Tirreno-Adriatico: Contador Wins Mountain Stage


There was a shake up in the GC on stage 4 with Alberto Contador winning and moving up to second overall behind Michael Kwiatkowski

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tirreno-Adriatico: Contador Wins Mountain Stage


This was a stage for the climbers in the peloton and the show witnessed on the demanding final uphill finish to the Selvarotonda ski resort did not disappoint. Stage 4 was a marathon stage over 244 kilometres and Tinkoff-Saxo put their faith in Alberto Contador who was just outside the top 10 at the start of the stage.

A big break with Lloyd Mondory (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Alexey Lutsenko (Astana), Matthias Brandle (IAM Cycling), Filippo Fortin (Bardiani-CSF), Alexandre Pichot (Europcar) and Maxim Belkov (Katusha) held the lime light early on until the Endura clad Movistar riders made a huge effort to drag them back before the peloton was torn apart on the climbs leading to the main dish of the day.

Alberto Contador, surrounded by teammates in the first selection suffered a puncture but a high-paced chase saw him back in the GC group. The gas was well and truly turned up in the dash to the final climb where the front group split and with 12 kilometres to go, the remaining escapees were swept up by the group of GC favourites.

The first attack was launched by Stefano Pirazzi, which was followed by Contador’s teammate Roman Kreuziger and he quickly bridged the gap and maintained the pressure out front. With 5 kilometres to go, Pirazzi was hanging on to the back wheel of the strong Tinkoff-Saxo rider but with 3.5 kilometres to go, Roman was alone in the front going solo towards the finish line.

In the final kilometre however, he was caught and it was left to his captain, Alberto Contador and the powerful Spaniard showed no mercy as he took the stage win ahead of Nairo Quintana (Movistar). Contador is now second overall, 16 seconds behind Michael Kwiatkowski (Omega-Pharma Quick Step).

1 Alberto Contador Tinkoff-Saxo 6:39:56
2 Nairo Quintana Movistar Team @01
3 Daniel Moreno Team Katusha @05
4 Roman Kreuziger Tinkoff-Saxo
5 Richie Porte Team Sky
6 Michele Scarponi Astana Pro Team @08
7 Michal KwiatkowskiOmega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team @10
8 Robert Kiserlovski Trek Factory Racing @11
9 Chris Horner Lampre-Merida
10 Giampaolo Caruso Team Katusha @17

1 KWIATKOWSKI Michal Omega Pharma – Quick-Step
2 CONTADOR Alberto Tinkoff-Saxo
3 QUINTANA Nairo Movistar Team
4 PORTE Richie Team Sky
5 URAN Rigoberto Omega Pharma – Quick-Step


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,