Report: Sagan finally gets the win


After a series of second places in the early races of 2014, Peter Sagan finally got his front wheel across the line first after a tough stage in Oman.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Sagan finally gets the win

In the first of two spectacular and decisive stages for overall victory on the Tour of Oman, Peter Sagan proved that he was more than just a rider hungry for stage successes. In a large group including the best riders in the peloton, he managed to hang on over the four climbs up Bousher Alamrat.


Photo: © ASO/B. Bade

The Slovakian was then part of a decisive move in the last descent alongside Nibali and Uran who managed to stay clear of the chasing group before Sagan flew to his first success in 2014. Beating Uran and Nibali to the line, Sagan claims his fourth win in Oman and captures the overall leader’s Red Jersey.

Wadi Al Abiyad welcomed the riders of Tour of Oman in style with beautiful scenery for what promised to be a very eventful stage. The 142 riders of the event took off at 11:28 for a 173-km stage all the way to the Ministry of Housing with an extremely demanding last section that would take the riders up the Bousher Alamrat climb four times.

After a very fast start, Agnoli, Westra (both AST) and Fischer (FDJ) were the first to break away at km 9 but the peloton never let them get far and they were caught at km 15. Moments later, four men managed to take off: Huffman (AST), Popovych (TFR), Van Avermaet (BMC) and Wallays (TSV).

Their lead grew rapidly and at the first intermediate sprint (km 37), won by Wallays ahead of Van Avermaet and Popovych, the leading four had a 7’25 advantage over the pack. That gap reached a maximum 8’ at km 51.

The peloton led by Lotto-Belisol, Tinkoff-Saxo, BMC and Omega Pharma-Quickstep then started chasing and just before taking on the first of four climbs up Bousher Alamrat, the leaders saw their advantage drop down to 5’50. At the top of the first climb that Wallays reached first ahead of Van Avermaet and Popovych, the group of favourites remained 3’50 adrift.

Meanwhile race leader, André Greipel (LTB) and best young rider, Leigh Howard (OGE) were struggling and dropped back. The second climb which was also a sprint (km 131) was again claimed by Wallays ahead of Van Avermaet and Huffman while the peloton had closed to only 2’25 behind. Eventually Popovych, Huffman and Wallays were caught at the beginning of the third climb.

Greg Van Avermaet however carried on alone. The Belgian made it first to the top with an 18” lead over Sergio Henao (SKY) and 32” over the pack led by Nerz (BMC) before leader was finally caught at km 159 by a group of around 60 riders.

All the candidates for overall victory were present at the front for the final climb. Despite quite a few attempts, they remained bunched and Christopher Froome (SKY) was the first to reach the top ahead of Kreuziger (TCS) and Uran (OPQ).

Like on the previous day, the title holder and 2013 Tour de France winner powered away taking Uran with him. But he was soon to be caught. On the long descent, three other men gave it a go with under ten kilometres to go to the finish: Nibali (AST), Sagan (CAN) and Uran (OPQ).

It was a fine move that would pay off as they enjoyed an 18” lead with 5 kms to go. That advantage dropped down to 6” at the final kilometre mark, but it would be good enough to allow them to fight for the stage victory. The fastest of the three was, as expected, Peter Sagan. The Slovakian beat Uran and Nibali to the line, claiming his fourth success in Oman (1 stage win in 2012, 2 in 2013).

Thanks to his win, Sagan takes the overall leader’s Red Jersey and has a 10” advantage over Uran and 14” over Nibali. The Cannondale rider also becomes the best young rider while André Greipel, who crossed the line in 103rd position, 21’10 adrift, keeps a commanding lead in the points’ classification (Green Jersey).

Present in three out of four breakaways since the start of the event, Jelle Wallays captures the polka-dot jersey for the Most Aggressive rider.


Rigoberto Uran who was second had this to say about the finale – “Sagan attacked on top of the last climb and I chased on the downhill and I caught him, and Nibali followed me. I knew probably I would be beaten by Sagan, but the goal was to try and gain a few seconds on the GC guys.”

“Because today I saw we had 20 to 25 strong riders on the climb, so I tried to gain some time on them. We really collaborated well on downhill and then the flat part to the finish, but there was a roundabout at 2km to go, and we took the wrong way, all three of us. Then we lost a few seconds, so we arrived with only a few seconds advantage over the rest of the guys. But OK, Sagan won and I am second.”

“I think we did a good race. It’s a shame we didn’t gain a few seconds more, but that’s racing. In any case I am happy and feeling good. I was there on the climbs and even followed a few attacks. The team was very good and we will see what will happen tomorrow in the queen stage. It will be a difficult with a lot of strong riders at the same level of fitness, so we will see what can happen.”

1 SAGAN Peter Cannondale 04:02:20
2 URAN Rigoberto Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
3 NIBALI Vincenzo Astana Pro Team 00:02
4 IMPEY Daryl Orica GreenEDGE
5 GALLOPIN Tony Lotto Belisol
6 MORENO Daniel Team Katusha
7 GAVAZZI Francesco Astana Pro Team
8 STYBAR Zdenek Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
9 LöFKVIST Thomas IAM Cycling
10 MOSER Moreno Cannondale
11 FROOME Christopher Team Sky
12 RODRIGUEZ Joaquim Team Katusha
13 KöNIG Leopold Team NetApp – Endura
14 GESINK Robert Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
15 TSCHOPP Johann IAM Cycling
16 POZZOVIVO Domenico AG2R La Mondiale
17 SCHLECK Fränk Trek Factory Racing
19 KREUZIGER Roman Tinkoff-Saxo
20 VAN DEN BROECK Jurgen Lotto Belisol

31 ROCHE Nicolas Tinkoff-Saxo 46
32 BOOM Lars Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 01:17
56 GILBERT Philippe BMC Racing Team
59 CANCELLARA Fabian Trek Factory Racing
84 DEMPSTER Zakkari Team NetApp – Endura 17.04
86 SCHLECK Andy Trek Factory Racing
87 DEVOLDER Stijn Trek Factory Racing
89 BOONEN Tom Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
92 BENNATI Daniele Tinkoff-Saxo
103 GREIPEL André Lotto Belisol 21.10
115 CHAVANEL Sébastien
117 SWIFT Ben Team Sky
131 BENNETT Sam Team NetApp – Endura
138 TERPSTRA Niki Omega Pharma – Quick-Step

1 SAGAN Peter Cannondale 14:46:44
2 URAN Rigoberto Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:10
3 NIBALI Vincenzo Astana Pro Team 00:14
4 GALLOPIN Tony Lotto Belisol 00:17
5 IMPEY Daryl Orica GreenEDGE 00:18
6 GAVAZZI Francesco Astana Pro Team
7 KREUZIGER Roman Tinkoff-Saxo
8 FROOME Christopher Team Sky
9 VAN GARDEREN Tejay BMC Racing Team
10 GESINK Robert Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
11 HENAO MONTOYA Sergio Luis Team Sky
12 STYBAR Zdenek Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
13 LöFKVIST Thomas IAM Cycling
14 SCHLECK Fränk Trek Factory Racing
15 KöNIG Leopold Team NetApp – Endura
16 VAN DEN BROECK Jurgen Lotto Belisol
18 RODRIGUEZ Joaquim Team Katusha
19 POZZOVIVO Domenico AG2R La Mondiale
20 MOSER Moreno Cannondale


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,