Report/Results: WWCRT Spring Races 2


Meg Backstedt & Gareth Hodgson among the winners at the second of the WWCRT Spring Races on Saturday 15th March

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

WWCRT Spring Races 2
(Thanks Michael Tarling)

West Wales Cycle Racing Team held a successful day of racing at a new venue at Aberporth on the Ceredigion Coast. Set on old army camp roads on a headland overlooking the Irish Sea the race was blessed with blue skies and sunshine, a big change after the previous week was cancelled due to high winds.


 Meg Backstedt and Sharon Lewis who took first and second in the ladies race.

The races were promoted to give local kids the opportunity to race locally and capitalised on the increasing numbers of youth cyclists in the major clubs in the area. Held over a 1km technical circuit the day started off with a race for kids aged 6 years and under and gave some of the entrants their first taste of competitive cycling.

A good battle between the first two saw host club WWCRT’s Rhys Caygill take the win just ahead of Finn Davies in second. First girl was Fallon Haird also from WWCRt who pipped teammate Libby Carton into second. Special mention to Dylan Wright who fell in his first race but still finished with a little help from his teammates.

Under 8s were up next with Finlay Tarling and Alfie Davies continuing their rivalry from the cyclocross season Finlay got the better of Alfie this time but the racing was fast and close throughout. First under 8 girl was Alaw Lewis from WWCRT who pipped teammates Fallon Haird and Libby carton into second and third.

A quality field of local riders lined up for the U10 race and after a brief flurry of attacks it was Josh Tarling from WWCRT who emerged as the lone leader. Teammate Griff Lewis chased solo for a couple of laps before being absorbed into a chasing group. Josh took the win comfortably before Griff unleashed a great sprint finish to take second place just ahead of Iolo Dafydd from Towy Riders. Zoe Backstedt from Maindy Flyers was in the same chasing group to take first girl followed home by Awen Roberts and Heledd Hunt from Towy Riders.


Dylan Wright finishing with help from teammates in his first race after a bad crash

The under 12 race was dominated by strong riders from Towy Riders with Guto Dafydd riding to a fine solo win ahead of teammates Iwan Evans and first girl Emma Finucane. Ivan Phillips and Jack Ramsbottom followed these riders home for WWCRT followed by teammate Shannon Haird who took 2nd girl just ahead of Rosie Finucane from Towy Riders.

As the wind started to pick up the U14s took to the line for a rapid race that saw a group of three emerge by the end of the first lap. The group worked well together before Owain Roberts clipped off for the win followed home by Towy Riders teammate Ella Barnwell in second and first girl. The third of the leading trio was Ellie Shaw from Maindy Flyers who was second girl. Ifan Phillips from WWCRT came home in 4th just ahead of teammate Rachel Davies who was third girl.

A small field of five U16s rounded off the youth races with Will Roberts from County Cycles taking a commanding win ahead of Marcus Williams-Dean from WWCRT. Alys Masters took third and first girl making the lng trip from Cardiff worthwhile. Daniel Ramsbottom and Ben Cook from WWCRT rounded off the youth racing in 4th and fifth places.

A new venture this year, the ladies only race proved to be a big hit with a field of riders made up of local clubs and some from further afield enjoying the opportunity of not having to race alongside the men.

After a rapid few laps it was Meg Backstedt from Maindy Flyers that emerged as the lone leader being chased by local triathlon star Sharon Lewis from Ystwyth CC. With Meg looking very strong Sharon was absorbed into a chasing groups which at times looked like an Ystwyth CC team time trial.

With Meg taking the win the other podium laces came down to a sprint finish with Sharon lewis just holding of Leah Brewer from Ystwyth CC on the line.

Last race of the day saw ten 4th category men take to the line as the wind really began to whip up making the run down the back straight tough. A leading group of three riders quickly emerged containing three members from Ystwyth CC who worked well together throughout the race.

