News: Evesham Vale Road Race


Team Raleigh head the line-up for the Evesham Vale Road Race on March 16 at Inkberrow in Worcestershire

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Evesham Vale Road Race

As settings go, Inkberrow is one of the prettiest villages in the area with its Tudor style cottages and has been the setting for this bike race for a long time.

With no national series events in March, the top teams will be looking for some events like this to get race condition from and in this one, Team Raleigh has entered a six man team. Whilst the line-up is bound to change, as it stands, it’s a quality one for sure ahead of the team’s excursion back to France and the Tour of Normandy and other UCI events.


A winner already, Team Raleigh’s Ian Wilkinson (above entertaining the troops) is entered as is Britain’s top ranked rider in 2013 (domestic rankings) Yanto Barker. The Premier Calendar winner from 2013 Evan Oliphant is also on the entry list along with Premier Calendar event winner (Rydale GP) and National 25 Champion Joe Perrett. They are backed up by Elite Circuit Series winner George Atkins and Liam Stones all in the iconic Raleigh colours.

Of the other big teams, only Madison Genesis have entered a few riders including the rider who was second in the Premier Calendar in 2013, Tom Stewart. With Tom is talented youngster Alex Peters and Dominic Jeffs.

Grant Bayton, who rode so well in the Severn Bridge Road Race, is entered as is a team from Catford CC who have generous backing from Jeff Banks in 2014 and are aiming to do the bigger races around the country. Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves Cycles team has good numbers in the race whilst a team down to race the Tour Series, Pedal Heaven, are sending three riders including Jake Martin who had such good form at this time last season.


Former pro and British Under 23 champion Dan Fleeman is entered for Metaltek as is David McGowan who was second at the first big race of the year, the Clayton Velo Spring Classic. Wheelbase, who had Tom Barras fourth in that same race, also send three riders including Barras along with Sam Boast and Matt Clarke.

Evesham Vale road race 100km Sunday 16th March at 9.30am
4 and a half laps of a 22km course

Headquarters; Please note this is North of A422 and is clearly signposted at; Inkberrow Village Hall, Sands Road, Inkberrow, Worcestershire

Evesham Vale Road Race 16th March 2014
1 Nick Noble BH Solidor WAM 2
2 Jack Mattock BH Solidor WAM youth 2 J
3 Rob Yeatman BH Solidor WAM youth 2
4 Wayne Coombs BH Solidor WAM youth 2
5 Tom Stockdale BH Solidor WAM youth Elite
6 Martin Smith BH Solidor WAM Youth Elite
7 Henry Latimer Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1
8 Harry Franklin Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1
9 Lawrence Carpenter Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1
10 Liam Yates Catford CC Equipe/Banks 2
11 George Moore Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 1
12 Matt Higgins Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT Elite
13 Andy Betts Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 1
14 Pete Wager Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 1
15 Lee Smith Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 1
16 Alex Higham Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT Elite
17 Rob Ward Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 2
18 Charles Walker Halesowen Cycling Club 3
19 Samuel Dighton Halesowen Cycling Club 3
20 Joseph Hobbs Halesowen Cycling Club 3
21 Dominic Jeffs Madison Genesis 1
22 Alex Peters Madison Genesis Elite
23 Thomas Stewart Madison Genesis Elite
24 Dave Starkey Mammoth Lifestyle Race Team 2
25 Gareth Jones Mammoth Lifestyle Race Team Elite
26 James Notley Mammoth Lifestyle Race Team 1
27 Matt Bonehill Mammoth Lifestyle Race Team 2
28 David Bates Mammoth Lifestyle Race Team 2
29 Jake Martin Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT u23 Elite
30 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT u23 2nd
31 Francis Cade Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT u23 Elite
32 Lloyd Chapman Richardson Trek RT 1
33 Andrew Hastings Richardson Trek RT Elite
34 Dean Shannon Richardson Trek RT 1
35 Luke Ryan Richardson Trek RT Elite
36 simon Alexander Richardson Trek RT 2
37 Grant Bayton Ride 24/7 2
38 Michael Ward Ride 24/7 2
39 Ben Luckwell Ride 24/7 2
40 Nick Watson Ride 24/7 2
41 Joe Fox Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2
42 Jamie Caldwell Starley Primal Pro Cycling Elite
43 Perry Bowater Starley Primal Pro Cycling 2
44 Alastair Hepworth Team Bike Box 1
45 Ash Proctor Team Bike Box 1
46 Connor Swift Team Bike Box 1
47 Dan Storey Team Bike Box 1
48 Roy Chamberlain Team Corley 1
49 Ian Knight Team Corley 1
50 Will Goulbourne Team Corley 1
51 Tom Neale Team Corley 1
52 Ben Stockdale Metaltek Cycling Elite
53 Robert Orr Metaltek Cycling 1
54 Dan Fleeman Metaltek Cycling Elite
55 Dexter Gardias Metaltek Cycling 1
56 David McGowan Metaltek Cycling Elite
57 George Atkins Team Raleigh Elite
58 Liam Stones Team Raleigh Elite
59 Joe Perrett Team Raleigh Elite
60 Yanto Barker Team Raleigh Elite
61 Evan Oliphant Team Raleigh Elite
62 Ian Wilkinson Team Raleigh Elite
63 Matthew Clarke Wheelbase Altura MGD 1
64 Tom Barras Whelbase Altura MGD Elite
65 Sam Boast Whelbase Altura MGD 1 U23
66 Ashley Cox CC Luton Elite
67 Mark Baines  Spirit Bikes Race Team Elite
68 Ed Clemens Spirit Bikes Race Team 1
69 Mike Wragg Arbis-Colbert Cycles RT 1
70 Jason Gurney Arbis-Colbert Cycles 2
71 Tom Brazier Chester Road Club 3
72 Kurt Green 3
73 Harry Walton Cheltenham and County CC 2
74 Daniel McKimm Dream Cycling 2
75 Elliott Pike Lichfield CC 2
76 Matthew Ulmer Perfomance Cycles 2
77 Danny Fox RST Racing Team 2
78 George Richardson Team For 2000 2
79 Willam Corden Lyme Racing Club 2
80 Tom Marshall Leisure Lakes Bikes .com j3

81 Jack Smith Wolverhampton Wheelers 3J
82 Steve Smith Champion System/MaxGear 1
83 James Stewart Kuota-GSG-Spinergy 1
84 Steve Abbott Team Hoppers Rollers Elite
85 Todd Hotchkiss Audlem Cycling Club 1
86 liam Stones
87 Richard Phillips-Schofield Peter Hansford Racing 2
88 James Cooper Rock n Road UK 2

Course Details
Start outside village Hall HQ. Turn right into Sands road (neutralized) and right again at T junction (M) onto A422 heading westward towards Worcester. Turn sharp left (M) WITH CARE, just before 2nd Total Garage onto unclassified road. Continue through Flyford Flavell village to start racing and continue to through Radford to pass through Finish area before the top of Gooms Hill. Continue to T junction with B4088(M) turn left WITH CARE and climb Weethly Bank and continue to junction with A422(M) turn left WITH CARE to Inkberrow to complete one circuit (22KM).

Complete 4 laps plus distance from HQ to finish line=100km


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK