Report: Volta Algarve TT Stage to Kwiatkowski


Race leader Michael Kwiatkowski of Omega Pharma Quickstep wins TT stage at 58k an hour to increase his overall lead. Alex Dowsett is 5th on stage.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Volta Algarve TT Stage to Kwiatkowski

Kwiatkowski — which means “Flower” in Polish — won by 11 seconds over Adriano Malori (Movistar Team) and was 13 seconds faster than teammate and UCI World TT Champion Tony Martin. Kwiatkowski was three seconds faster than Martin at the intermediate point and averaged 58.078km/h (36,09) for the parcours. The victory keeps Kwiatkowski in the leader’s jersey for another stage. This is the third victory for Kwiatkowski in 2014, the second at Volta ao Algarve.

KWIATKOWSKI action Algarve Stage 3 (c) Tim DeWaele

Photo: OPQS/Tim de Waele

“I had a good rhythm immediately,” Kwiatkowski said. “This morning I performed recon of the stage, and the last part of the stage three times as it was the most technical. My Specialized Shiv was perfect. The work we did with the team and Specialized working on the details of the time trial paid off today. Together with Specialized we worked a lot in the wind tunnel, on the track in Valencia and in Mallorca to find the best bike position for me as well as my teammates. It was my first TT today and I could feel the difference.”

“For me the time trial was a little bit too short, but I felt really good,” Tony Martin said. “The roads were sometimes a little bumpy, there were cobbles in the final so it was not so easy. It was a little bit like a Belgian classic. But it was the same for everybody. It wasn’t dangerous or anything. One time in the final I missed a corner and lost maybe one or two seconds, but I felt really good overall. I could push the pedals with good power all the time, and in total I am very happy with my performance. I can see I am improving day-to-day, so it just means I need a few more racing days to get my body really working.”

This is the third victory for Kwiatkowski in 2014, the second at Volta ao Algarve, and also the 10th win for OPQS in three disciplines. OPQS looks next to 164.5km Stage 4 on Saturday. The race could include some major fireworks as the finale is on Alto do Malhão. “Tomorrow is another day,” Kwiatkowski said. “I know the Alto do Malhão pretty well as I’ve done it twice in my career. Anything can happen.”

KWIATKOWSKI podium Algarve Stage 3 (c) Tim DeWaele

Winners are grinners, sort of. Michael Kwiatkowski gets the kisses. Photo: OPQS/Tim de Waele

“I think Rui Costa and Alberto Contador will try to do something for the GC, but I trust in my teammates and know they will support me in the yellow jersey. I finished 2nd last year and I always come here motivated to be in the best shape. So I am really looking forward to the challenge in the next stages.”

Second and fifth for Movistar
It was a good afternoon for the Movistar team who are kitted out by British clothing company Endura with their Italian Adriano Malori second and British champion Alex Dowsett fifth. The Italian specialist took the lead off his team-mate Alex Dowsett (5th), who clocked the best provisional time at the finish for a long time and spent a long stretch of the TT on the hotseat.

Malori then became the provisional leader by beating World champion Tony Martin (OPQ) by two seconds after having recovered from the same deficit on the intermediate split. His 14.14 at the finish was then the benchmark right until the end when the big Polish race leader Michael Kwiatkowski took the stage win from Malori and increased his overall lead in the process.

1. KWIATKOWSKI Michal Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 14:03 (58.078kph)
2. MALORI Adriano Movistar Team 00:11 (57.33kph)
3. MARTIN Tony Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:13 (57.196kph)
4. CONTADOR Alberto Tinkoff-Saxo 00:20 (56.732kph)
5. DOWSETT Alex Movistar Team 00:25 (56.406kph)
6. BARTA Jan Team NetApp – Endura 00:28 (56.211kph)
7. FLENS Rick Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 00:29 (56.147kph)
8. DE GENDT Thomas Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:30 (56.082kph)
9. KELDERMAN Wilco Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
10. GENIEZ Alexandre 00:33 (55.89kph)

12. COSTA Rui Lampre – Merida @ 34 secs
22. CAVENDISH Mark Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 00:44
34. HERRADA Jesús Movistar Team
35. HORNER Chris Lampre – Merida 00:57
58. ROWSELL Erick Team NetApp – Endura 01:09
60. VOSS Paul Team NetApp – Endura
71. PETACCHI Alessandro Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 01:14
94. RENSHAW Mark Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 01:24
107. MCEVOY Jonathan Team NetApp – Endura 01:37
117. VOECKLER Thomas Team Europcar 01:45

1 KWIATKOWSKI Michal Omega Pharma – Quick-Step 9:03:36
2 CONTADOR Alberto Tinkoff-Saxo @ 00:32
3 COSTA Rui Lampre – Merida @ 00:38
4 GENIEZ Alexandre @ 1:00
5 CHERNETCKII Sergei Team Katusha @ 1:03
6 KELDERMAN Wilco Belkin-Pro Cycling Team @ 1:08
7 FERNANDEZ Ruben Caja Rural – Seguros RGA @ 1:20
8 SPILAK Simon Team Katusha @ 1:23
9 HORNER Chris Lampre – Merida @ 1:24
10 PRADES Eduard OFM – Quinta da Lixa @ 1:25


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,