On the penultimate lap it was Gareth Hodgson who attacked first quickly followed by Jeff Saycell in a desperate chase. As Hodgson soloed away to the win Jeff was caught by Gareth Jones who just pipped him for second place. Louis machine followed this group home for fourth place just a head of Gareth Lewis from Team Conti.

Organiser Michael tarling would like to thank all the volunteers and helpers from WWCRT that helped before and on the day as well as Qinetiq, Aeron Waste Services and Cambrian Driver Training without whom the events could not have taken place. The third round of the series takes place at the same venue on Saturday 22nd March


Under 6
1 Rhys Caygill WWCRT
2 Finn Davies Cycletec
3 Fallon Haird WWCRT (1st Girl)
4 Libby Carton WWCRT (2nd Girl)
5 Ilan Dafydd Towy Riders
6 Hawys Richard WWCRT (3rd Girl)
7 Dylan Wright WWCRT

Under 8
1 Finlay Tarling WWCRT
2 Alfie Davies Cycletec
3 Cian Evans Towy Riders
4 Rory Gravelle Towy Riders
5 Harry Newton Sosban Riders
6 Max Bufton Hafren CC
7 Alaw Lewis WWCRT (1st Girl)
8 Fallon Haird WWCRT (2nd Girl)
9 Libby Carton WWCRT (3rd Girl)

Under 10
1 Joshua Tarling WWCRT
2 Griff Lewis WWCRT
3 Iolo Dafydd Towy Riders
4 Zoe Backstedt Maindy Flyers (1st Girl)
5 Sam Smith Towy Riders
6 Awen Roberts Towy Riders (2nd Girl)
7 Heledd Hunt Towy Riders (3rd Girl)
8 Charlie Barnwell Towy Riders
9 Bethany Bennet Sosban Riders (4th Girl)
10 Garan Jones WWCRT
11 Seb Heal-White WWCRT
12 Lowri Richards WWCRT (5th Girl)
13 Freya Evans Towy Riders (6th Girl)
14 Dylan Davies WWCRT
15 Olivia North WWCRT (7th Girl) Day

Under 12
1 Guto Dafydd Towy Riders
2 Iwan Evans Towy Riders
3 Emma Finucane Towy Riders (1st Girl)
4 Ifan Phillips WWCRT
5 Jack Ramsbottom WWCRT
6 Shannon Haird WWCRT (2nd Girl)
7 Rosie Finucane Towy Riders (3rd Girl)
8 Endaf Williams WWCRT
9 Jack Braddick WWCRT
10 Dafydd Wright WWCRT
11 Daniel Williams WWCRT
12 Sarah Thomas WWCRT (4th Girl) Day
13 Theo Holgate WWCRT Day
14 Owen Harries Day

Under 14
1 Owain Roberts Towy Riders
2 Ella Barnwell Towy Riders (1st Girl)
3 Ellie Shaw Maindy Flyers (2nd Girl)
4 Ieuan Phillips WWCRT
5 Rachel Davies WWCRT (3rd Girl)
6 Molly Smith Towy Riders (4th Girl)
7 Cam Heal-White WWCRT

Under 16
1 Will Roberts County Cycles
2 Marcus Williams-Dean WWCRT
3 Ben Cook WWCRT Day
4 Daniel Ramsbottom WWCRT
5 Alys Masters Cardif Ajax CC (1st Girl)

1 Meg Backstedt Maindy Flyers
2 Sharon Lewis Ystwyth CC
3 Leah Brewer Ystwyth CC
4 Lois Brewer Ystwyth CC
5 Charlotte Jennings Bynea CC
6 Anita Saycell Ystwyth CC
7 Mel Gaul
8 Nia Richards WWCRT

4th Cat Men
1 Gareth Hodgson Ystwyth CC
2 Gareth Jones Ystwyth CC
3 Jeff Saycell Ystwyth CC
4 Louis Mochine Swansea Wheelers
5 Gareth Lewis Team Conti
6 Alan Haird WWCRT
7 Richard Haywood Ystwyth CC
8 Aled Richards WWCRT
9 Pete Davies WWCRT
10 David Wright WWCRT


Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,