News: Mildenhall Cycling Club Annual Awards


Dave Bowers is Mildenhall Cycling Club’s Super Champion for the third year running!

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Mildenhall Cycling Club Annual Awards - From Mark Burchett

Club President Peter Bentley presented him with the prestigious Sawbridge Rose Bowl trophy in front of members and friends at the Club’s 2013 Prize Presentations held recently in the superb facilities at West Row Village Hall.

It is a season long competition based on members performances in a variety of club events consisting of a Rough Ride, a two-lap Circuit Time Trial, Grass Track, Road Race, Hill Climb, Off-Road Championship, Cyclo-Cross, Club Night attendance and Club Run attendance (October to March) and Club Worker (decided by members’ votes).

The Club’s chairman Mark Burchett said afterwards, “It is the most coveted of all the Club’s awards and represents a truly all-round club member. It must be unprecedented for the same member to win it in three consecutive years, although it is testimony to the 69 year olds commitment to the Club that he has beaten many members far younger than him. He really does set a wonderful example to the growing number of young people

The top two placings in the Under 18’s version were a reversal of last year’s competition. Josh Murad improved on his runners-up spot last year to finish ahead of Ryan Skeets and Jake Towler, who tied for second.

Josh enjoyed his best season as a Club member winning the U18 Cyclo-Cross Championship and the Carrington Cup with a speed of 17.87mph, (It is for the member under 14 recording the fastest average speed in any Mildenhall Club evening time trial)

As well as collecting his own awards, Josh also was kept busy collecting the trophies won by his uncle, Lee Woodcock, who was racing at an MTB event in Norwich

Lee was fastest up Primrose Hill in Moulton for the Annual Hill Climb Championship and a runaway winner in the Senior Cyclo-Cross championship.

Showing his prowess off-road he was the joint winner with Matthew Mantle, having only ridden seven of the eleven rounds, compared to Matthew’s eight! In the Ladies award Diane Mantle took the honours ahead of Judith Robb.

Jake Towler achieved a clean sweep in the Under 18’s Off-Road Championship with 80 maximum points. He retained the Dave Morley Cup with an average speed of 21.24 mph, an improvement of nearly 3mph on his speed achieved in 2012. (It is decided by the fastest average speed recorded in a time trial of approximately 10 miles in any open, semi-open or Mildenhall Club event)

Jake also won the Club’s Under 18 Track Championship held at last years Mildenhall Cycling Rally, ahead of Adam Gough and Josh Murad. Jake’s older brother Alan, was victorious in the Senior Track Championship, beating last year’s winner Diane Mantle.

Mildenhall CC Champions
— Senior Super Champion Dave Bowers
— Under 18 Super Champion Josh Murad
— Senior Off-Road Championship Matthew Mantle / Lee Woodcock
— Ladies Off-Road Championship Diane Mantle
— Under 18 Off-Road Championship Jake Towler
— Senior Cyclo-Cross Champion Lee Woodcock
— Under 18 Cyclo-Cross Champion Josh Murad
— Senior Grass-Track Champion Alan Towler
— Under 18 Grass-Track Champion Jake Towler
— Hill Climb Champion Lee Woodcock
— Dave Morley Cup Jake Towler
— Carrington Cup Josh Murad
— Road Race Champion Richard Carrington
— 10 Mile Time Trial Champion Richard Carrington
— 25 Mile Time Trial Champion Richard Carrington

A complete list of all the award winners can be seen on



Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK