Report/Results: Apres Winter League 12


VC St Raphaels’s Simon Brooks puts on a familiar post Valentine’s Day performance at the Apres Winter League 12 at Preston Park Velodrome

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Wham bam thank you Mam!  - Apres Winter League 12

Initiating an early three man break alongside clubmate Liam Walsh and the ever aggressive Matthew Hull (San Fairy Ann Racing), Brooks established a platform to launch into a race winning solo effort lasting a full 50 minutes, with both Hull and Walsh also staying clear to claim deserved podium places.


In spite of terrifying weather warnings, the Brighton venue again proved to be a safe haven for racers of all categories with no crashes and spectators treated to a ding dong battle in the 3rds race. That’s right! An exciting 3rds race!

Animated early on by Mitre’s Jed Williamson with a 9 lap foray, the race proceeded to ebb and flow, with attacks & counters initialized by the home team controlled by Fareham Wheelers and Maison Du Velo. In the end an intuitive attack by Joe Henstridge proved to be brilliantly decisive with the SRAM CC man managing to fend off a rampaging bunch, led home by Sorby Hinds Joe McConnell.

The 4ths saw an amazing one man show that was full of Eastbourne promise.. Mountain Trax’ Sam Stean exploded from the whistle and set about destroying the field with business like efficiency, lapping the field on his way to a fine victory. Get in.

The Youth race was again a studied affair with intelligent racing from youngsters who showed that they have learned their craft.Hillingdon’s Louis Rose-Davies prevailing over PPYCCs’s Isaac Wright. Jack Webb Of 1st Chard Wheelers remained undefeated in the U8/10’s event.

Next week see’s the final event of the Apres Winter League before the Apres Wacky Races return on Sunday March 9th.

1. Simon Brooks VC St Raphael
2. Matt Hull SFA Racing
3. Liam Walsh VC St Raphael
4. Stephen Tribe Velosport RT
5. Greg Moss Dulwich Paragon
6. Ross Hallard Pretorius
7. Phil Hoffman Abellio SFA Racing
8. Robert Mosley Thames Velo

1. Joe Henstridge SRAM CC
2. Joe McConnell Sorby Hinds CC
3. Harry Hailwood Fareham Wheelers
4. Ian Monaghan Brighton Mitre
5. Viktor Kazinec Dulwich Paragon
6. Ross Hallard Pretorius
7. Greg Moss Dulwich Paragon
8. Paul Drake Maison Du Velo
9. Morgan Lewis Brighton Mitre
10. Adam Daniel Dulwich Paragon
11. Harvey Morecombe Fareham Wheelers
12. Matt Kerr Ipswich BC
13. Robert Mosley Thames Velo
14. Andrew Costello PM
15. Phil Hoffman Abellio SFA Racing
16. Tim Harkness Maison Du Velo
17. Mark Newnham Worthing Excelsior
18. Jed Williamson Brighton Mitre
19. Darren Parrish Maison Du Velo
20. Matthew Leary PB Cycle Coaching
21. Joel Draper Brighton Mitre
22. Dan Fagg Brighton Mitre
23. Mike Leonard Brighton Mitre

1. Sam Stean Mountain Trax
2. Alex Snow RNRMCA
3. Tom Stringer Cowley Road Condors
4. Jon Spiers PM
5. Doug Tanly Fareham Wheelers
6. Massimo Conforti Dulwich Paragon
7. Ian Tosh 4T+ Velo
8. Alex Beyfus Sussex Nomads
9. Phil Mosley Thames Velo
10. Ben Bradley South Down Velo
11. Josh Beattie Sussex Nomads
12. Leon Thompson Ipswich BC
13. Mik Onions Private Member
14. Craig Swatton Crawley Wheelers
DNF Jason Goodright Ipswich BC

1. Louis Rose-Davies Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2. Isaac Wright Preston Park Youth CC
3. Callum Clark Southborough & DW
4. Tom Easley Crawley Wheelers
5. Ashley Evans Dorking CC
6. Stan Abbott-Smith Preston Park Youth

1. Jack Webb Chard 1st Wheelers


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,