Results: Woolly Mamil Winter Crit Series


Maxine Filby, James Middleton & Adam Lewis winners at the Woolly Mamil Winter Crit Series races last Saturday at Stourport

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Women’s race
Riders of the Woolly Mamil series had been monitoring the weather reports this week to see if Stourport on Severn had become Stourport in Severn during a week’s worth of rain. However, aside from an impromptu water feature that was quickly coned off at the top hairpin, the rather damp circuit was signed off a rideable.

Eighteen women riders took to the start line but within the first lap Maxine Filby (Trek Coventry) established a good lead which grew to nearly a minute as the rider made the most of fresh legs from a light training week to time trial her way to the win.

Once more, the Boom Cycle Team road strongly controlling the bunch although nobody was minded to try to bridge the gap to Filby. A mention in dispatches must go to Boom rider Hisayo Keneko who rapidly regain both her composure and the bunch after a slip near the new water feature. Gutsy riding from her again.

Maise Duckworth (Wolverhampton Wheelers CC) riding her first race of the series and having only this season graduate from youth racing, looked comfortable surrounded by the Boom Team and took the bunch dash for a creditable second place. A testament to the time spent honing her skills on the track over the last couple of years.

Transplant Champion Ottilie Quince (Luton CC) returned for another lash at the circuit before heading off to commentate on the Women Tour of Qatar starting on Tuesday 6th February. The profile of women’s cycling continues to rise and with races of this quality, deservedly so.

1 Filby Maxine
2 Duckworth Masie
3 Parker Darrelle
4 Rutherford Paula
5 Kaneko Hisayo
6 Ackland Lindsay
7 Odell Sarah
8 Bamford Alicia
9 Mcdonagh Elisa
10 Stuart Gemma

U14/u16 Boys and Girls
The racing started as soon as the shivering had finished. Characterised by sharp aggressive attacks and strong riding to hold the pack at bay, Jake Stewart (Solihull CC) and Lewis Askey (Lichfield CC) took good wins in the Youth A and Youth B Boys races respectively.

Alice Law (WWCC) repeated her win from last week with a strong ride in the Girls Youth A category with Hollie Owens of the same club taking Girls Youth B. Encouraging to see a strong thread of women riders coming through the ranks of this large and well supported local club.

Youth A Boys
1 Stewart Jake
2 Waters Josh
3 Lewis Kier

Youth A Girls
1 Law Alice
2 Hudson Connie

Youth B Boys
1 Askey Lewis
2 Healy Ben
3 Lewis Matthew

Youth B Girls
1 Owens Hollie
2 Homer Gabriella
3 Williamson Chloe

This series has been blessed with at least one stand out race each time and it was the turn of the E/1/2/3’s to show how it was done with a great display of strength and tactical nouse.

Within the first couple of laps, Stephen Cavey (Catford CC) and Luke Churchus (Ganett CC) had established a useful 2 man break with the pack, containing last week’s winner Adam Lewis (Terra Safety Shoes), seemingly reluctant to chase them down. Working well together, it looked like the pair had launched the race winning move even with the speed of the chasing bunch shelling out tiring riders.

Windy and occasionally wet conditions made positioning on the circuit vital to conserve energy by finding those few valuable sheltered spots in the bunch. At times the race appeared to have more in common with a dinghy race as riders tacked into the wind.

Inside of the final 5 laps, Lewis launched a well-timed attack from the side of the pack and set off in chase of the two break away riders, managing to bridge the gap with 2 laps to go. Tucking in for the penultimate lap, he attacked again on the bell to distance Cavey and Churchus to make the race winning move.

A great display of strength and tactics by the Cat 1 rider to take the win and a gutsy show from Cavey and Churchus.

1 Lewis Adam
2 Cavey Stephen
3 Churchus Luke
4 Wiltshire Joseph
5 Richardson George
6 Palmer Ian
7 Cox Simon
8 Manfield Ben
9 Dimitrov Preslav
10 Ellmore James

4th Cat
By the time the 4th cats took to the line, the heavens had opening and riders gazed at the horizon anticipating the imminent arrival of Heathcliff or the return of Captain Oates. A hardy field of 40 riders lined up for the final race of the day with the pace high from the beginning the race split down into two principle groups with a number of individual riders left literally out in the cold.

Some brave attacking out of the lead group came from NFTO’s Andrew Turner who, on a couple of occasions, looked like he may have made a winning move. Indeed, on a calmer day he may have been better rewarded for his efforts but with the wind buffeting the circuit his attacks were closed down by the bunch.

A final attack by Turner over the line for the last lap was neutralised with the race ending in a bunch charge. James Middleton (Media Velo) taking the win with Turner managing a creditable 3rd following his efforts for the day.

Thanks must go to Esther Stewart for an impromptu assist on the day and to the riders for battling the challenging conditions in such great spirit. Apologies from the organisers for the later than usual submission of results following the cold handed piecing together of various pieces of wind torn sodden paper!

1 James Middleton Media Velo
2 Shaun Hickinbottom Wyre Forest CRC
3 Andrew Turner NFTO Race Club
4 Harry Thomas Worcester St Johns CC
5 Matthew Alcock Lichfield City CC
6 Keith Minor Lyme RC
7 Darren Fearns Worcester St Johns CC
8 William Holyman Birmingham University Cycling …
9 Mark Thomas Worcester St Johns CC
10 Joshua Wilkes

Round 4 of the series will be held Saturday 8th February at Stourport. Signing on from 10am with the racing starting at 11. Bring a coat…

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,