Youth: Forza RT Season Opener Series


A slightly less windy but very damp day at Llandow (once again!) greeted a fantastic turnout of 60 youth riders for the 2nd round of the Forza RT Season Opener Series.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Youth: Forza RT Season Opener Series

Race report from Chief Commissaire – Steve Thomas
Some hard racing in the Youth A boys saw Etienne Georgi (Giant CC Halo Films) eventually force away from his breakaway companion, Jack Broadley (Cardiff Ajax) with Matthew Cox taking out the five ‘bunch’ sprint to round off the podium.

In the under 16 girls, it was a straight fight between M&D Cycles RC/Scimitar Sports team mates Lowri Thomas and Sophie-Jo Wylie Morris, with Thomas taking the win after breaking clear on the final lap. Georgia Bailey (Newport Olympic) took third and the final Podium spot.

For the second week running, Zach Bridges (Cardiff JIF) won the U14 boys after yet another hard fought two up battle with Matt Burke (Newport Olympic) whilst Sam Beckett (Cardiff JIF) took the final podium place. Niamh Jones (Bike Doctor) was also locked in a race long battle with last weeks U14 girls winner, eventually taking the win in the sprint for the line.

Huge numbers in the U12, U10 and U8s race was always going to make the judges life difficult but matters were eased when, on the first lap, last weeks winner Rhys Thomas (M&D Cycles RC) forged away from the bunch and was quickly joined by Guto Dafydd (Towy Riders CC) and Isabella Escalara (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) and the three were never caught.

Dafydd took the win after breaking away from his companions with two laps to go with Escalara taking an excellent 2nd (and 1st girl) and Thomas 3rd. Thomas’s team mate, Liam James-Morris, rounded out the boys podium whilst Eluned King and Emma Finucane (both Towy) finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The finishing order in the U10s was turned on its head somewhat when the leading group of 8 riders was passed by the main race leader, Guto Dafydd, in the finishing straight and some didn’t realise they were sprinting for the finish. Jack Hastings narrowly pipping fellow Maindy Flyer Zoe Backstedt for the win, whilst Guto’s younger brother Iolo picked up 3rd and 2nd boy. Awen Roberts (Towy) and Ella MacLean-Howell (Maindy) were 2nd and 3rd girl whilst Sam Smith (Towy) filled the final spot on the boys podium.

Final mention to the three U8’s who took part, all battled the elements bravely with Rory Gravelle (Towy) winning from Charlie Beckett (Cardiff JIF) and Tilly Hastings copying her older brother winning the girls.


Under 16 Youth A
1 Etienne Georgi Giantt CC Halo Films
2 Jack Broadley Cardiff Ajax
3 Matthew Cox Newport Olympic
4 Oliver Postle Bush Healthcare CRT
5 Daniel Coombe Newport Olympic
6 Ethan Derrick Newport Olympic
7 Will Roberts County Cycles
8 Tomos King Towy Riders
9 Lowri Thomas M&D Cycles RC / Scimitar
10 Sophie Jo Wylie-Morris M&D Cycles RC / Scimitar
11 Georgia Bailey Newport Olympic
12 Alice Masters Cardiff Ajax

Under 14 Youth A
1 Zac Bridges Cardiff JIF
2 Matt Burke Newport Olympic
3 Sam Beckett Cardiff JIF
4 Owain Roberts Towy Riders CC
5 Joe Rees Maindy Flyers
6 Tom Simmonds Miandy

Under 14 Girls
1 Niamh Jones Bike Doctor
2 Ella Barnwell Towy Riders CC

Under 12 Youth C
1 Guto Dafydd Towy Riders CC
2 Isabella Escalera Hillingdon Slipstreamers
3 Rhys Thomas M&D Cycles/Scimitar
4 Liam James-Morris M&D Cycles/Scimitar
5 Cian Roberts Towy Riders CC
6 Eluned King Towy Riders CC
7 Bevan Smith Maindy Flyers
8 Ryan Phillips Maindy Flyers
9 Emma Finucane Towy Riders CC
10 Ayrton Smith Maindy Flyers
11 Gethin Price Maindy Flyers
12 Danielle Parker Towy Riders CC
13 Alex Barfield Birmingham CC
14 Ocean Poultney-Maddy Maindy Flyers
15 Rosie Finucane Towy Riders CC

Under 10 Youth D
1 Jack Hastings Cardiff JIF
2 Zoe Backstedt Maindy Flyers
3 Iolo Dafydd Towy Riders CC
4 Sam Smith Towy Riders CC
5 Ifan Roberts-Jones Maindy Flyers
6 Kyle Jones Maindy Flyers
7 Jack Webb 1st Chard Wheelers
8 Joel McClean-Howell Maindy Flyers
9 Evan Lyons Maindy Flyers
10 Daniel Wylie Morris M&D Cycles/Scimitar
11 Awen Roberts Towy Riders CC
12 Ethan Pratten Maindy Flyers
13 Felix Hodges Abergaenny RC
14 Ella McClean-Howell Maindy Flyers
15 James Bullar Gannet CC
16 Charlie Barnewll Towy Riders CC

Under 8 Youth E Boys
1 Rory Gravelle Towy Riders CC
2 Charlie Beckett Cardiff JIF

Under 8 Youth E Girls
1 Tilly Hastings Cardiff JIF


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,