Team News: Big Year Ahead for RST Racing Team


With a focus on the development of young cyclists, the RST Racing Team sponsored by Cycle Division & NFTO have a cracking line-up for 2014 

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The RST Racing Team on the competitive cycling scene is a story of steady evolution and the 2014 line-up is certainly one of the most in-depth and strongest of anything before it. With a focus on Junior Men’s and Women’s teams along with three Under 16 girls, it’s another example of how sponsors like Cycle Division and NFTO are getting behind the sport’s future stars and helping them fulfil their potential.


The class of 2014 in the RST Racing Team in their team launch photo. 

The team was born out of the already very well established RST motorcycle clothing division which was founded by former elite cyclist and motorcyclist Jonny Towers and RST designer Chris Walker who is a former professional cyclist who won the Milk Race Tour of Britain in 1991 plus countless other Pro races including national championships.

The Moto Direct business knew what was required to take RST Cycle apparel to the same level as their Moto clothing and to bolster this new venture, former Elite cyclist Gareth Hewitt came on board as Cycle Division Manager along with young first cat cyclist Dan Storey.

Former Milk Race winner Chris Walker, father to Joey Walker who has steadily progressed from the Youth ranks to winning Senior races as a junior in the team, and daughter Jessie who progressed from RST to women’s pro team Matrix Fitness, is one of the driving forces behind the team.

“A lot of people have asked why we seem to be focusing on Junior teams and basically it’s just an evolution from how the team started up with mainly youth riders” Chris says.


“The youth age group is the best time to get the basics of bike racing across because riders often get into bad habits with their training and racing if they are left to their own devices. We’ve had a great team spirit in the youth team over the last three years and with that, a lot of success and obviously equal amounts of disappointment.”

“We’ve kept all our riders together and added a few new ones to nurture them through the difficult Junior age group. A large percentage of youth riders are lost to the sport during this period so we want to keep them in a ‘no pressure’ environment because they all put more than enough pressure on themselves. Our job is basically one of support.”

The team recently had their team launch including team photos in a studio and have already been busy off road and on track. The Women’s team, looked after by one of Chris Walker’s former teammates at Falcon Banana, Rob Holden, has an awesome line-up of riders who are already stars in their own right. Whilst there is plenty of strength in-depth, two names that have made headlines are Abby Mae Parkinson and Grace Garner.


L-R Lauren O’Brien, Annasley Park, Lizzie Holden and Amy Gornall with Abby Mae Parkinson and Grace Garner at the front.

Abby, a junior, was a leading contender in the Women’s senior category during the National Trophy Series (Cyclo-Cross) and finished a very disappointed second in the Junior category at the British Cyclo-Cross Championships after leading for much of the race. Grace Garner meanwhile has just been awarded the Young Sportswoman of the Year award by Leicester Mercury newspaper.

Both Abby and Grace are part of the Great Britain Cycling Team’s Olympic Development squad and are joined by Lauren O’Brien, Annasley Park, Lizzie Holden and Amy Gornall.

The Junior men’s squad is equally strong with two more members of the Olympic Development squad, Gabriel Cullaigh and Joseph Fry. They are joined by Nathan Draper, Joey Walker, Struan McInnes, James Hill, Danny Fox and Rob Harper.


Left-Right are Nathan Draper, Joey Walker, Gabriel Cullaigh, Joe Fry and Struan McInnes. Front row L-R James Hill and Rob Harper.

A third squad with three Under 16 Girls comprises of Jess Roberts, Ellie May Dickinson and Jayati Hine

Called the RST Racing Team, Cycle Division and NFTO are the main sponsors with Triton Construction and IKON Design also putting their support behind these young future stars. What this space for news of their success in 2014.


Jess Roberts, Ellie May Dickinson and Jayati Hine


Junior Mens
Nathan Draper
Joey Walker
Gabriel Cullaigh
Joe Fry
Struan McInnes
James Hill
Rob Harper
Danny Fox

Under 16 Girls
Jess Roberts
Ellie May Dickinson
Jayati Hine

Junior Women
Lauren O’Brien
Annasley Park
Lizzie Holden
Amy Gornall
Abby Mae Parkinson
Grace Garner


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,