transplant Games road race champion, overcoming recent surgery on her transplanted kidney to take her first point of the season. Truly remarkable.

1 Edwards Parys – Boom CC
2 Keneko Hisayo – Boom CC
3 Filby Maxine – Trek Bicycle Coventry
4 Rutherford Paula – Boom CC
5 Parker Darrelle – Boom CC
6 Coley Catherine – Ludlow CC
7 McDonagh Elisa – Team WNT
8 Jenkins Christina – Boom CC
9 Stuart Gemma – Performance Cycles
10 QuinceOttilie – CC Luton

U14/u16 Boys and Girls
The weather held for the Youth racing once more with a staggered start giving all of the groups of riders the incentive of a chase or the push of a closing pack behind them.

The skill level of these youngsters is something to behold and once more, this week’s racing was characterised by attack after attack. Capitalising beautifully on the coming together of u14 and u16 boys, Lewis Killworth (Welland Valley CC) launched a well thought out attack from the combined pack in the hope the few moments of indecision would give him an advantage. A well played tactical card and some powerful measured riding saw his gamble pay off to take the line well ahead of the chasing bunch. Good ride young man.

Top marks to Ben Healy from the local Halesowen club for a good win in the Youth B Boys race from Matty Lewis in second and Will Manfield of the Wolverhampton Wheelers in second and third respectively.
Alice Law and Hollie Owens both of Wolverhampton Wheelers were the winners in the girls u16 and u14 categories respectively both with gutsy and determined displays of riding mixing it with lads.

Well done to all.


Youth A Boys
1 Killworth Lewis – Welland Valley CC
2 Lewis Will – WWCC
3 Dighton Oliver – HACC

Youth A Girls
1 Law Alice -WWCC

Youth B Boys
1 Healy Ben – HACC
2 Lewis Matthew – WWCC
3 Manfield Will – WWCC

Youth B Girls
1 Owens Hollie – WWCC
2 Sharples Lorna – HACC 

Twenty two riders lined up for this week’s elite installment including last week’s winner NFTO’s Simon Cox and rising young stars Jack ‘Flash’ Escritt of Velocity WD40 and Adam Lewis who has recently signed for Belgium based outfit Terra Safety Shoes with support from the Dave Rayner fund.

Cox found this week’s race harder going but team mate Joe Willshire (NFTO) was represented in the seven man break that was well established at the half way mark with the bunch chasing hard from behind.

Old heads on young shoulders meant the break riders worked well together with speeds increasing towards the end of the 45 minute period.

On to the final five laps, Lewis and Willshire were away from the break with Lewis managing to distance his break away partner on the last lap to take a good win. Escritt (Velocity WD40) took the bunch sprint for the final podium spot.

1 Lewis Adam – Terra Safety Shoes
2 Willshire Joseph – NFTO
3 Escritt Jack – Velocity WD40
4 Bowater Perry – Primal Pro Cycling
5 Richardson George
6 Tilgalis Genadijs – Peterborough CC
7 Churchus Luke – Gannet CC
8 Banham Peter – Freds RT
9 Belcher Justin – Banbury Star
10 Robertshaw Henry – Glendene CC

4th Cat
Organisers Mamil Cycling give free entry in the last race of the day for any women who have entered the first race and many of the women racers took advantage of the offer ensuring a full field of 50 riders took to the line for the concluding action.

Supporters were greeted with a great show of racing, the quality of which belied the racing licence status of those involved. Into the final five laps and a full on war of attrition had broken out with individual riders being dropped by the increasing pace.

The closely matched peloton meant riders were unable to establish a definitive break increasing the likelihood of bunch sprint. In the final reckoning, Stuart White (Beacon CC) ensured he will never see the start line of a 4th only race again by taking the win by a couple of bike lengths from the rapidly closing Keith Minor (Lyme RC) with Sean Hickinbottom of local club Wyre Forest CC in third.

A really super turn out with spirited racing from all.

1 White Stuart – Beacon Roads CC
2 Minor Keith – Lyme RC
3 Hickinbottom Sean – Wyre Forest CRC
4 Smith Danny – Lichfield CC
5 Holyman William – Bham Uni CC
6 Turner Andrew – NFTO
7 Wilkes Joshua
8 Thomas Harry
9 Alcock Matthew – Lichfield CC
10 Thomas Mark – Worcester St Johns CC

Round 3 of the series will be held Saturday 1st February at Stourport. Signing on from 10am with the racing starting at 11.


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , , ,